Library Guides: HIST 3560: The Scientific Revolution: 1550-1800: 1700's

Key 1700's Authors

Charles-Augustin de Coulomb
John Dalton
Leonhard Euler
Jean-Baptiste Lamarck
Antoine Lavoisier
Carl Linnaeus
Joseph Louis LaGrange
Joseph Priestley
Alessandro Volta
James Watt

HathiTrust

Use the Advanced Full-Text Search to do things like...

engine in Text
18th century in Subject
sermon in Title
limit results to Full View

1700's Publications (General)

Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800)
Contains searchable PDF's of materials published in Colonial America and the early U.S. such as books, pamphlets, and broadsides. The collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase,etc.)
Date Coverage: 1639-1800

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Contains English-language titles and editions based on the English Short Title Catalogue, made available online over the course of the next two years.
Date Coverage: 1701-1800

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wilcard: ?

Search Guide: http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/ECCO?locID=morenetuomcolum&ste=24
Early American Newspapers. Series I and II, 1690-1900
Images and full-content access to historic newspapers from the 18th to mid-19th Century, based on the collections of the American Antiquarian Society, the Wisconsin Historical Society, and 90 other institutions, from every region of the United States.
Date Coverage: 1690-1900

Maximum Users:

Truncation:

Book: History and annotated bibliography of American religious periodicals and newspapers established from 1730 through 1830
This 2-volume set is in the Special Collections Reference collection (4th Floor, northwest corner Ellis Library). Its call number there is PN4888.R4 A43 1994.

The Art of Preserving Health

This is a rare book in our collection. For more examples, see the related online exhibit on Food & Nutrition in the 18th-20th centuries.