Researching Judges

Office profiles and profiles of individual full-time judges from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

LexisNexis Litigation Profile Suite is an Early Case Assessment (ECA) tool that delivers comprehensive quantitative and qualitative information that will reveal facts, behaviors, and biases about expert witnesses, judges, and attorneys. Judge Profiles will help you: learn about the types of cases the judge has heard, plus their experience with a particular area of law; uncover tendencies such as citing unpublished opinions and positions taken on procedural, evidentiary and substantive law questions; read judge-authored materials, such as opinions and law review articles.

The Federal Judicial Center's directory includes the biographies of judges presidentially appointed to serve during good behavior since 1789 on the U.S. district courts, U.S. courts of appeals, Supreme Court of the United States, and U.S. Court of International Trade, as well as the former U.S. circuit courts, Court of Claims, U.S. Customs Court, and U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals. Also included are judges who received presidential recess appointments to the above named courts but were not confirmed by the Senate to serve during good behavior.

Almanac of the Federal Judiciary contains biographical information on currently-serving federal judges, including U.S Supreme Court justices, circuit court judges, district court judges, magistrates, and bankruptcy court judges. This material also includes media coverage and anonymous lawyers' evaluations. Also available on Westlaw (law school only).

Judgepedia is a project on Ballotpedia.org that provides information about the federal and state judiciaries. The Federal Courts Project focuses on federal judges at all levels of the courts. It covers judicial transitions and federal vacancies on the Supreme Court of the United States, Court of Appeals, District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, special jurisdiction courts, and territorial courts. This project also covers notable federal judicial legislation, the United States Department of Justice, the District of Columbia, and federal judicial nominations by president. The State Courts Project focuses on courts under state, county and local jurisdiction. This project covers courts and judges in all 50 states, in addition to judicial elections, judicial selection, disciplinary agencies, budgets and judicial salaries, and more.

BNA’s Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges, and Clerks contains updated contact information for the nation’s judges and clerks, and extensive details on the structure of federal, state, and territorial courts; including listings for over 2,100 state and territorial courts, more than 200 federal courts, and nearly 21,000 court personnel in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories.

CourtListener is a free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts. With CourtListener, lawyers, journalists, academics, and the public can research an important case, stay up to date with new opinions as they are filed, or do deep analysis using their raw data.

Directory of attorneys, judges, law firms, and courts with links to cases, dockets, briefs, motions, and other filings.