Save Time; Find Quality Information
You would otherwise have to look through each issue of a journal for articles on your topic, or wade through millions of off-target citations.
A database like PubMed indexes selected biomedical journals to find articles that match your topic. The FindIt@MU button will let you know the availability of the article.
Use a database to find article information on your topic. After retrieving article citations, use Findit@MU to determine whether the article(s) is available fulltext online or in print. Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain copies of articles from other libraries.
For VRSP, the big databases to use are PubMed, Scopus, and CAB. There are lots more databases to pursue depending on your topic and species. Check out more databases in the Veterinary Medicine Subject Guide.
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Covers an array of scientific disciplines such as forestry, human health & nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, recreation, and leisure.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
If you have an article or journal citation, use this link to find the full-text online or information about the print copy.
Databases will lead you to article citations. If you do not see the html or pdf full-text of the article in the database, click the FindIt@MU button next to the article citation.
The article will display if available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
If the article is not available online or in print, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan.