Library Guides: Measuring Research Impact and Quality: Times cited counts

Resources for compiling citation counts

There are many resources that record citation counts for published material. None are considered comprehensive.
Recent research indicates the number of uncited papers is less than 10% in most scientific fields. Nature 52 (December 14, 2017): 162-164

Scopus

Scopus Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus

Times cited counts for journal articles published from 1996 to date. Older material back to 1970 is being added .
Coverage is strongest for the sciences and social sciences, but humanities publications are also included.
Indexes 21,800 peer-reviewed journals.
Book coverage back to 2013.

Scopus Citation Overview

Search by author and then select the author's name to view the Scopus Author Details which tracks research output and citation activity for an individual.
From the Author Details page select Citation Overview to see a chart of publications with the times cited counts.
Use the Export feature (top, right side of the page) to export the data into a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet.

Secondary documents in Scopus

Secondary documents are items that are not indexed by Scopus, but are extracted from references lists for the items indexed by Scopus.

To view these non-Scopus references, click the View secondary documents link above your search results for either an author or topic.
The non-Scopus document titles appear in gray text and are indicated by this icon
Citation counts are provided for these secondary documents.
Secondary documents include items that have been cited incorrectly by the citing article.

Web of Science

Web of Science Core Collection Indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *

Times cited counts for journal articles back to 1900 (science), back to 1956 (social sciences) and back to1975 (humanities).
Coverage is strongest for the sciences and social sciences, but selected humanities publications are included.
Indexes over 12,000 scholarly and technical journals.
Book coverage back to 2005.

Web of Science citation report

Search by author to create a citation report to track research output and citation activity for an individual.
Citation reports can be exported into Microsoft Excel or saved as text files.

Web of Science cited reference search

Conduct a Cited Reference Search to find citations and times cited counts for items not indexed by Web of Science.
Do a Cited Reference Search to find citations and times cited counts for items indexed by Web of Science before 1990.
Results of a Cited Reference Search will also provide times cited counts for items that have been cited incorrectly by the citing article.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Times cited counts for both articles and books
All subject areas--science, social science and humanities
Date coverage is unknown
Publish or Perish
Software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations from Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search.

Dimensions

Dimensions
Provides times cited counts for scholarly journal articles published, books and book chapters, preprints and conference proceedings.
Requires free registration.
Dimensions ERIH Plus (European Reference Index for the Humanities and Social Sciences)
Provides citation counts to scholarly journal articles, proceedings, edited books and chapters in the humanities and social sciences.

Additional sources for citation counts

Many subject specialized databases provide times cited information. Below are some examples. See the Databases by Subject listings to check and see if a database in your discipline offers times cited information.

CAS SciFinder
Upgraded interface for Scifinder, a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder-N also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email. (Note: Your Scifinder user name and password will work for Scifinder-n).
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
Contains references to articles in periodicals, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Contains full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Date Coverage: 1872-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/PsychInfo
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
IEEE Xplore
Access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1988-date
Maximum Users: 20
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

Google Books

Google Books
Search by book title to find citations for it in other books.

Relative citation ratio

Relative Citation Ratio (RCR) is a new metric that quantifies and compares the influence of a scientific article.

"... it works by counting an article’s network of citations, then weighting the result by using a comparison group within the article’s field. The developers of relative citation ratio said its methodology therefore better reflects how experts assess the influence of a paper, rather than just its total number of citations.” Chronicle of Higher Education Sept. 7, 2016

Relative Citation Ratio (RCR): A New Metric That Uses Citation Rates to Measure Influence at the Article Level. PLOS Biology, 2016; 14 (9): e1002541
Original article introducing RCR.
iCite
Tool for calculating relative citation ratio for PubMed articles.