Skip to Main Content

Finding Book and Film Reviews: Book Reviews

Web Resources

Amazon.com
Editorial reviews can be found within the product information for each book.
New Times Book Review
Search book reviews in the New York Times.

Databases

Discover@MU
Search for a book title, then find Format tab located on the sidebar. Limit to "review". Note: "review" as a format includes other types of reviews. For more specificity, limit under Subject to "books -- reviews".

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Select Book Review from the Document Type drop-down menu and search for the title of the book or the author's name.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
ABELL
Carries reviews from 1917 on. Search your author's name in the author slot (not subject!) and limit to reviews in the drop-down menu at the bottom.
Contains works published from all over the world with a multitude of English literature covered. Such as but not limited to British, American, Commonwealth and Anglo-Saxon culture.Date Coverage: 1920-present

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?

Reference Books (Print Resources)

Book Review Digest by H.W. Wilson Company
Call Number: Z1219 .C96
Publication Date: 1905-2003
Ellis Library Ready Reference
Book Review Index by Gale Research Company
Call Number: Z1035.A1 B62
Publication Date: 1965-2007
Ellis Library Ready Reference

Additional Help

Should you need further assistance finding reviews you can use the link below to contact a librarian.

Ask a librarian