From Duke University, "the AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s."
"For nearly three decades, American Experience has been television's most-watched history series. On air and online, the series brings to life the incredible characters and epic stories that have shaped America’s past and present." Some videos are free and others require a membership to watch.
"Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two."
"British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivaled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture."
Crackle's catalog includes popular movies and television shows, cult favorites, documentaries and usually a large anime selection. Their selection of older but usually well known titles is small and rotates regularly. Titles are available to stream online for free with advertisements.
"Crunchyroll is the world’s largest destination for anime and manga, boasting a global community of more than 45 million registered users and over 2 million subscribers. The service is available for free or through a premium offering that allows users to watch ad-free with access to simulcasts—top series available immediately after Japanese broadcast."
Provides documentaries on a variety of topics. You can sort by category or explore by browsing new arrivals or the top 100 documentaries on the website. Still unsure of what to watch? Hit "Surprise me!"
"Watch and support free movies online - action, thriller, animation, horror, adventure, short films, fanfilms, classics, TV/web series and more. Carefully handpicked selection from various sources. No downloads, no membership required."
Includes a range of popular movies, TV shows, and IMDb originals. Videos are free with the support of ads. Includes subtitles and video quality adjustments, as well as the IMDb star rating.
Requires a monthly subscription, and currently also offers a free trial period. "A subscription streaming service with thousands of movies, documentaries, TV and shorts that start conversations."
"This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download."
A streaming service with over 30,000 titles that can be accessed through subscribed libraries. The Daniel Boone Regional Library is a subscribed library.
Free movies from categories such as "Comedy & Drama; Film Noir, Horror & Hitchcock; Westerns (many with John Wayne); Martial Arts Movies; Silent Films; Documentaries, and Animation.". The movies are sorted by category. Video quality and host varies.
Includes an array of videos from local productions, arts and music, to drama or food. Specific availability varies, but videos are free with advertisements. Custom captions are available.
SnagFilms has over 2,000 movies, TV show episodes, eye-opening documentaries and exclusive original comedy shorts that can be viewed on a mobile phone, tablet, desktop, OTT device or Smart TV.
Top Documentary Films offers over 3,000 documentaries organized in 25 different categories, searchable by keywords, sorted by rating, comments, and titles.
Thousands of free movies and TV shows that can be streamed on Android, iOS, Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV, Xfinity X1, Xbox, Samsung Smart TVs, Sony Smart TVs, PlayStation and the web.
