Databases are electronic indexes that usually provide you with citations to journal, magazine or newspaper articles. Citations to book chapters, dissertations and other documents or kinds of information may also be included in some databases. In some cases, you will note that the fulltext of the item is available from the database. If the database does not include fulltext, you can use the FindIt@MU button to check for electronic access to the item or to see if a paper copy is available from the MU Libraries.
If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be give the opportunity to look for a print copy in the Library Catalog . If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' Gateway page and click on the Electronic Journals link in the upper right hand side of the screen to enter FindIt@MU . Once in http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://finditatmu.library.missouri.edu/you're given the opportunity to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check the Library Catalog to see if we have a print subscription to the journal. MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles.
If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using FindIt@MU , fill out a journal article request form which is available from the https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon.htmllink near the middle of the About the Libraries section of the Gateway page. You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is called ILL @ MU . Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.
Keyword Search :
Library Catalog .
Think of words and synonyms that describe the topic you are researching. Type keywords that describe your topic into the search box. You can use the asterisk as a truncation symbol. You can use quotation marks to search for phrases. Examples: illegal immigra* and econom* economy and technology ecology and united states Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on one of the subject headings for that book, to retrieve similar books. Subject heading searches generally pull up more relevant hits than a keyword search.
Subject Search : Try a Subject Search after doing keyword search. For a Subject Search, you need to use Library of Congress subject headings.
Suggested subject headings :
If you do not find enough books on your topic to meet your needs, change your search to "ALL MERLIN." By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, UMR, and MU all at once. Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Union Catalog button. This expands your search to about 50 additional libraries in our network. Most books you find through MERLIN or MOBIUS are requestable online, just click on the "Request Item" link. Books requested through MERLIN or MOBIUS take two to three working days to arrive.