Rae Thudium (top): Librarian. Ask Rae about searching the literature.
Mariah Newton: Ask Mariah about Circulation, InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery.
Actually, ask either of us anything!
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Use your username or VPN
You can get to our online journals and books from anywhere in the world. Start from a library page and enter your username (first part of your email address and your email password) when you reach the MU Libraries Proxy server. You can also use the MU VPN to get into library resources. More information on off-campus access.
If you need a journal article that's in print at the vet library, we'll scan it for you.
In all of the library databases (PubMed; Scopus; Web of Science; etc.), you'll see a FindIt@MU button linking you to the Libraries' subscription. If the article is available in print in the vet library or anywhere else on campus, click on Request a Copy to use our Document Delivery service. We'll scan and send it to you (for free! what a deal!).
If you need a journal article that MU doesn't have it, we'll get it for you.
If FindIt@MU says that the item is not available on campus, click on Request a Copy to use our InterLibrary Loan service. We'll get the article from another library and send it to you electronically.
Pro Tip: If you end up at a publisher's web site that asks you to pay for an article, don't do it! Access the journals via library pages to be connected to our subscriptions.
Pro Tip: Configure Google Scholar to show the FindIt@MU information on your results page. You can install the Google Scholar browser plug-in.
Leadership in Veterinary Medicine by
LEADERSHIP IN VETERINARY MEDICINE Leadership in Veterinary Medicine provides both theoretical and practical information for veterinary professionals who are contemplating leadership or currently facing day-to-day leadership challenges. This much-needed book introduces and explores key leadership concepts in the veterinary context whilst encouraging self-reflection through real-world scenarios. Each chapter outlines a particular leadership concept or issue and includes a topic summary, discussion questions, full references and further reading suggestions. This thought-provoking text: Explores the principal areas of leadership for both veterinary professionals and for those leading veterinary professionals Discusses various leadership styles, competencies, behaviours and perspectives Addresses topics such as leadership assessment, organisational dynamics, interpersonal communication, remote and virtual leadership, and collaboration skills Assists readers in developing strategy, leading change, creating effective teams and improving staff engagement Includes practical cases and examples highlighting challenges in veterinary leadership Leadership in Veterinary Medicine is a must-read for all veterinary professionals in leadership posts, for those aspiring to be leaders and for instructors in veterinary schools and veterinary nursing training organisations.
AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians by 
Introduction to Animal and Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology by 
Small Animal Surgery by
From basic procedures like spays, castrations, and declaws to advanced surgeries like craniotomy, vertal slots, and lung lobectomy, Fossum's Small Animal Surgery, 5th Edition is the go-to, full-color guide for everything that general veterinarians and vet students need to know about both soft tissue and orthopedic surgery. Five editors bring their expert perspective as they discuss the latest advances in key areas such as imaging modalities, regenerative medicine, minimally invasive surgery, and neurology. With each book adoption, you'll also have access to the Expert Consult website, which includes a fully searchable version of the book plus step-by-step video clips and animations of surgical procedures, aftercare instruction handouts, case presentations, references linked to full text articles on PubMed, and an extensive image collection. There is no better resource to keep you up to date on the latest advances and techniques in small animal surgery! Well illustrated, step-by-step instructions for surgical techniques provide quick reference to practical how-to information in emergency and clinical situations. Anesthesia Protocols offer easy access to recommendations for anesthetizing animals with particular diseases or disorders. Coverage of cutting-edge imaging techniques, including radiographs, CT, MRI, and digital imaging, explores the most useful imaging modalities for demonstrating areas of surgical concern. Clinical tips boxes provide at-a-glance surgical and practice tips. Postsurgical care instructions provide customizable client aftercare handouts for many of the procedures in the book. Reference links to PubMed grant access to full-text articles. NEW! Expanded sections on thoracoscopy, arthroscopy, and laparoscopy reflect the significant growth in minimally invasive procedures in vet medicine. NEW! Significantly revised section on joint disease includes additional techniques and procedures. NEW! Revised chapter on regenerative medicine emphasizes application of stem cell and regenerative medicine technologies to clinical patients. NEW! Increased emphasis on differential diagnosis helps you learn how to avoid misdiagnoses that result in unnecessary surgery with the inclusion of boxes covering disorders that may mimic the more commonly encountered surgical neurologic problems that are not actual disorders requiring surgical repair. NEW! Correlation boxes highlight the advances in veterinary medicine that correlate with human medicine. NEW! Expanded chapter on neurologic examination cover how to perform a proper neurologic exam to detect problems in cats and dogs. NEW! Step-by-step procedure videos that walk through both basic and advanced procedures have been added to this new edition. NEW! Aftercare instructions and rarely performed procedures have been added to the Expert Consult.
Practical Canine Behaviour by
In this book Stephanie Hedges draws on more than 20 years as a practicing veterinary nurse and her training as a Certificated Clinical Animal Behaviourist (CCAB). She provides a quick reference and practically relevant canine behaviour resource to meet both the specific needs of the veterinary nurse or technician and the needs of the wider general practice team. The new edition has been completely revised and updated to include: - New sections on canine emotions, the role of play, and how the canine senses affect a dog's perception of their world and their communication with others - A discussion of the relevance and limitations of breed in our understanding of dog behaviour - Updated and expanded behavioural first aid advice including factors to consider when assessing risk - A new chapter on the practice role in addressing fear of visiting the practice and veterinary interventions - A focus on the emotional welfare of dogs throughout Further topics include application of the 'trigger stacking' principle to reduce stress and aggression in practice, approaches to minimising restraint when handling, advice for puppy owners to prevent future problems, tips for running successful puppy socialization classes, and strategies for managing or addressing unwanted behaviour. Practical Canine Behaviour continues to provide an essential practical resource for the general veterinary practice team, dog trainers, groomers, dog walkers, rescue centre staff, kennel owners and all those who love and care for dogs.
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion by
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Toxicology, Second Edition puts all the information needed to rapidly and accurately manage poisonings in small animal patients at the clinician's fingertips. Provides concise, bulleted information focused on the most important facts needed when treating a poisoned cat or dog Carefully organized for ease of use in an emergency, with important toxicants arranged alphabetically within categories Details clinically relevant information on the most common toxicants encountered by small animals Presents a wealth of color photographs to aid in plant identification Includes 14 new topics to this edition covering cyclosporine A, sleep aids, tacrolimus, bath salts, synthetic marijuana, poisonous lizards, imidacloprid, spring bulbs, and sodium monofluoroacetate
