HIST 2950: European Migration in the 19th-20th Centuries

This series of microfilm collections, published in conjunction with the British Association for American Studies, ranges in time from the colonial period to the twentieth century, and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. The collections relate to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture, immigration, the anti-slavery movement, politics, and military affairs. You can access a full list of the titles in this collection above, but they are not in the Library catalog. Email SpecialCollections@missouri.edu to access this microfilm after hours.

This collection is located in room 406. Consult the printed guide shelved under SPEC-REF Z1361.E4 I482 1984.

This collection includes over 400 books, magazines articles, federal documents, some compilations, and newspaper items of personal experiences written between 1800 and 1865. The geographical scope includes the region lying between the Missouri River and the Sierra Nevadas from Mexico to the Arctic (excluding Texas and Louisiana). Subjects covered include the fur trade, Lewis and Clark, Mormon migrations, the Oregon trail, Indians, and railroad construction. Each title in the collection is separately cataloged and classified. Email SpecialCollections@missouri.edu to access the microfiche after hours.

These microfilmed records from the National Archives deal with immigration and other issues to the western territories of the United States. Email SpecialCollections@missouri.edu to access these collections after hours.

Books, government documents, periodicals and newspapers chronicle the Church of Jesus Christ and Latter Day Saints' move from Illinois, Ohio, and Missouri, and their settlement in Utah. This collection is located in room 406.

The link above goes to a guide listing microforms pertaining to the western United States, including personal accounts and government documents.