This is the "Home" page of the "Dictionaries and Thesauri" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dictionaries and Thesauri  

Guide to finding dictionaries and thesauri at the MU libraries.
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/dictionaries Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Dictionaries

Dictionaries can be found in the Reference section in Ellis Library (1st floor East)

The call number ranges for some of the major languages are as follows:

Greek and Latin: PA201 - PA2915

Romance Languages:

  • Italian: PC1001-1977
  • French: PC2001-3761
  • Spanish: PC4001-4977
  • Portuguese: PC5001-5498

English Language: PE1-3729

  • Modern English: PE1001-1693

West Germanic Languages:

  • Dutch: PF1-5999
  • German: PF3001-5999

Oriental Languages:

  • Hebrew: PJ4501 - 5192
  • Arabic: PJ6001 - 8517

Indo-Iranian Languages: PK1-9601

East Asian, African, Oceanic Languages:

  • Japanese: PL501-699
  • Korean: PL901-949
  • Chinese: PL1001-1960
  • Oceanic Languages: PL5001-7511
  • African Languages: PL8000-8009

North American, Central American, South American Languages:  PM1-9021

Electronic English Dictionaries & Thesauri

  • Oxford English Dictionary Online  
      
      Icon
    Oxford English Dictionary Online contains etymologies, definitions and usage of English worldwide, from 1150 to the present.
  • Oxford American Thesaurus of Current English  Icon
    Searchable database of The Oxford American Thesaurus of current English. Contains 15,000 headwords and over 350,000 synonyms.
  • Merriam Webster Online
    Free online dictionary, thesaurus, Spanish-English and medical dictionaries, audio pronunciations, Word of the Day, word games.
  • Onelook.com
    Aggregator for many dictionary sites including Mierriam-Webster and Oxford.

Other Resources

 

Additional Assistance

For additional assistance, please contact the Ellis Library Reference Desk.

 

Suggested Titles

Cover Art
The American Heritage Desk Dictionary and Thesaurus
Call Number: PE2835 .A47 2005
ISBN: 061859261X


 

Creation Information

Created by Emily Smart, Graduate Reference Assistant 2011-2012.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip