English 2030 Professional Writing: Guide to Resources: Local & Regional Resources

Besides the usual media outlets reporting on the University, there are a lot of internal reports and data collection that may be available via the University Archives or by directly contacting the office responsible for compiling data or providing a service. Note that some of this information may be restricted due to privacy regulations.

University Archives
The Archives collect information related to MU history and activities, including official documents. Please call (573) 882-7567 or send an email to muarchives@missouri.edu before visiting the Archives.  Most of their materials are located off-campus and must be brought to their office to use. ***The Archives are moving into Ellis Library during the fall semester 2021! It may take a little longer than usual for them to gather information for you, so plan ahead.***

Campus Data Hub
Look here for data related to MU including enrollment, first-time students, majors, etc.

Vox Magazine

The Maneater

MIZZOU Magazine
https://mospace.umsystem.edu/xmlui/handle/10355/53784 (This link has more recent issues.)

Inside Mizzou podcasts from the Office of the President.

REDI, Regional Economic Development Inc.
REDI produces an annual Factbook and a variety of other publications on Columbia.

All Things Missouri
Interactive mapping, data, reports, statewide.
 

City of Columbia
This general page provides links to city government, news releases, various reports.

City Council
Meeting minutes, agendas, reports.

Boards, Commissions, Committees, and Task Forces
Meeting minutes, agendas, reports.

Columbia Chamber of Commerce

Guide to Columbia and Boone County Government Information

Boone County Government

Boone County Commission Minutes

Missouri Government

Guide to Missouri State Government Information

• Columbia Heart Beat

  "Columbia's All-Digital Alternative News Source," run by real estate investor and preservationist Mike Martin since 2005. Concerned with land and governance issues.
• Columbia Heart Beat Facebook

  Alternative "newspaper" for Columbia 
  NOTE:  The site doesn't appear to updated regularly anymore.  Its value may lie in historical stories, pre-2019.
• CoMO for Progress Facebook

  Mix of local and state/national issues. Liberal/Progressive.
• Race Matters Friends CoMO

  Local activist group concerned with issues of racial equity, especially in policing and schools
• The Trouble With Normal

  Digitized copies of the Columbia, MO zine The Trouble With Normal, which ran in the 1990's. Are the social problems discussed there still the same today?
• Work Together In the Community - Columbia, Missouri

  Facebook group formed in March 2020, originally called "Work together during Covid 19 crisis-Columbia Missouri "

   

  Google searches on specific Columbia shows

  site:.www.kbia.org/post

  • Example:  site:.www.kbia.org/post Clyde Ruffin

  site:.www.kfru.com

  • Example:  site:.www.kfru.com Brian Treece

Center for Missouri Studies (Formerly the State Historical Society)
Good for information on Missouri history, will have some on local and Mizzou history.  They are located just north of Peace Park at 605 Elm Street.  During COVID-19, they are open by appointment.  Reserve a time at least two business days in advance, https://shsmo.org/research/request.

Boone County Historical Society
They collect information related to Boone County history.

Daniel Boone Regional Library Community History Archive