Open Educational Resources (OER)

Portal to open course materials and video lectures from many prominent colleges and universities.

The American Memory Collection, hosted by the Library of Congress, provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Biointeractive, from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, contains award-winning multimedia resources, including apps, animations, videos, interactives, and virtual labs, focused on bringing the excitement of scientific discovery into a flipped, blended, or traditional classroom.

A quarterly updated assortment of book chapters and journal articles published by Cambridge University Press that explore the intertwining concepts of race and power, on a global scale, from an interdisciplinary perspective.

COERLL's mission is to produce and disseminate OER such as online language courses, reference grammars, assessment tools, corpora, etc. This site, hosted by the University of Texas at Austin, currently has OER for 17 languages including Arabic, English, Chinese, French, German, and Spanish.

Carnegie Mellon's ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials.

CCCOER is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources.

The Concord Consortium focuses on discovering, developing and disseminating innovative technology for a new generation of STEM-literate learners, workers and citizens. Site includes interactive simulations, cutting-edge sensors, innovative assessments and technology-based curricula.

The Encyclopedia of Life brings together information about all life on Earth—one web page for each species (>1.9 million species pages). Included are text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications, etc., all freely available online.

Provides a video archive of interviews with over 20 leading researchers in the field, along with a set of demonstrations. All videos and demonstrations are freely accessible.

Well-known source of high quality, freely accessbile practice exercises and instructional videos. Subject coverage includes math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.

The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.

A worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education.

Includes many formats, including video, audio, image, and text resources.

TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed’s mission is to spark and celebrate the ideas of teachers and students around the world. TED-Ed Originals are short animated videos about ideas that spark the curiosity of learners. These original animated videos, paired with questions and resources, make up what are called TED-Ed Lessons.

WeBWorK is an open-source online homework system for math and science courses. WeBWorK is supported by the Mathematical Association of America and the National Science Foundation and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems. Problems in the NPL target most lower division undergraduate math courses and some advanced courses. Supported courses include college algebra, discrete mathematics, probability and statistics, single and multivariable calculus, differential equations, linear algebra and complex analysis. WebWork is open source and able to be set up for free on an institution's server, or can be hosted by MAA for a small fee.