Parts of This Guide
Paths Through Historical Sources
- Find a good secondary source (book, article), and mine its bibliography. Look for primary sources and types of primary sources used to create the secondary source.
- Use sources to find: synonyms/contemporary terms - people's names - place names - dates - distinctive quotations and phrases that will lead you to further sources via databases and Google Books.
- Use Google Books Advanced search to find key phrases such as names or dates or event names in books written during a certain period and/or with a certain word in the book title, and/or by a certain author
- In the Historical Abstracts and/or America: History and Life databases, you can search specifically for articles written about the time period you choose.
- Use the C19 database. There's no full text here, but many articles indexed here are held at the MU Libraries. Check the MERLIN catalog to see where, and in what format, we own the periodicals - use the Journal Title search in MERLIN. They may be available in print (in Ellis Library or requestable from the Depository), or they may be on microfilm. The Parliamentary Papers can also be searched from C19.
Timelines of World History
Call Number: D11 .T34 2002
Dictionary of National Biography (old ed. of ODNB)
Call Number: DA28 .D48
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (new ed. of DNB)
Call Number: DA28 .O95 2004
Oxford Companion to British History
Call Number: DA34 .O93 1997
Oxford Companion to Australian History
Call Number: DU110 .O93 2001
Encyclopedia of Asian History
Call Number: DS31 .E53 1988
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
Call Number: DT3 .P27 2001
See especially vol. 3, "From Conquest to Colonization."
Historical Atlas of South Asia
Call Number: G2261.S1 H5 1992
Historical Atlas of Canada
Call Number: G1116.S1 H5 1987
Atlas of Early American History: The Revolutionary Era
Call Number: G1201.S3 A8 1976