Library Guides: Veterinary Online Programs: Overview

Frequently Used Resources

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus

CAB
Major veterinary database. Includes articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings.
MERLIN Catalog
The library catalog. Find books and journals.
Journal Finder
Links to electronic journals. Provides information on print holdings.
Google Scholar
Search full text of articles.

Web of Science Core Collection
Indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *

Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus

Use your username or VPN
You can get to our online journals and books from anywhere in the world. Start from a library page and enter your username (first part of your email address and your email password) when you reach the MU Libraries Proxy server. You can also use the MU VPN to get into library resources. More information on off-campus access.

If you need a journal article that's in print at the vet library, we'll scan it for you.
In all of the library databases (PubMed; Scopus; Web of Science; etc.), you'll see a FindIt@MU button linking you to the Libraries' subscription. If the article is available in print in the vet library or anywhere else on campus, click on Request a Copy to use our Document Delivery service. We'll scan and send it to you (for free! what a deal!).

If you need a journal article that MU doesn't have it, we'll get it for you.
If FindIt@MU says that the item is not available on campus, click on Request a Copy to use our InterLibrary Loan service. We'll get the article from another library and send it to you electronically.

Pro Tip: If you end up at a publisher's web site that asks you to pay for an article, don't do it! Access the journals via library pages to be connected to our subscriptions.

Pro Tip: Configure Google Scholar to show the FindIt@MU information on your results page. You can install the Google Scholar browser plug-in.