Anthro 3560W: Plagues and Peoples: Government Information

In most instances, you will achieve good results by simply entering the disease name in the search boxes.

If the disease has been a historical problem in the U.S., check for federal information in:

• "Antitoxin will cure -- if given early"
  Image from the front cover of the Jan-Mar 1924 Missouri Health Bulletin
  See full collection online
  National Library of Medicine digital collections. 
  Use the search box to retrieve texts, images, videos and maps.
• HathiTrust Digital Library
  • Enter the disease name in the full text search in the HathiTrust Digital Library, then select any government entity listed in the author facet section in the left-hand column.U.S.
  • Congressional Serial Set (1817-1990s) is a searchable collection in HathiTrust. This set encompasses a wide variety of government reports required by the legislative branch.
• Proquest Congressional database (requires MU login) covers legislative branch activity and debate.
  • U.S. Congressional Record and predecessor titles (1789-present)
  • U.S. Congressional hearings and reports (1824-present)
  • Foreign Relations of the United States, issued by the U.S. Dept. of State
    • 1861-1960, on the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries
    • 1861-2000, on the U.S. Department of State website
• U.S. National Archives & Records Administration (NARA) website
• At the state and local government level:
  • See the Communicable Diseases collection from the Missouri State Library, featuring materials dating back to 1904.
  • Use HathiTrust's advanced full-text search to enter a U.S. state in the author field, and the disease in the full text field.
  • Check state libraries' and state archives' websites for digitized works.

If the disease is presently a problem for the United States government, check

• U.S. General Accountability Office (GAO) website for analysis of policies and programs.  For best results, use the search box in upper right corner and enter a disease name.
• U.S. Catalog of Government Information, a search tool for finding government publications mostly 1976-forward.

FOR ASSISTANCE WITH GOVERNMENT INFORMATION, contact
Marie Concannon, Head, Government Information & Data Archives
Email concannonm@missouri.edu
Phone (573) 882-0748
MU students: make an appointment with Marie Concannon in MU Connect