Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians by
Gain the skills you need to master the role of the veterinary technician in large animal care! Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 4th Edition teaches you how to set up, assist, and follow through on medical procedures and treatment regimens for large domestic animals. A comprehensive guide, this text not only defines the veterinary technician's responsibilities in daily livestock care and hospital management, but includes separate sections on horses, cattle, sheep and goats, pigs, and llamas and alpacas - covering husbandry, clinical procedures, surgical procedures, and common diseases for each. This new edition includes information on safety and handling, livestock nutrition, vaccine scheduling, and diagnostic imaging, plus four new chapters with detailed care of poultry. Written by noted veterinary technician educator Kristin Holtgrew-Bohling, it is the ideal text for preparing for certification exams and everyday practice! The most comprehensive large animal book specifically written for veterinary technician students. A practical approach makes this text useful in classes and in clinical situations, so veterinary technicians, acting under instructions of veterinarians, can plan and follow through on procedures and treatment regimens for large animals. A focus on the veterinary technician's responsibilities explains why and how a procedure is performed, and the roles that vet techs fill in preparing for, assisting in, and following up the procedure. Coverage of the essential large animal-related tasks in the CVTEA Manual of Accreditation for Veterinary Technology Programs addresses AVMA accreditation and prepares you to pass the Veterinary Technology National Exam. Full-color photographs and line drawings show step-by-step procedures in areas such as restraint, bandaging, physical examination techniques, and diagnostic procedures. Coverage of husbandry and breeds demonstrates how day-to-day housing and feeding affect the care of many large animal diseases, and helps you learn to provide quality client education. A section on the livestock industry provides comprehensive coverage of safety and handling, reproduction, and nutrition, so you can better understand the practices, procedures, and decisions in large animal veterinary medicine. A section on llamas and alpacas helps you to understand the health and maintenance of these increasingly popular domestic animals - in the U.S., there are more than 12,000 alpaca herds and 25,000 llama owners. Proper medical terminology is included in a comprehensive glossary, facilitating effective communication with clients and with other professionals. Learning features enhance your critical thinking and decision making with case studies, clinical applications, key terms, chapter outlines, learning objectives, and Technician Notes. NEW! Tables on Temperature, Pulse, Respiration (TPR) data and vaccine schedules provide a quick, at-a-glance reference for important information. NEW! Expanded regulatory information for livestock provides details on OCV vaccination, Health Certificate forms, Brucellosis and Tuberculosis testing, and Scrapies tags. NEW! Four new chapters on Poultry provide detailed coverage of the breed.
Domestic Animal Behavior for Veterinarians and Animal Scientists by
Domestic Animal Behavior for Veterinarians and Animal Scientists, Sixth Edition is a fully updated revision of this popular, classic text offering a thorough understanding of the normal behavior of domestic animals. Provides a complete understanding of the normal behavior of domestic animals Covers dogs, cats, horses, pigs, sheep, cattle, and goats Describes all key aspects of animal behavior, with images to support the concepts Revised and updated to cover the latest thinking, with enhanced coverage of behavioral genetics, animal cognition, and learning Includes access to a companion website with review questions and answers and the figures from the book in PowerPoint
Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care for Veterinary Technicians by
Master the veterinary technician's role in caring for critically ill or injured pets! Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care for Veterinary Technicians, 4th Edition provides quick access to dozens of common, life-saving protocols and procedures. Each treatment technique is described in step-by-step detail and illustrated in full color. To prepare you for the veterinary setting, a team approach is emphasized. This edition adds three new chapters and includes practical, easy-to-apply medical math and scenario-based exercises. Written by experienced veterinary technicians Andrea Battaglia and Andrea Steele, this resource prepares you for success on the VTNE, in veterinary practices, and in animal hospital emergency departments. Step-by-step instructions show how to perform specific procedures and techniques, guiding you through key assessment and treatment techniques. Technician Notes highlight specific procedures, with diagrams, photos, and detailed instructions, providing at-a-glance guidance for students and practicing vet techs. Comprehensive coverage of pain management, respiratory emergencies, and urologic emergencies provides cutting-edge treatment options for a wide variety of commonly seen presenting problems. Review and preparation for the VTNE (Veterinary Technician National Examination) is provided by Medical Math exercises and questions based on real-world scenarios. Coverage of equipment and techniques includes the latest advances in basic lab equipment, fluid therapy, and oxygen therapy. Equipment lists are provided at the beginning of most chapters, ensuring that you will have the appropriate tools on hand for each type of emergency situation. Practical exercises prepare you for success on the VTNE. NEW! Three new chapters are included: Supporting the Critically Ill or Injured through Physical Rehabilitation Techniques, Fostering Wellbeing in the ER and ICU, and Managing Pharmaceuticals in the ER. NEW! Chapter pretests assess your knowledge and allow you to identify your strengths and weaknesses. NEW and UPDATED photos and illustrations enhance your understanding by accurately depicting the clinical signs encountered in emergency and critical care.
Fundamentals of Pharmacology for Veterinary Technicians by
Want to be indispensable to your veterinary care team? Instead of memorizing drug names, elevate your understanding of the drugs used to treat animal patients with Romich's FUNDAMENTALS OF PHARMACOLOGY FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIANS, 3E. Following a body-systems approach, you build a foundation knowledge about important drugs, their actions and potentially harmful effects, diseases the drugs treat, how to administer drugs safely and most effectively, and much more. And to make what you're learning practical, chapters cover veterinary technician roles, dosage calculations, legal requirements, pharmacy management, job duties and clinical tips. The MindTap platform also offers digital resources such as practice quizzes, games, drug updates, and other supplemental resources for use during your course, while studying for certification exams and in your career.
Small Animal Surgical Nursing by
Covering the veterinary technician's role and responsibilities in small animal surgery, Small Animal Surgical Nursing: Skills and Concepts, 2nd Edition helps you gain exceptional clinical competency. Topics include asepsis, operating room protocol, instrumentation, sterile technique, suture materials, suturing techniques, wound management, surgical assistance, and pre- and postoperative care of animals. Full-color photographs show instruments and equipment, and help you develop skills in sterile technique, suturing techniques, and wound management. Written by noted educator Marianne Tear, this edition expands coverage of emerging issues and hot topics such as nutritional therapy and physical therapy. Complete coverage of small animal surgical nursing describes the roles and responsibilities of the veterinary technician. A focus on exceptional clinical skills and practice tips helps you gain clinical competency in small animal surgical technique. Clear, full-color photographs show instruments, equipment, sterile technique, suturing techniques, and wound management. Performance objectives at the beginning of each chapter and key points and review questions at the end of each chapter focus and reinforce learning. Practical appendices make it easy to look up dosage calculations, how to quickly set IV fluid drip rates, and how to make up various solutions of medications for constant rate infusions. More than a dozen new illustrated procedures are added to this edition. More real-world examples and best practices are added. Common complications are described for each surgical procedure, with discussions of how to avoid or prepare for these situations. A consistent organization discusses each surgery in terms of pre-op considerations, patient positioning and prep, equipment, the tech's role, and common complications. Instructions follow the order of the procedure: sterilization and gloving and gowning are located in Chapter 1. More rationales are included, covering topics such as different methods of sterilization and catheter placement. Increased coverage of nutritional therapy and physical therapy is added to the chapter on postoperative care. Key terms, chapter outlines, review questions, and a glossary make learning easier. The companion Evolve website includes instrument identification exercises and other workbook-like study activities.
Front Office Management for the Veterinary Team by
Learn to navigate the day-to-day skills you need to be a valuable member of the veterinary office team! Front Office Management for the Veterinary Team, 3rd Edition covers veterinary office duties ranging from: scheduling appointments to billing and accounting, managing inventory and medical records, marketing, using outside diagnostic laboratory services, and communicating effectively and compassionately with clients. This edition includes an all-new chapter on strategic planning and updated coverage of office procedures, veterinary ethics, and technology. In addition, this complete guide to veterinary practice management features step-by-step instructions, making it easier for you to master vital front office tasks! UPDATED! Chapters include the most current information on team leadership, veterinary ethics and legal issues, human resources, and finance management. UPDATED! Coverage of technology and procedures includes new computer screen shots and new photos. Comprehensive coverage of front office skills includes telephone skills, appointment scheduling, admitting and discharging patients, and communicating with clients. Review questions and suggested activities reinforce important concepts presented in each chapter. Coverage of clinical assisting ranges from examinations and history taking for patients to kennels and boarding procedures, as well as radiology and laboratory procedures. Veterinary Ethics and Legal Issues chapter helps you protect the practice, and run an office based on ethical principles. An Evolve companion website lets you practice front office tasks with exercises in bookkeeping/accounts receivable, appointment management, and charting. Downloadable working forms offer practice in completing sample checks, laboratory forms, and incident reports. Information on electronic banking and tax forms ensures that you adhere to the latest financial guidelines. Information on security in office communication covers the most current methods of safe, electronic communication. Practice Point boxes highlight practical information to remember while on the job. Veterinary Hospital Managers Association (VHMA) Critical Competencies are highlighted in each chapter. NEW! Strategic Planning chapter discusses how to strategically plan for the successful future of the veterinary hospital, and will include details on growing the practice, planning the workforce, meeting consumer needs, and increasing the value of the practice. NEW! The Leadership Team chapter discusses how leadership affects the paraprofessional staff, provides suggestions for effective leadership strategies, and methods to set expectations for employees, including attracting and retaining employees, leveraging, empowering and driving employee engagement. NEW! Standard Operating Procedures provides a checklist of important tasks associated with that chapter that must be addressed/completed in the veterinary practice setting.
Animal Health by
Recommended reading for VET_TCH 2230.
Three veterinarians provide basic information on farm animal health and disease prevention. They first discuss the basics of nutrition, sanitation, disinfection immunization, housing and husbandry, before describing the cause, clinical signs, prevention and treatment of various diseases. The final chapter covers both internal and external parasites
AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians by
AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians Practical handbook on all aspects of veterinary care in horses relevant to veterinary technicians AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians, Second Edition offers a compendium of information on the care and treatment of horses for equine veterinary technicians, building on the basics of equine care to provide a complete reference for equine nursing skills, training, and technical information. The text is specifically geared toward those who already have basic equine knowledge and training and are looking to build upon their foundations. Comprehensive yet accessible, the new edition updates all medical, procedural, pharmaceutical, equipment, staffing, and office management information. Images also appear in full color throughout the book for the first time. Chapters cover a variety of topics ranging from general horse management and nutrition to diagnostics and medical emergencies. Charts, tables, and images support the text to aid in reader comprehension. Sample topics covered in AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians include: General horse management, equine nutrition, applied anatomy and physiology, equine reproduction, and equine wellness programs Foal care, equine pharmacology, laboratory diagnosis in equine practice, equine anesthesia, surgical assistance, and nursing care Technical procedures, diagnostic procedures, common equine medical emergencies, equine physical rehabilitation, equine behavior, and equine office procedures An overall explanation of procedures and medical information regarding the care of horses in a clinic or ambulatory practice Highly accessible and easy to use, AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians, Second Edition is an invaluable reference for qualified equine veterinary technicians and assistants--particularly those earning their equine certification--as well as vet tech students and equine practices.
If the book you seek is posted above, it is not available as an eBook for us.
But I can see/purchase an eBook?
Unfortunately, what you're seeing is a consumer license and not an institutional license.
Publishers will often make books available for single customers but large groups, such as universities, are unable to purchase a license which would allow for multiple users and downloads. Sadly, we have to wait until they become available, if they do.
So what are my options?
If you need to use a library book for a course you have two options:
1. Request a chapter or article from the book via Interlibrary Loan.
2. Request the book be sent to you. (Please note we cannot ship overseas)