Skip to main content
Maps & Floorplans
Maps & Floorplans
Ellis Library (main)
MU Digital Collections
State Historical Society
Schedule a Library Class
Class Assessment Forms
Recordings & Tutorials
Research & Writing Help
In the Library
Places to Study
Borrow, Request & Renew
Classes, Workshops & Tours
Computers, Printers, Scanners & Software
Digital Media Commons
Equipment Lending: Laptops, cameras, etc.
More In the Library...
Faculty & Staff
More Services for...
View my MERLIN Library Account
Renew my Books
Place a Hold on a Book
Request Books from Depository
View my ILL@MU Account
MERLIN Special Features
Set Up Alerts in Databases
More Account Information...
University of Missouri Libraries
History 4815/7815 - African History Through the Digital Medium
Search this Guide
History 4815/7815 - African History Through the Digital Medium: Digital Collections
Images and Video
Writing & Citing
Africa South of the Sahara
Maintained by Stanford University, 1994-2012
African Online Digital Library: Building Digital Libraries in an African Context
Maintained by Michigan State University and MATRIX, 2011-
African Studies Internet Resources
Created by Columbia University Libraries and Information Services, 2013
A digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. It includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka’s partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, and manuscripts.
World War I in Africa
Historical essays with photos and primary sources, collected by a French cartargrapher and a Tanzanian activist
Art and Anthropology
African Rock Art Archive
Maintained by the Bradshaw Foundation, 2011-
African Vernacular Architecture Data Base
Thousands of photos, sketches, 3-D models and videos documenting everyday structures in several African countries, taken by one former Peace Corps volunteer
Art & Life in Africa
Hosted by the University of Iowa Museum of Art, this site includes essays on peoples, countries and topics, and photos and descriptions of museum objects created in Africa.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
Data and Statistics
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Searchable database of slave ship voyages, searchable by ship name, African names of individuals, places of origin and arrival and more. Maintained by Emory University.
Open Data for Africa
Contains statistics, datasets and data visualizations which can be searched or browsed by country or topic. Maintained by the African Development Bank Group.
Liberated Africans of the Havana Slave Trade Commission
Over 750 open-access documents relating to Africans freed from slave ships by the Spanish government in Cuba between 1824 and 1841
Scotland Slavery Map
Mapping addresses of slave-owners' compensation claims following the Slavery Abolition Act 1833 enables us to witness the homes and spaces of Scottish people variously involved in the slave trade.
This register is available online on UCL’s Centre for the Study of the Legacies of British Slave-ownership.
Legacies of British Slave-Ownership
This database allows the tracing of various categories of "legacies" of slaveownership. It is searchable by name, address or firm name, with many more options available in the Advanced search.
Timeline tool - you can see events in chronological context and create your own timelines. Contains some images representing historical people, places and events. Searchable. May make you dizzy.
HathiTrust Digital Library Collection Builder
Images and Video >>
Apr 4, 2019 4:39 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
About the Libraries
Copyright ©2018 Curators of the
University of Missouri
. All rights reserved.
equal opportunity/access/affirmative action/pro-disabled and veteran employer.
Libraries, University of Missouri
104 Ellis Library
| Columbia, MO 65201 | Ph: (573) 882-4701
Contact the webmaster