- AngusReid Global Monitor
Track global public opinion on current issues.
- Background Notes (US Department of State)
Background notes provide basic information by country on the people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, US relations, travel and business. Archive is available from 1990 to present.
- BBC Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics, and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
- Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments (CIA)
The directory is intended to be used primarily as a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States.
- CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. Archived issues are available back to 1990
- Constitution Finder
This database offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents for nations of the world. By The T.C. Williams School of Law, University of Richmond.
- Constitutions of the World (FindLaw)
Alphabetical listing of countries and links to their constitutions.
- Council on Foreign Relations
CFR is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource to help better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.
- Countries and Territories (New York Times)
Recent and archival news about countries from The New York Times.
- Country Briefings (Economist magazine)
Offers links to recent articles and a country profile which includes political and economic outlook, basic data, economic indicators over four years, brief history, political structure and political forces. May include special reports.
- Diplomatic List
This publication covers foreign missions (embassies, interest sections) in the United States. It contains the names of members of the diplomatic staffs of these missions and their spouses. Coverage from 1993 to present.
- Europa - Gateway of the European Union
Gateway to information on the European Union.
- FAO Country Profiles and Mapping Information
Information on natural resources, economic situation, agriculture, forestry, fisheries, and global issues for each country. News articles and relevant publications for country are linked.
- Foreign government websites (Northwestern University)
The page provides links to the official websites of international governments.
- Foreign Information by Country (University of Colorado - Boulder)
Information on official government, diplomacy and aid, health, military and peacekeeping, and links to further information.
- Foreign Policy Research Institute
A non-profit organization devoted to bringing the insights of scholarship to bear on the development of policies that advance U.S. national interests. Publications include a quarterly journal, bulletins and books.
- Global Gateway (Library of Congress)
A portal site for the LC's international resources, it contains links to authoritative information by country (in the "Portals to the World" section), to special databases, including some with legal and historical documents ("Research Guides and Databases") and to websites of the various regional reading rooms ("Centers for International Research").
- Government Gazettes Online (University of Michigan)
Government Gazettes, which are published by federal governments worldwide, are the means through which the government can communicate to officials and the general public. Gazettes are useful as primary sources in research.
- Intergovernmental Organizations (IGO) Search
Searches over 300 IGO sites for information from IGOs such as the United Nations, World Bank, IMF, and related organizations.
- International Affairs Resources
Directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.
- LexisNexis Academic
Contains socioeconomic profiles and news from international sources.
- National Parliaments on the Web
Only those countries where a National Parliament exists are included in the alphabetical list.
- Official Government Web sites by Country
Links to official government pages from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. The site comprises resources from 2005 to 2012, including reports, journals and working papers.
This site contains lists of heads of state and heads of government (and, in certain cases, de facto leaders not occupying either of those formal positions) of all countries and territories, going back to about 1700 in most cases.