Skip to Main Content

English 4188/7188: Victorian Women Writers:The Brontë Family: Background

Resources supporting Prof. Elizabeth Chang's class on the Bronte family.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

The Victorian Web
"Primary and secondary texts (including scholarly book reviews) in British Victorian economics, literature, philosophy, political and social history, science, technology, and visual arts (painting, architecture, sculpture, book design and illustration, photography, decorative arts, including ceramics, furniture, jewelry, metalwork, stained glass, and textiles, costume and various movements, such as Art Nouveau, Japonisme, and Arts and Crafts)."

A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Britain
Call Number: DA530 .C76 2004
The Cambridge Companion to Victorian Culture
Call Number: DA533 .C36 2010
Victorian Britain: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: DA550 .V53 1988
Victorian Women
Call Number: HQ1599.E5 P47 1995
The Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature
A New Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture
The Cambridge Companion to the Victorian Novel
Call Number: online
The Cambridge Companion to Victorian Women's Writing
Call Number: PR115 .C36 2015
Victorian Literature Handbook
Call Number: PR461 .V54 2008
The Oxford Handbook of Victorian Literary Culture
Call Number: PR463 .O94 2016
A Companion to the Victorian Novel
Call Number: PR871 .C643 2002
Feminism in Literature
Call Number: online

Research Databases

GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1970 - date
Maximum Users: 4
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

Subject Searches

For additional background information, explore these subject headings. Click each link to launch a search in the Library catalog.