The following databases contain the full text of books.
There are also many older materials in our print collection, which may be found using Discover@MU.
To find historical sources via Discover, search your topic as a keyword and limit by publication date or include one of the following words in the subject field: sources, diaries, correspondence, personal narratives.
Provides full text, digital images of almost every book printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and every book in the English language printed abroad from 1470-1700.
Contains English-language titles and editions based on the English Short Title Catalogue, made available online over the course of the next two years.
Contains searchable PDFs of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S to the early 19th century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase, Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State).
Contains full-text magazines published from 1684 through 1912, and collected by the American Antiquarian Society, reflecting many subjects surrounding the development of the United States.
A full-text collection resources that chronicle the development of America across 150 years that include digitized images of the pages of magazines and journals.
Images and full-content access to historic newspapers from the 18th to mid-19th Century, based on the collections of the American Antiquarian Society, the Wisconsin Historical Society, and 90 other institutions, from every region of the United States.
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2020), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), Washington Post (1877-2007), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), and the St. Louis American (1949-2010).
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images. Integrated with JSTOR, which includes access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Provides online access to western classical music , world music, and jazz recordings.
