Skip to main content

Social/Cultural Influences on Technology: Home

English 1000

Resources to Identify Technology/Inventors/Inventions

The Evolution of Useful Things by Henry Petroski. MU Ellis T212.P465 1994

Mothers and Daughters of Invention: Notes for a Revised History of Technology by Autumn Stanley.
MU Ellis T36.S73 1993

The Inventive Spirit of African Americans: Patented Ingenuity by Patricia Carter Sluby. MU Ellis T39.S57 2004

The Illustrated Science and Invention Encyclopedia. 21 volumes MU Ellis REF Q121 .I44 1977

Eureka! An Illustrated History of inventions from the Wheel to the Computer; a London Sunday Times Encyclopediaedited by Edward De Bono. MU Ellis T15 .D3 1974

World of Invention edited by Kimberley A. McGrath. MU ELLIS REF T15 .W82 1999

The Smithsonian Book of Invention MU Ellis T15.S64 1978

Ancient Inventions by Peter James and Nick Thorpe. MU Ellis T16.J36 1994

Selected Resources for Social/Cultural Situations of the Time

American Decades (Covers each decade of the 20th century) MU Ellis Ready Ref E 169.12 .A419 1994

Encyclopedia of African American History: 1619-1895 from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass
MU Ellis Ref E 185 .E545 2006

Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intelllectual History MU Ellis Ref E 169.1 .E624 2001

Encyclopedia of American Social History MU Ellis Ref HN 57 .E58 1993

Index to The Times (Indexes The Times, 1957-1972) SPEC REF AI 21 .T5

Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper (Indexes The Times 1791-1938)

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (Late 19th-date) Ready Ref AI 3 .R48

Science and Its Times: Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discovery available online or in print at MU Ellis REF Q175.46.S35 2000

The Times (London) (1789-2003) SPEC FILM

Finding Books

From the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on MERLIN Catalog from the top menu. MERLIN is a catalog of the books, journals, magazines and other materials owned by libraries on this campus, as well as the libraries at the University of Missouri campuses at St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla.

When you enter a search, by keyword, author, etc., the computer will default to searching only the MU campus, denoted 'MU' in the pull-down menu on the right side of the screen, unless you choose a different library from that menu. By choosing 'ALL MERLIN' from the menu, you can expand your search to include all the libraries in the University of Missouri System. To expand your search still further to find what is available from nearly all the academic libraries in the state of Missouri, click on the MOBIUS button found at the extreme top the the MU Libraries Gateway page.

A record that you find in MERLIN or MOBIUS, provides you with citation information and a call number so that you can find the actual item in a library on this campus or request that an item be sent from one of the other libraries in the MERLIN or MOBIUS systems. Please note that items can only be borrowed from other libraries if they are unavailable from any of of the libraries on the MU campus.

If the item that you want is not available at MU, or through the other MERLIN libraries, or even MOBIUS, you still may request the book through Interlibrary Loan.

Suggested search terms for MERLIN:

  • subject search: inventions history
  • subject search: technology history
  • subject search: inventors
  • subject search: women inventors

You can also search by the inventor's name or the name of the invention.

Finding Articles

Again, from the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on Databases . Databases are electronic indexes that usually provide you with citations to journal, magazine or newspaper articles, but citations to book chapters, dissertations and other documents or kinds of information may also be included in some databases. In same cases you will note that the fulltext of the item is available from the database, but more than not, finding a citation is the first step of a search that will require you to search MERLIN to determine if we own the item in print. Once you have the call number for an item that we own in print, consult one of the yellow location guides to determine on what floor in Ellis library the item of interest is held.

For this course, the following databases will probably be some of the most useful to you. Click on the link to go directly to that database.

19th Century MasterFile is an index to periodical articles appearing in British and American scholarly journals from 1802 to 1906. Indexing is by key word only, and there is no fulltext.

Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries is a fulltext searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables.

American Periodical Series Online is a full-text collection of some 1000 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. Titles include Benjamin Franklin’s General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper’s Magazine, and Ladies’ Home Journal. The search interface allows you to search the complete text, including tables of contents. Articles are linked to the corresponding page images, allowing downloading and printing in PDF format.

America: History and Lifecontains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,00 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage is 1964 to date.

British Periodicals (Trial) The British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Trial ends Nov. 13, 2006.

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (Trial) C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.3 million books and official publications, 61,647 archival collections and 15.5 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. Trial ends Nov. 13, 2006.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Historical Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals worldwide, excluding the United States and Canada. It covers all aspects of world history from 1450 AD to the present. It has mostly English articles but includes material in other languages

JSTOR A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. It includes graphs, photographs and images.

Lexis-Nexis Congressional includes indexes to congressional publications (1789-date), a bill tracking service (1989-date), and extensive fulltext, including the Congressional Record (1985-present), the Federal Register (1980-present), the Statutes at Large (1789-present), Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present) and Committee Prints (1830-present). It also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress

North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides 80,000 pages of fulltext letters, diaries and manuscripts by 632 North American women from colonial times to 1950. The database is fulltext searchable and texts can also be browsed by author, source, year, place, personal event, or historical event.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers eventually will digitally reproduce every issue of the New York Times (1851-2001) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1987) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and fulltext searching of these newspapers. Not all years have been digitized yet, so this is a growing collection.

Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Finding the Full-Text of Journal Articles

If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be give the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog. If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' Gateway page and click on the Electronic Journals link in the upper right hand side of the screen to enter Find it @ MU. Once in you're given the opportunity to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalogto see if we have a print subscription to the journal.

MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using Find it @ MU, fill out a journal article request form which is available from the Request Forms link near the top of the MU Libraries Gateway page. You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is called ILL @ MU. Usually you will receive the article electronically via e-mail within a few days of placing your request.