Library Guides: English 4996: Guide to Resources: Writing Climate Change: Reference Shelf

Reference Books

Where the Wild Books Are by Jim Dwyer
Call Number: PN3448.E36 D89 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Where the Wild Books Are offers an overview of nearly 2,000 works of nature-oriented fiction. The author includes a discussion of the precursors and history of the genre, and of its expansion since the 1970s.
Cli-Fi: a Companion by Axel Goodbody (Editor); Adeline Johns-Putra (Editor)
Call Number: online
Also available in print at PN56.C612 C53 2019.
Climate and Literature by Adeline Johns-Putra (Editor)
Call Number: PN56.C612 C545 2019
"Leading scholars examine the history of climate and literature. Essays analyse this history in terms of the contrasts between literary and climatological time, and between literal and literary atmosphere, before addressing textual representations of climate in seasons poetry, classical Greek literature, medieval Icelandic and Greenlandic sagas, and Shakespearean theatre."
Climate Change and the Contemporary Novel by Adeline Johns-Putra
Call Number: PS374.C555 J54 2019
Anthropocene Fictions by Adam Trexler
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015
Anthropocene Fictions is the first systematic examination of the hundreds of novels that have been written about anthropogenic climate change.
The Anthropocene and the Global Environmental Crisis
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015
"Drawing on the expertise of world-recognised scholars and thought-provoking intellectuals, the book explores the challenges and difficult questions posed by the convergence of geological and human history to the foundational ideas of modern social science."
Making Climate Change History: primary sources from global warming's past
Call Number: QC981.8.G56 M34 2017
This collection pulls together key documents from the scientific and political history of climate change, including congressional testimony, scientific papers, newspaper editorials, court cases, and international declarations.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Second Edition
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012
Dictionary of the History of Science
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2014
Short historical accounts of the important themes, ideas, and discoveries of science. Originally published in 1982.

Gale eBooks
Search across a wide variety of online encyclopedias.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.

Bibliographies and Reviews

The Cli-Fi Report
The Cli-Fi Report (CFR) is a research tool for academics and media professionals to use in gathering information and reporting on the rise of the emerging cli-fi term worldwide.
Cli-Fi in American Studies: A Research Bibliography
by Susanne Leikam and Julia Leyda
"Despite the wealth of cli-fi primary texts across all media, there has not yet been a comprehensive compilation of secondary sources facilitating the engagement with cli-fi in the environmental humanities. Our research bibliography aims to close this gap by providing an extensive, albeit necessarily fragmented and incomplete, pool of resources for scholars, educators, and the interested members of the public."
Climate Fiction in English
by Caren Irr
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature. Oxford University Press, 2017
Climate change in literature and literary studies: From cli-fi, climate change theater and ecopoetry to ecocriticism and climate change criticism.
A. Johns-Putra, 2016
Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change, vol. 7, no. 2, pp. 266–282. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1002/wcc.385. Accessed 10 Sept. 2020.
Climate Change in Literature and Literary Criticism.
A. Trexler and A Johns-Putra, 2011
Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change, vol. 2, no. 2, pp. 185–200. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1002/wcc.105. Accessed 10 Sept. 2020.
Chicago Review of Books
#Burning Worlds
Monthly column on climate fiction.
Climate Generation
#clifi
Climate Web
#climate-fiction