Skip to main content

Data Sets for Quantitative Research: Home

Machine Readable Data for use in Quantitative Research

The Data Services unit at MU Libraries offers reference assistance to MU faculty, staff and students in the acquisition of datasets for use in teaching and original research.  Through our affiliation with the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) and the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (see tabs above), MU faculty, staff and students may download any of thousands of datasets on a wide variety of topics.  We also help researchers access the growing collection of public use datasets on the Internet.


MU Campus Resources

MU Social Science Statistics Center

Provides support for faculty and students working with statistical data, including:

  • Application of cutting-edge statistical methods to new research questions.
  • Development of new statistical techniques that better suit the data structure.
  • Assistance with application of existing statistical techniques.
  • Methodological and computing assistance for persons who are conducting graduate research or preparing grant proposals.
  • Statistical computing assistance, such as help with installation, coding, and/or debugging computer programs such as SAS, SPSS, and R
  • Short courses as part of the education and and training component

MU Division of IT (DoIT) Research Computing Services

The Research Support Computing (RSC) group provides computing support, training, and consulting to the MU research community. The staff works closely with researchers to help evaluate their technology needs and recommend solutions that allow them to take full advantage of the resources available. RSC also works to ensure that the campus’ computing and networking infrastructure meets the growing needs of the research community for performance and functionality.

Missouri Spatial Data Information Service (MSDIS)

The geospatial element serves as a strong integrating force in many human and natural environmental processes.  Time and space, or when and where things happen (geospatial), are often a common factor in processes which are seemingly disconnected.  MSIDS is a spatial data clearing house for data related to Missouri. Missouri’s geospatial data is disseminated free of charge.

Geographic Resources Center

The Geographic Resources Center (GRC) in the University of Missouri Department of Geography is a multidisciplinary applied research and teaching facility for geographic and remote sensing data analysis. It also serves as a resource center for information concerning applications of geographic information systems (GIS), remote sensing and cartography.

MU Center for Applied Research and Environmental Systems (CARES)

Works to integrate the use of technology and information in decision making processes.  Works with rural policy and rural health issues. Partners with foundations, non-profits, government agencies, and researchers on a variety of topics involving health and community.

Office of Social and Economic Data Analysis

  • Provides information useful in strengthening the social fabric of Missouri communities.
  • Provides governmental entities and other organizations with the information needed to make data-driven decisions.
  • Draws from U.S. Census Bureau data and many other sources to provide comprehensive, impartial analyses on a wide range of demographic-related issues.
  • Focuses on efforts to improve education from preschool through the graduate level, in urban and rural environments, with short, medium and long-term timelines.
  • Evaluates from a non-clinical perspective the potential implications of efforts such as preventive medical intervention for young people to caring for the elderly.

Missouri Census Data Center

MCDC holdings include public machine readable data archive and numerous reports and dynamic web applications. A state-wide network of lead, coordinating and affiliate agencies provides users with assistance in accessing the MCDC holdings and answering questions regarding their use and interpretation. Data includes all states, not just Missouri. 

MU Biostatistics and Research Design Unit

Provides support for researchers involved in the MU Health System, including

  • Grant Proposal Development
  • Experimental Design
  • Sample Size Determination
  • Data Management
  • Statistical Analyses of all Types
  • Development and Application of New Statistical Methodologies
  • Education in Experimental Design and Statistics

Missouri Resource Assessment Partnership (MoRAP)

Develops, analyzes, and delivers the highest quality, lowest cost geospatial data for natural and cultural resource management. The partnership fosters innovation and cooperation among participants in order to improve our quality of life.

Reference Service

Reference service is available
Mon - Fri 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Government Documents Department
106B Ellis Library (1st Floor East)
University of Missouri

Marie Concannon (573) 882-0748

Sandy Schiefer (573) 884-8123

Recommended Books