Skip to main content

Microform Collections A-Z

The microform collection is wide and varied in subject. These listings reflect popular research areas and will serve as a good starting point, however, the listings are not exhaustive. Please use the search box at the top of the page or click on "General

IIS Microfiche Library

Bethesda, Md.: Congressional Information Service, 1983

The inclusion of statistics collected and published by intergovernmental organizations, the main units and agencies of the United Nations, the European Community, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, and the Organization of American States makes this a comprehensive source. International economic, social, health, demographic, and trade data are identified, cataloged, and indexed. The microfiche collection includes the full text of publications identified in the index.

Located in Government Documents (first floor).

Guides:

Index to international statistics : IIS.

‘The Index to International Statistics provides an index to this collection. It is issued in two parts, an index and an abstract section, and cumulates quarterly and annually.

Immigrant in America.

Woodbridge, Connecticut: Research Publications, 1984 
73 reel(s)

Ellis owns Irish and Scotch-Irish film

FILM BOOK 0315

Guides:

The immigrant in America : guide to the microfilm collection.

Imperial Gazetteer of India. District Series.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
4050 fiche

"A district gazetteer is a comprehensive description of a district or state of British India, published privately, in series , or under the auspices of a governmental body, and including historical, archaeological, political, economic, sociological, commercial, and statistical data"–Scholberg. The district gazetteers in this collection are reproduced from materials in the India Office Library. Of the 1,344 gazetteers listed in the Scholberg bibliography, 1076 volumes have been included in this microfiche collection. The collection is arranged by province, then by district, and then by date of publication. Statistical supplements for the districts are filmed when available. The dates of the gazetteers vary from district to district but overall they cover the years 1877 to 1936 as well as the years 1947 to 1963 for selected districts. Provincial Gazetteers, 1908-1909 (MICF 915.4003) and Imperial Gazetteers, 1907-1909 (954 Im7) are also available.

An uncataloged guide, Indian Gazetteers, is available in the Special Collections Office. It provides a checklist of the volumes in the collection. Also useful is ANNEX Z3201 .S36 District Gazetteers of British India by Henry Scholberg.

MICF 915.4003

Imperial Gazetteer of India. Provincial Series

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
212 fiche

Indian Provincial Gazetteers are compilations and summations of information gathered by District and Settlement Offices for the years 1908-1909. The gazetteers are arranged by province and include discussion of the geography, history, culture, population, government, administration, agriculture, arts, and manufacturing of each province. District Gazetteers (MICF 915.4003) and Imperial Gazetteers (954 Im 7) are also available.

NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 915.4003

Imperial War Museum (Great Britain). Women at Work Collection from the Imperial War Museum.

Brighton, Sussex: Harvester Microforms, 1984 
91 reel(s)

This extensive documentary record including diaries, correspondence, reports, press clippings, leaflets, pamphlets, and photographs depicts the role of women primarily in Britain during the first World War (1914-1918). Topics include women's employment, women's involvement in benevolent organizations and overseas service, and women's education. Also included are local records from English cities, towns, and counties.

FILM BOOK 0318

Guides:

The Women at work collection from the Imperial War Museum, Lambeth, London

Index to the Final Rolls of Citizens and Freedman of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory Prepared by the Commission and Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes and Approved by the Secretary of the Five Civilized Tribes.

Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms International, 1979 
National Archives Microfilm Publications. Microcopy no. T529; National Archives Record Group 75
1 reel(s)

An index to the final rolls taken in 1907 of both approved and unapproved names of Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole Indians arranged by tribe and category within that tribe. The categories include Indian by marriage, by blood, and Indian minors.

FILM BOOK 0268

India. Archaeological Survey. Memoirs, 1919-21.

New Delhi: Director General, Archaeological Survey of India; Microfilmed by the NY Public Library,
1 reel(s)

No. 1: “Dates of the Votive Inscriptions on the Stupas at Sanchi” by Ramaprasad Chanda. No. 2: “Varieties of the Vishnu Image” by Pandit B.B. Bidyabinod. No. 3: “Talamana or Iconometry” by T.A. Gopinatha Rao. No. 4: “The Archaeological Remains and Excavations at Nagari” by D.R. Bhandarkar. No. 5: “Archaeology and Vaishnava Tradition” by Ramaprasad Chanda. No. 6: “The Temples at Palampet” by Ghulam Yazdani. No. 7: “Excavations at Taxila, the Stupas and Monasteries at Jaulian” by John Marshall. These memoirs also contain black and white photographs.

Nos. 1 (1919) – 7 (1921).
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

India India Census, [1872-1951. Microfiche Ed.].

Zug, Switzerland: InterDocumentation, 1966 
4458 fiche

Great Britain, in its colonial rule of India, initiated census studies at the beginning of the nineteenth century. By 1872, the census contained most of the essential demographic, social, and economic tables, although it still did not cover all the territories controlled by the British. The census of 1881 achieved a more complete coverage and a more extensive classification of demographic, economic, and social characteristics. Since 1881, a new census every ten years provides a relatively complete and continuous demographic record of the region. This collection attempts to collect all census records from 1872 to 1951 in one place, though little sub-provincial census material is included. A large body of anthropological literature has developed around the census.

An uncataloged guide, India: Census, 1872-1951, available in the Special Collections Office, provides a list of contents of the microfiche.
NOT IN MERLIN
MICF 310.3

AVAILABLE ONLINE

India. Commissioner for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes. Reports, 1951-1965.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1969 
3 reel(s)

The Commissioner for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes was responsible for the social, economic, and political welfare of the lower castes of Indian society and the tribal groups living in the Indian hinterland. This collection contains his annual reports to the Indian government on the status of those groups. These reports contain exhaustive statistical and descriptive material on all aspects of life among the castes and tribes. A few of the topics covered include education, economics, housing, and public health. The collection also includes descriptions of government programs to improve their condition.

A table of contents and an index to appendices appears at the beginning of each report. Reports for 1973/74 to 1978/79 and 1980/81 are available (DS422.S3 A3).

FILM MISC - Request access

India. Curator of Ancient Monuments. Preservation of National Monuments: Graeco Buddhist Sculptures from Yusufzai

Calcutta: The Curator’s Office, Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, 1981., 1885
1 reel(s)

H.H. Cole initiated an excavation on the Swat and Buneyr frontiers in the Yusufzai District during the winters of 1883 and 1884. A large number of Graeco-Buddhist sculptures were discovered in 12 ancient monastic sites. There are 30 photos of the discoveries.

Published by order of the governor general in council for the office of Curator of Ancient Monuments in India. Introduction signed: H.H. Cole, January 1885.

FILM MISC - Request access

India. Education Commission. Report of the Indian Education Commission Appointed by the Resolution of the Government of India Dated 3rd of February, 1882.

Calcutta: Superintendent of Government Printing, 1882 
1 reel(s)

The Indian Education Commission was appointed to study the state of education in India, up to that time. The report contains information on the history of education in India, indigenous schools, primary, secondary, and collegiate education, female education, legislation, financial summary, recommendations, statistical tables, and more.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

India. History of India.

London: The Grolier Society (Microfilmed by the Library of Congress.), 1906 
2 reel(s)

This is a collection of nine volumes about the history of India from antiquity to the early nineteen-hundreds written by authorities of each period. Volume I: “From the Earliest Times to the Sixth Century, B.C.” by Romesh Chunder Dutt. Volume II: “From the Sixth Century B.C. to the Mohammedan Conquest, Including the Invasion of Alexander the Great” by Vincent A. Smith. Volume III: “Mediaeval India from the Mohammedan Conquest to the Reign of Akbar the Great” by Stanley Lane-Poole. Volume IV: “From the Reign of Akbar the Great to the Fall of the Moghul Empire” by Stanley Lane-Poole. Volume V: “The Mohammedan Period as Described by Its Own Historians” by Sir Henry Miers Elliot. Volume VI: “From the First European Settlements to the Founding of the English East India Company” by Sir William Wilson Hunter. Volume VII: “The European Struggle for Indian Supremacy in the Seventeenth Century” by William Wilson Hunter. Volume VIII: “From the Close of the Seventeenth Century to the Present Time” by Sir Alfred Comyn Lyall. Volume IX: “Historic Accounts of India by Foreign Travellers [sic] Classic, Oriental, and Occidental” collected and arranged by A.V. Williams Jackson. Accounts include those from the Greek writer Strabo, a Chinese-Buddhist pilgrim, a Persian geographer, a Dutch missionary, a French voyager, an Italian traveler, and more.

Each volume begins with a table of contents and list of photographs. The inside cover of each volume states “Edition de Luxe: Limited to One Thousand Copies for England and North America.” Reel 1 contains volumes 1-4; reel 2 contains volumes 5-9.

FILM MISC - Request access

India. Home Department. Political Section. Proceedings. Selections. Series A-S.

New Delhi, India: National Archives of India, 1968 
19 reel(s)

N. Gerald Barrier selected material from the Political Section of the Home Department dealing with political and religious developments in India between 1907 and 1938. Topics filmed include Sikh regiments and sedition, a proposed amendment of the Post Office Act to stop transmission of seditious materials, reports on the vernacular press, a petition against cow slaughter, the prohibition of Swadesh Sewak, the revised constitution and rules of the All-India Muslim League, a Sikh plot in Shanghai, the extension of the Seditious Meeting Act to the Punjab, the forfeiture of Comrade and Hamdard, Bengal and Punjab rules under the Defence of India Act, and the Lahore Conspiracy trial.

An uncataloged guide, National Archives of India: Political Records, Filmed Spring, 1969, available in the Special Collections Office lists the contents of each reel.

FILM 11:2-3 - Request access

India. Home Department. Selections from the Native Newspapers Published in the Punjab, 1864-1924.

New Delhi, India: National Archives of India, 1962 
35 reel(s)

In response to the Sepoy Mutiny of 1857, Parliament passed the Government of India Act of 1858 in which the British Crown assumed control over India, thus replacing the East India Company. The British gradually consolidated their power among the Sikhs and Muslims of the north with an eye to stopping Russian intrusions into the Indian subcontinent. During the period covered by this collection, the India Home Office compiled weekly reports of information found in the vernacular newspapers of the Punjab, the Northwestern Provinces, the Muslim province of Oudh, and the Central Provinces. Each report contains brief English summaries of articles on many diverse subjects.

This material is arranged chronologically. In the early years, a list of the newspapers consulted appear at the end of each weekly report. In the later years, each report has a table of contents indicating subjects discussed and newspaper sources.

FILM 16:4 - Request access

India. Hyderabad. Archaeological Dept. Annual Reports, 1930-1933.

Calcutta: Baptist Mission Press; Microfilmed by the NY Public Library, 1933
1 reel(s)

These annual reports include those on personnel, tours, survey of monuments, conservation, epigraphy, numismatics, museum, publications, library, photographs and drawings, expenditures, and the tour programs for each year. They also include various appendices consisting of diaries, statements, lists, and black and white photographs.

Report year ends Oct. 5.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

India. Legislative Council. Proceedings

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
1008 fiche

Legislative Council proceedings in Calcutta date from May 20, 1854. The power to make laws and regulations had up to that time, belonged to the Governor General of India in Council. On May 20, the Council of India accepted the responsibility, acting in its legislative capacity as the Legislative Council. Discussions of various bills under consideration reveal the events, background, and public perceptions surrounding the passage of each act. The first series (1854-1861) is numbered volumes 1 to 7, the new series (1862-1920) is numbered volumes 1 to 59. The title varies.

The proceedings are in chronological order. Indexes to bills presented, subjects discussed, and persons involved can usually be found at the beginning or end of each volume.

MICF 328.454502

India. Legislature. Council of State. Debates. Official Report, 1921-1947.

umba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
640 fiche

This collection contains the official minutes of debates carried on in the Indian Legislative Council of State. As such, it is a source of information about official Indian attitudes towards the events of the period. The period from 1921 until Indian independence in 1947 saw the rise of Indian nationalism, Gandhi's drive for independence through non-cooperation, Indian involvement in World War II, the desperate attempts by Gandhi to create a new India with united Muslim and Hindu factions, and, finally, with the failure of unity, the partition of India into a Hindu and a Muslim state.

The debates are arranged chronologically with a table of contents for each day's debate. A separate index for 1921 to 1929 appears at the beginning of the fiche collection. Volumes for 1921 to 1927 are also numbered volumes 1-9.

MICF 328.4502

India. Legislature. Legislative Assembly. Debates. Official Report, 1921-1947.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 
2489 fiche

Debates within the Legislative Assembly provide information on the social, political, and economic issues facing India in the provinces as well as on the national level. The period from 1921 to 1947 saw enormous and complex problems develop in India. On the national level, the issue of independence caused confrontation throughout the countryside between the British and Indian nationalists. Also, the questions of Indian participation in World War II and her status after the war were debated. Within the country, various religious groups competed for power and autonomy. All of this agitation had a crucial bearing on the political shape of the Indian subcontinent after independence.

These debates are arranged chronologically. An index to the debates is provided at the beginning of each annual volume.

MICF 328.45402

India. Linguistic Survey. Linguistic Survey of India

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1966 
341 fiche

Using the linguistic tables of the 1891 census and estimates by local officials of dialects spoken, George Abraham Grierson directed the compilation of a linguistic survey of India. The survey excludes the regions of Madras, Burma, Hyderabad, and Mysore. The volumes include a comparative vocabulary of Indian languages, a comparative dictionary of the Indo-Aryan languages, and discussions of the Mon-Khmer and Tai language families, the Tibeto-Burman languages, the Munda and Dravidian languages, the various Indo-Aryan languages, the Eranian family, and "Gipsy" languages.

A table of contents for the collection is on the first microfiche.
NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 491.1

India Office Library. India Office Records: Judicial and Public Departmental Papers. London, 1883-1888 and 1909-1929.

London: Kodak, 1968 
9 reel(s)

N. Gerald Barrier selected material from the judicial and public departmental papers in the India Office Library. Subjects reproduced include the Lahore bomb outrage, Hindu-Muslim riots in Velore and Amritsar, the Lahore conspiracy, Sikh agitation in the Punjab, emigration policy, the Delhi conspiracy case, Sikhs in China, Indians in Canada, resolutions passed by the Sikh League Amritsar, the Penal Code Amendment Bill, the King Committee on Bribery, and the Rawalpindi and Multan riots.

An uncataloged guide, Great Britain, Office of Commonwealth Relations: India Office library. India Office Records, available in the Special Collections Office briefly lists the contents of each reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:4 - Request access

India. Press Information Bureau. General Elections, 1967

Chicago: University of Chicago Library, 1968 
3 reel(s)

Returns of the 1967 election, arranged geographically by voting district, give the total electorate, the total votes polled, invalid votes, the names of candidates, their party, and the number of votes received. In 1966 Indira Gandhi, Nehru's daughter, became the first woman prime minister of India. Prior to the election of 1967, food shortages, inflation, and poor industrial performance created domestic unrest. The right wing of her party, led by former minister of finance, Morarji Desai, challenged her leadership. The largest opposition groups emerged on the right: Swatantra and Jan Sangh. In the election, Gandhi's Congress Party suffered great losses.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:3 - Request access

Indian Anecdotes and Barbarities.

Barre, MA: Printed at the Gazette Office, 1837 
1 reel(s)

This short book of propaganda against American Indians contains a variety of anecdotes, “tales of savage vengeance, containing instances of the courage, fortitude, artifice, sagacity, and deadly enmity to foes,” including one from a member of the Lewis and Clark expedition at the headwaters of the Missouri River.

Subtitled “Being a description of their customs and deeds of cruelty, with an account of the captivity, sufferings and heroic conduct of many who have fallen into their hands, or who have defended themselves from savage vengeance; all illustrating the general traits of Indian character, with numerous engravings.”
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Indian Annual Register, 1920-1947, Calcutta.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Center,

The period covered by this collection saw the rise of Indian nationalism and the drive toward independence, which finally proved successful in 1947. But the growth of nationalism also saw an increasing rift between the majority Hindus, led by Gandhi and Nehru in the Congress Party, and the large Muslim minority organized under the Muslim League. This rift finally led to the creation of Pakistan in 1947. The Indian Annual Register is an digest of public activities in India. The material contains such items as proceedings of the Imperial and Legislative Councils, records of such political movements as the Indian National Congress, relations with their countries, as well as government memoranda and correspondence.

The material is arranged by volume number in chronological order. There is a table of contents at the beginning of each volume.

MICF 954

Indian Board, for the Emigration, Preservation, and Improvement of the Aborigines of America. Documents and Proceedings Relating to the Formation and Progress of a Board in the City of New York.

New York: Vanderpool and Cole, Printers; Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX., 1829 
1 reel(s)

In 1829, concerned citizens of New York and politicians formed the Indian Board to help the situation of Native Americans. This small book contains documents, copies of letters from members of the U.S. government regarding the Native Americans, as well as the constitution of the Indian Board, names of board members, and minutes of meetings.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Indian Institute of Public Opinion. Quarterly Economic Report, 1954-1970.

Ithaca, N.Y.: Photo Science of Cornell University, 
3 reel(s)

The quarterly reports include features that analyze the changing structure of the Indian economy. These features discuss such things as regional changes in income, the structure of the money supply, the roles of currency and bank money, trade wars, political activities that affect the economic climate, and changing patterns of consumption. Conclusions to each feature analyze the patterns and attempt to predict trends. Questions directed to business leaders extract a collective summary of Indian business opinion in regard to a specific subject. Abundant charts and tables illustrate patterns in such areas as energy consumption, industrial production, growth in selected industries, and railway freight traffic.

Each quarterly report has a table of contents.

FILM MISC - Request access

Indian National Congress. Reports and Proceedings, 1885-1921, Vols. 1-36.

Tumba, Sweden: Inter-Documentation Company,

In 1885, representatives from all parts of India met for the first time in Bombay to discuss various issues concerning India and to offer recommendations to the British colonial administration. This collection provides summaries of the proceedings from the annual congresses until 1921. This period saw the administration of Lord Curzon succeeded by the Morley-Minto reforms with the India Councils Act of 1909. Many of these reforms and the rise of Indian nationalism grew out of the Indian National Congresses. The period also saw disruptions in colonial government created by World War I and the agitation for increasing self-rule after the war.

Note: The material is arranged chronologically.

MICF 1888

Indian Territory. General Council. Journal of the Annual Session of the General Council of the Indian Territory Composed of Delegates Duly Elected from the Indian Tribes Legally Resident therin Assembled in Council at Okmulgee, Indian Territory, 1873-1875

Dallas: Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., 
1 reel(s)

Note: This reel of the 4th, 5th, and 6th sessions contains a list of delegates from the 4th session from 1873, the journal of the 6th session, adjourned Sept. 1875, and the Constitution of the Indian Territory, 1875.

FILM MISC - Request access

Interchurch World Movement of North America. History of the Interchurch World Movement.

Microfilmed by the University of Chicago Library, 1966

The Interchurch World Movement of North America began after the signing of the Armistice that ended World War I in 1918 and was created on behalf of the “missionary and benevolent work of the evangelical churches of North America” to raise funds for and support their foreign mission work. This reel contains the history of the movement including the first meeting, as well as proposed surveys, educational activities, field activities, financial campaign and underwritings, size of the movement and extent of its activities, reorganization and liquidation, and distribution of materials and publications.

Table of contents at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

International Military Tribunal for the Far East. Record of Proceedings [And] Judgment.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1964 
38 reel(s)

On January 19, 1946, General Douglas MacArthur issued a charter for a tribunal to try major war criminals in the Far East. The trial began in Tokyo on May 3, 1946, and ended with a verdict from November 4 through November 12, 1948. The twenty-eight defendants were charged collectively as leaders or accomplices in the Japanese war of aggression and as conspirators with Germany and Italy for world domination. Charges against specific persons included the murder of disarmed soldiers and civilians at Nanking, Canton, and other locations, the murder of Russian and Mongolian troops in the Khalkin-Gol river area, and the violation of principles governing the treatment of prisoners of war. Such deliberations required an extensive presentation of the events, discussions, and decisions made by leaders in Japan from 1928 to 1945. The judgment states that two documents presented were of major importance in the rendering of the verdict: the diary from 1930 to 1945 of Kido, a confidential advisor to the Emperor, and the Saionji-Harada memoirs. Of the twenty-five defendants sentenced, seven received the death penalty, sixteen received life imprisonment, and two received lesser punishment.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 10:4-5 - Request access

Guides:

Dull, Paul S. The Tokyo trials : a functional index to the Proceedings of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East

The guide provides a comprehensive index to subjects and defendants.

Investigative Case Files of the Bureau of Investigation, 1908-1922.

Washington, D. C: National Archives, 1982 
National Archives Microform Publications. Microcopy no. M1085
3 reel(s)

The three reels that Ellis Library has of this 955 reel collection contain information on a variety of topics. Reel 319 has the investigative records relating to German aliens (Old German Files), 1915-1920. This contains letters and reports on suspected spies, and interviews with suspicious Germans. Reel 320 continues the files, and in addition contains reports on the American Protective League, the Loyal Black Knights of the Camp of Israel, and civil rights groups. Reel 482 has miscellaneous reports.

FILM BOOK 0223

Ireland. Parliament. House of Commons. Parliamentary Register: Or, History of the Proceedings and Debates of the House of Commons of Ireland.

Dublin: National Library of Ireland, 
4 reel(s)

During the period covered by these legislative debates, Ireland was struggling for self-rule. Until this period, Great Britain had severely limited the powers of the Irish Parliament. In 1782 Great Britain granted legislative freedom to an all-Protestant Irish Parliament. Although this Parliament restored many rights to the Catholic people, it refused to give them full political rights. Issues addressed by the House of Commons include public works, import and export trade, tariffs, regulation of local merchant practices, improvement of fisheries, military matters, agriculture, and voting rights.

The summaries of Parliamentary debates from 1781 to 1791 are arranged chronologically. There is no index or table of contents.

FILM MISC - Request access

Israel, National Security Files, 1963-1969.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982
3 reel(s)

The collection consists of telegrams and reports received by the National Security Council from American diplomatic representatives and confidential sources in Israel, internal memoranda of the Council, and reports sent by the Council to the White House. The material covers the years 1963-1969 and deals with such topics as the relations between the United States and Israel, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the political, economic, and military situation of Israel, American arms sales to Israel and Jordan, the internal situation in states bordering on Israel as well as the American policy towards these states, the Soviet involvement in the Middle East, and attitudes of American Jews towards Israel.

FILM BOOK 0040

Guides:

A Guide to Israel, national security files, 1963-1969 [microform] PDF

The guide lists all the documents, which are arranged chronologically within two subseries: “Cables” and “Memos and Miscellaneous”. Also available under call number E183.8.I75 G8 1982.

Italy International Population Census Publications.

Woodbridge, CT: Research Publications, 1980 
10 reel(s)

Statistical population information for Italy from 1871-1931 by region, province, community with rural/urban classifications and density maps. Ellis Library has reels 3-12 with reel 3 also containing population statistics from 1785-1873. In Italian.

Note: Censuses for 1945-1947 called Series I, pre-1945 Series II, and post-1967 Series III.

FILM BOOK 0386