Primary Sources - HIST 2950 - France: The Interwar Years - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

MU Special Collections

Jacques Flach Collections
Search the MERLIN catalog for items with the following AUTHOR: Jacques Flach Collection, published after 1918.
Interwar Era Posters
Posters on either "France" or "Europe" between 1919-1939. Go to Special Collections to view actual posters.

Gallica

Gallica is the online library of the French National Library, with over 6 million documents online. Most finding aids are in French, so if you don't know much/any French, it will be best to search it for the French term for "interwar," L'entre-deux-guerres, names of places, people, individual years, or regimes (e.g., Vichy).

English Language Periodicals (and books), including from the interwar period

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2015), Wall Street Journal (1889-2002) and the Washington Post (1877-2002).
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
This database INDEXES popular 20th-century magazines. We own most of the magazines indexed (some in Ellis Library, some in off-site storage) and can scan copies of articles for you.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Specifically contains access to Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +

Search Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004701828-Search-Help-Resources-Overview
HeinOnline
Full-text law journals (mostly English, but also contains French language sources from this period). You can limit years of publication and search for articles containing keywords related to France, Paris, your topic, etc.
Also includes a number of treaty guides and indexes, including Treaties in Force.
Date Coverage: 1925-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?

Hathi Trust
Searches full text of millions of books. You can choose to look only at items with full text online, or you can locate items in a library.

Online Archival Collections

Texts from 1919-1939 in ARTFL database
French Women Writers
Full Text database of works by various French Women Writers from the 16th to 20th century.
France 1872-1945
Links out to several online primary source collections of interest. See especially the section on the Interwar Era.
French History Archive - Marxists Internet Archive
Contains linked translated documents from the 1930's Popular Front movement, and other leftist publications
YouTube
Add a year to this search for France archival footage to see what you find. Also try France newsreel + year, France speech + year, etc.

HIST 2950 - France: The Interwar Years: Primary Sources

MU Special Collections

Gallica

English Language Periodicals (and books), including from the interwar period

Online Archival Collections