Library Guides: STEM Entrepreneurship: Articles & Numbers

Clinical Trials

Clinicaltrials.gov
As of 2/24/2019, this contained 303,828 trials sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry. Studies listed in the database are conducted in all 50 states and in 176 countries.

Use this to see the current research environment for your medical product.

Numbers

HCUPnet
An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for dis
more...less...
Search Guide: http://www.hcup-us.ahrq.gov/overview.js

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Editions from 2013-present are available.

Resources

Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Mintel
Includes market research reports for the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink.
Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 2001-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Automatic