MU Libraries

Encyclopedias: Home

Guide to finding encyclopedias at the MU libraries

Core Online Resources

Use the resources listed below to get you started on your research.  Keep in mind that the titles below are just a sampling of what we have.  Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library: MU logo Database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Reference Online Premium

Oxford Reference Online Premium: Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.

Search Oxford Reference Online

 

Finding Subject-Specific Encyclopedias in the MERLIN Catalog

Enter keyword(s) describing the subject and the word "encyclopedia."
e.g. biology and encyclopedia

 

Search the MERLIN Catalog for Subject Encyclopedias

Selected Online Subject Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of Computational ChemistryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of MissouriECC contains over 300 articles, all extensively cross-referenced. Technical terms are explained in short Definitions. Each year around 50 new and updated Articles will be added, so that the Encyclopedia will keep up-to-date with the development of computational chemistry.
  • Encyclopedia of MammalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of MissouriCovers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world.
  • Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic SynthesisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of MissouriEncyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis is a reference source for reagents used in organic synthesis which for each reagent includes uses and characteristics, examples of use, physical data, solubility, preparative methods and literature references
  • Encyclopedia of Research DesignRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of MissouriAn encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed.
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Online resource covering more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Reptiles and Birds, Fish, Insects, Mammals and Simple Aquatic Life, including information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more
  • Oxford Art Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics. Grove Art Online provides access to over 45,000 signed articles, 21,000 biographies, and 5000 searchable and embedded images.
  • Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations is a searchable, online resource providing over 200,000 entries covering the abbreviations, symbols and acronyms used in science and technology, coveirng such subjects as chemical symbols, scientific associations and societies, units of measure, and professional credentials.

Additional Assistance

For additional assistance, please contact the Ellis Library Reference Desk.

Creation Information

Created by Emily Smart, Graduate Reference Assistant 2011-2012.