Skip to main content

VM-3 & VM-4 Resource Guide

Library resources for third- and fourth-year veterinary students

The Basics

As you move from your didactic courses to your clinical courses, your library needs will change. While you'll still consult your core textbooks, you'll also be looking at more primary literature.

Getting to the full-text of what you need

  • On-campus access is generally via our IP ranges
    • Tip: If you're having trouble getting to full-text with a laptop when you're on campus, make sure you're using TigerWiFi and not TigerWiFi-Guest
  • When you're off campus, first log in via VPN (Virtual Private Networking - Cisco AnyConnect) or start at a library page (when you hit a subscribed resource, you'll be asked to log in with your PawPrint). More information on off-campus access.
  • Set your Google Scholar preferences to show FindIt@MU
  • If a journal article is in print in Zalk Library, request it via FindIt@MU. We'll scan it and send it to you at no charge.

Clinical Resources

Sometimes, it can be helpful to see what's happening on the human side of things...

Human Point-of-Care Resources

PubMed Tips

Searching Veterinary Topics in PubMed (TAMU)

Use the PubMed links provided by the Libraries, especially from off campus.

  • Access PubMed from a Library page or bookmark this URL: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  • We've created an "MU Version" of PubMed that will link you to the full text of the article. If you go straight to pubmed.gov, you'll likely be asked to pay for an article.
  • The MU Version contains the FindIt@MU button which will link you to the full text. You'll see the FindIt@MU button on the Abstract view.
  • When you're on campus, the Publisher link will often work just fine -- use the FindIt@MU button if the publisher link doesn't work.
  • When you're off campus, use the FindIt@MU button. You'll be asked to log in with your username.

"Available at MU" Filter

  • When you use the MU Version of PubMed, you'll see an "Available at MU" filter in the right-hand column. This filter will limit your results to: free full text; full text that the Libraries subscribes to; items in print somewhere on campus.
  • While the library is happy to get you the articles that we don't own via InterLibrary Loan, this filter can be a handy time saver!
  • If something is on campus, but in print only, use the "Request a Copy" feature. We'll scan and send you the .pdf for free.

What's the article about? Check the MeSH terms.

  • The power of PubMed is in the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Indexers (actual people!) at the National Library of Medicine read each article and tag it with MeSH terms to let you know what the article is about. You'll see a link to "MeSH Terms" in the full record. Terms with an asterisk indicate a focus of the article. Note: new articles might not yet have their full MeSH indexing.
  • PubMed also does what's called "Automatic Term Mapping." If you search for "canine," PubMed automatically includes results on "dogs," the official MeSH term.
  • You can see what PubMed is doing by looking at the "Details" box (right-hand side of search results page).

Overwhelmed with "human" results? Try adding "veterinary" to your search.

  • Adding "veterinary" to your search will not only search for the term as a keyword, but as a subheading
  • The veterinary subheading is used for naturally occurring diseases in animals, or for diagnostic, preventive, or therapeutic procedures used in veterinary medicine  So, an article with the MeSH term "Asthma/veterinary" lets you know that the article is about asthma in veterinary patients even if "veterinary" doesn't appear anywhere else in the record.
  • Adding "veterinary[sb]" to your search will look for many different terms included in the Veterinary Science subset.

Looking for treatment information? Try Clinical Queries.