Janice Dysart
Research & Instructional Services Librarian
169 Ellis Library
573-882-1828
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
Search millions of publications, grants, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents, and policy documents all in one place. Analyze research outcomes and gather insights on research funding and collaborations to inform future strategy. Available to the MU campus with a missouri.edu or umsystem.edu email address. Access provided by the MU Division of Research, Innovation & Impact.
Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture.
Provides access to worldwide zoological literature, including all major areas of the field: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography.
Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos.
Definition: A measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year or period. Clarivate Analytics
Calculation for a journal's 2017 journal impact factor:
Available from:
Caveat: Only journals that meet Clarivate Analytics' standards for inclusion in the Web of Science Core Collection are assigned impact factors. Web of Science Master Journal List
Ongoing Debate: Currently impact factors are the most widely known way to rank journals, however, they are controversial. Some people believe that impact factors do not accurately reflect the impact of a journal or article.
(Hate journal impact factors? New study gives you one more reason, Science July 6, 2016)
A comprehensive reference covering the life histories of birds from around the world. Includes family and species accounts, illustrations, and audio/video recordings.
