Skip to Main Content

MUCEP Research: Laws & Policies

A collection of resources for facts, figures and articles on community development, public health and social problems

Federal Legislation

THOMAS
best for-free internet site available
more...less...
Coverage varies by document type. See https://www.congress.gov/about/coverage-dates for specific dates of coverage.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Has good topics such as Healthcare Reform, Medicaid & Medicare, Stem Cell Research – but it is only updated monthly.
Date Coverage: Varies by section.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: !; Wildcard: *

Find & Contact Elected Officials
Find your State & National representatives AND send them a note while you're at it!
Project Vote Smart
Provides voting records of elected officials. Claims to be non-partisan & nonprofit. Search by office, then select Voting Record

State Legislation

Missouri Government LibGuide
Laws, statistics, local government information, and more.
Missouri bill tracking
Missouri Revised Statutes – a.k.a. Missouri laws
Missouri Code of State Regulations
rules for government departments and agencies
National Conference of State Legislatures
State Legislative Websites Directory
links to state legislative sites where you can typically track current/pending legislation.

Local Ordinances

City of Columbia ordinances
Municode
For finding other city & county ordinances; free if viewed online
Additional options
As there is no comprehensive internet directory for local ordinances, you might try Google or contact the local City/County Clerk’s Office.

Other Libraries

Looking for Legal info or Gov docs? Contact the fab librarians at Law & Ellis Gov Docs!

Ellis Library Gov Docs guide
Check this guide for a comprehensive list of resources plus contact info to our amazing gov doc specialists.
Law Library
Great folks to ask for help w/legal info

State Codes

LexisNexis step by step guide
quick guide on how to search all State codes at once.