A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries. Date Coverage: Varies Maximum Users: Unlimited Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?
The Literary Filmography by Leonard MustazzaFrom the very infancy of the film industry, filmmakers have relied heavily upon literature as the foundation for their movie material. Well-known literary works such as Dickens's A Christmas Carol and Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter were adapted to film in the silent era, as were such books as Thomas Dixon's Jr.'s The Klansman, basis for the film Birth of a Nation. In recent years, Nick Hornsby's About a Boy and each of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary novels were the basis for popular movies bearing the same names. A guide to English-language works that have been adapted as theatrical and television films, this volume includes books (both fiction and non-fiction), short stories, newspaper and magazine articles and poems. Entries are arranged alphabetically by literary title with cross-listings for films made under different titles. Each entry includes the original work's title, author, year of first publication, literary prizes, and a brief plot summary. Information on film adaptation(s) of the work, including adaptation titles, director, screenwriter, principal cast and the names of the characters they portray, major awards, and availability in the most common formats (DVD, VHS), is also offered.
Call Number: MU Ellis PN1997.85 M87 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-17
The Complete Index to Literary Sources on Film by Alan Goble (Editor)Filmographer Goble provides up-to-date information on about 100 years of international films (including the silent film era) inspired by previous plays, books, short stories, or poems. He includes not only the acknowledged literary figures, but also the writers of westerns and romance. Three main indexes list information by author, film title, or literary source title. Film details include title, year, director, actors, alternative titles, production/releasing company, film length and country of origin.
Call Number: MU Ellis Reference PN1997.85 .G64 1999
The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film by John C. Tibbetts; James M. WelshFor as long as there have been movies, filmmakers have labored to translate novelists' words into flickering images. From silent epics such as Birth of a Nation to contemporary blockbusters like Jurassic Park, directors have looked to literature for their inspiration. Now, The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film provides the first comprehensive look between the pages and behind the scenes of this long-standing cinematic tradition. More than 300 entries and 100 black-and-white movie stills and illustrations survey film adaptations of novels from Alice in Wonderland to Zorba the Greek with insightful commentary and in meticulous detail. Each entry provides a profile of the source novel, summarizing the plot, major characters, important themes, and the literary significance of the work. A second profile encapsulates the various filmed adaptations, examining how the movie preserved or changed the elements of the book, why the changes occurred, how the director's or studio's vision differed from the author's, and how successful the movie was on its own merits. A special appendix, The Novelist in Hollywood, offers a compelling exploration of the role of the writer in the movie industry as seen through the experiences of literary giants such as William Faulkner and F. Scott Fitzgerald.
Call Number: MU Ellis Reference PN1997.85 .T54 1998
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
The Discovery@MU search includes all catalog materials, including DVDs and films held by the MU Libraries.
Specific Library Location: MU Ellis Library
Pro Tip: Check out portable DVD players too!
MOIBUS lets you borrow films from libraries all across Missouri
WorldCat lists films held by many libraries. We can often get these through ILL@MU. (Note we can’t request films through MOBIUS, but can often get the same films through WorldCat.)