Transactional Law: Subject Specific Research Resources

Federal Income Taxation of Corporations and Shareholders provides guidance on navigating the tax code, both present and future, so you can provide the most benefit to your corporation or shareholders. You’ll get the deep understanding of complex tax matters you need to make the best tax decisions and develop the best corporate tax strategies.

Contains publications to educate tax professionals regarding state, federal, and international tax law. Includes IRS regulations, rulings, and publications, case decisions, and legislative history regarding federal tax changes back to 1981. Users must create a unique username/password to access the database. Access provided by the MU Law Library.

Tax portfolios, news articles, and practice tools, plus more can be found here.

This guide to federal tax research includes a compilation of statutes, in addition to discussions of sources of law, legislative histories, treaties, IRS pronouncements, judicial reports, and online legal research methods.

This glossary is intended to provide an introduction to the legal and business terms often encountered in structuring, negotiating, and executing mergers, acquisitions, and dispositions in countries around the world. It addresses both corporate and private equity sponsor terminology.

This information service provides comprehensive coverage and expert analysis of legal news from every field affecting M&As. Mergers & Acquisitions Law Report covers federal, state, and international M&A developments, including litigation, legislation, regulation, and industry activities, in a wide range of legal fields.

This guide provides general guidance on finding resources useful when researching the topics of mergers, acquisitions, and joint ventures in business with a particular focus on transaction data.

EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, is the primary system for companies and others submitting documents under the Securities Act of 1933, the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Trust Indenture Act of 1939, and the Investment Company Act of 1940. Containing millions of company and individual filings, EDGAR benefits investors, corporations, and the U.S. economy overall by increasing the efficiency, transparency, and fairness of the securities markets

Ranks the investment banks and the deal fees they have earned from M&A (and other) transactions.

Federal agencies and state attorney generals have continued to focus significant resources in the area and have continued to refine merger analysis through settlements, litigated cases, and speeches. This serves as a fundamental and robust reference for all sources related to merger analysis.

Definitions of relevant terms from Cornell's Legal Information Institute.

Residential Real Estate Law introduces students to the skills necessary to competently represent clients in the transactional setting of purchasing or selling a home.

Offers free links to the municipal codes for some municipalities in the US. Includes updates describing annual changes.

Summaries of important cases from the National Association of Relators.

Links to regulations, compliance/enforcement guidance and policies available for each of the major federal environmental statutes.

The definitions provide an introduction to each term and may raise complex legal issues on which specific legal advice is required. The terms are also subject to change as applicable laws and customary practice evolve.

With this publication, we aim to assist the new and not-so-new members of the finance community in talking the talk of corporate and bank finance. This community is constantly adapting to the shifting economic climate, and this Second Edition is intended to keep you in the know on both new slang and timeless corporate and bank finance terminology. In this book, you will find the key to the code of Wall Street’s A-Z jargon.

This guide provides ideas and strategies for researching companies, with a focus on more common sources that may be of use for those looking for information on companies that are active and for those looking for current information.

Features authoritative and complete yet concise content on corporations and covers all areas of corporate law, as well as the origins of various doctrines and their contemporary manifestations in current statutes and caselaw.

The Forum is the top online resource for discourse on corporate governance. Founded by Professor Lucian Bebchuk in 2006, the Forum has featured more than 6,400 posts by more than 5,000 contributors, and its posts have been widely cited in over 800 law review articles and regulatory materials.