Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Basic Guide to Resources for Research: Journal
Articles

Already have Citation to Specific Article...

If you have an article citation use this link to find the full-text or print copy of article.

Searching for articles on a topic .....

Step 1: Determine the type of article you need

  • Journals–A publication, issued on a predictable schedule, that contains scholarly articles written by researchers and for researchers in a subject area.
  • Peer-reviewed journals (also called refereed journals)– Scholarly journals that only publish articles which have been reviewed by scholars in the field of interest.
  • Magazines–A publication, issued on a predictable schedule, that is intended for the general public.
  • Newspapers

Step 2: Create a search strategy

  • Select keywords–Select terms that describe the main concepts of your topic. Include synonyms.

  • Use Boolean operators–combine your keywords using AND and OR
    • AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words
    • OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words
  • Use quotation marks to search for phrases
  • Use parentheses to indicate search order--Search statements within parentheses are performed first.
  • Example:  For search topic-- What is the effect of dark chocolate on health?
                       Use Search strategy: "dark chocolate" and (health or wellness)

Step 3: Search a database

The following multidisciplinary databases are good starting places:

  • Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri video video


    Academic Search Complete: Search for magazine and journal articles from 1984 to date.
    Note: This database provides an option to limit your search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
     
  • Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri video video

    Scopus: Search for articles in over 18,000 peer reviewed journals and find out who is citing them.
     
  • JSTOR

    JSTOR: Access back files of over 300 journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities (does not include the last five years of issues)
  • Discover @ MU Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
    Search Discover @ MU for articles, books, and more!
  • More databases

Step 4: Find full-text of the article

  • Click on the Find It @MU icon,  FindIt@MU , found in most of our databases to see if full-text is available.