Skip to main content

Recordings and Tutorials: Findit@MU

Findit@MU: Video Tutorial

Created by Karalyn Skinner, E-Learning Graduate Assistant

Music: "The Builder" by Kevin MacLeod, licensed under CC Attribution 3.0

Published on August 1, 2014

Additional Resources

If you are searching the web for resources and would like to know if a resource is available through the MU Libraries, Google Books or Scholar, or WorldCat, you can use the LibX browser plugin.

Findit@MU: Written Tutorial

1. When searching in an MU Libraries database or searching a database with MU Libraries access, you might notice the "FindIt@MU" icon below or next to the record of an article. This means the full text of the article is not available in the current database you are in. The full text may be located elsewhere, or you may be able to request a copy. To see if it is available in another database, just click "FindIt@MU."

 

2. From here, you will be redirected to one of the following three pages, depending on whether the article is available in full text and if it is available online or in print. If the article is available in full text online, you will be automatically redirected to the article. Once you are in the database or on the site, look for the PDF or HTML icon to view or download the full text of the article.

Full Text

 

3. If the article is only available as a paper copy, you will be redirected to the record of the item in the MERLIN catalog. Look at the call number section to make sure the volume you need is available, and then write down the call number and location of the item. You will need to go to the appropriate library to find the item.

 

4. If the article is not available through the MU Libraries, you will be redirected to a page that says "This item isn’t available at MU." However, you can still request a copy from another library by clicking "Request a copy."

Request a Copy

 

5. You will be redirected to the ILL logon page. Enter your university PawPrint and password.

ILL Logon

 

6. You will now see a pre-filled form that includes the information of the article you are requesting. Click "Submit Request" and when the article is ready, you will receive an email at your university email account with the PDF of the article attached.

Submit Request

 

For more information about ILL, check out the “ILL@MU Tutorial". For further help with FindIt@MU or with your research, contact the Reference Desk at Ellis Library.