Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medical Malpractice by
Publication Date: 2010-08-13
In Medical Malpractice, an economist (Frank Sloan) and a lawyer (Lindsey Chepke) broach the subject of medical malpractice from legal, medical, economic, and insurance angles. The duo also evaluates past health care reforms in order to make policy recommendations for the future of the industry. This book is helpful for background information and economic (as opposed to medical or legal) perspectives on this field. Overall, a very comprehensive source. This resource is available through the Mizzou Library or online.
Medical Malpractice by
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
This book provides an excellent legal perspective on the issue of medical malpractice. It guides lawyers and non-lawyers alike through the process of a medical malpractice claim, from the injury to the jury verdict. Since it is written with laypeople in mind, it is easy to read and understand, making it a quick read to orient yourself in the field. This resource is available through the Mizzou Library or online.
Medical Malpractice by
Publication Date: 2004-09-24
This resource provides a unique perspective, in that it is written for physicians, by a physician. Part 1 gives an overview of malpractice insurance. Part 2 guides doctors through the litigation process. Part 3 gives a physician's point of view on a medical malpractice lawsuit. Finally, Part 4 provides recommendations for reform. If you are working with plaintiffs, this book would give you a look into the viewpoint of "the other side," and thus help you build a stronger argument. This resource is available through the Mizzou Library or online.
The Medical Malpractice Myth by
Publication Date: 2008-09-15
The American health care industry is in a medical malpractice crisis! Frivolous claims drive doctors into hiding and malpractice premiums through the roof. Lawyers and lack of tort reform are to blame, and its dragging the entire health care industry down. The plot twist? This author says that's all a myth. This counter-perspective is interesting for balancing out what sometimes feels like a one-track way of thinking. This resource is available through the Mizzou Library or online.
Medical Malpractice and the U. S. Health Care System by
Publication Date: 2006-06-19
This books looks beyond the usual issues of tort reform and legislative debates about increasing medical malpractice insurance premiums. Instead, the authors attempt to broadly examine the interactions between American health policy and medical malpractice liability. If you are looking for a high-level examination of the medical malpractice industry, this book would be highly relevant. This resource is available through the Mizzou Library or online.
Michels & Lew Medical Malpractice Blog
The law firm of Michels & Lew offers a comprehensive, user-friendly blog about all things medical malpractice. They publish articles regularly on timely topics ranging from falls in the emergency room to wrong-site surgery. Although there is not a clear division of articles into topic, a brief scroll through a few of the posts provides relevant, concise information.
Patrick Malone & Associates Medical Malpractice & Patient Safety Blog
Based out of Washington D.C., Patrick Malone & Associates is a personal injury law firm specializing in medical malpractice cases. As one would expect, the firm is significantly biased in favor of injured patients. However, their blog is very organized and informative. In fact, some of the posts read like newspaper articles. If you're looking for detailed, helpful, and easy to read posts about medical malpractice, start here.
Silverman Thompson Slutkin White Malpractice Lawyer Blog
Much like the D.C. firm discussed directly above, Silverman Thompson Slutkin White is a personal injury firm based in Maryland. Their medical malpractice blog centers on large medical malpractice cases around the country, with emphasis on the jury verdicts.
This blog is updated with incredibly frequency, providing up-to-the-minute posts about developments in medical malpractice law. Most of their recent articles deal with big court cases, but other analyze studies and recent changes in the field.
What Is Tort Reform?
This blog is a very comprehensive and informative source about past, present, and future tort reform efforts in the United States. Although this blog is not necessarily geared specifically toward medical malpractice, many of the current tort reform measures are related to medical malpractice in some way (e.g., caps on damages). This is a helpful source for learning about tort reform generally, and as it pertains to medical malpractice.
TREATISES & PRACTICE AIDS
American Law of Medical Malpractice 3d by
Call Number: Westlaw password required
American Law of Medical Malpractice provides the strategies, procedural guidelines, and checklists to assist in determining liability in medical malpractice cases. It contains coverage of relevant federal and state statutes, state-by-state listings of health department data, trial transcripts, and author's comments, as well as authoritative information regarding immediate malpractice issues, such as:
• How physicians are trained
• The nature of the doctor/patient relationship
• How medical standards of care are derived
• How hospitals are administered, and what services, besides emergency, they are required to furnish
• Which cases should be referred to specialists
• Evaluate strategies for plaintiffs or defendants
• Coverage of complex medical subjects, from obstetrics to pharmacology
• Statute of limitations, informed consent, and comparative negligence
Medical Malpractice by
Publication Date: 2001-09-30
This treatise approaches the subject of medical malpractice from a scientific, statistical angle. Additionally, the author uses these statistics to discuss various aspect of health care, including legal and public policy perspectives. The treatise gives a unique perspective on medical malpractice, beyond the traditional legal or medical angle. This resource is available through the Mizzou Library or for purchase online.
Medical Malpractice by
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
This classic treatise provides a comprehensive, doctrinal examination of medical malpractice. This resource is available through the Mizzou Library or for purchase online.
American Law Reports - Medical Malpractice
Note: To use this source, you will need a Westlaw subscription. However, it is a very helpful source in that it allows you to search one of the most comprehensive legal compilations available. I would highly recommend taking advantage of this source if you have access to it.
TOP MEDICAL MALPRACTICE LAW FIRMS
U.S. News: Top Medical Malpractice Firms for Plaintiffs
This site provides the rankings of over 600 law firms from across the United States that specialize in bringing medical malpractice claims on behalf of plaintiffs. If you are doing a more narrow search, this site also lets you view and compare medical malpractice firms in a certain city or state.
U.S. News: Top Medical Malpractice Firms for Defendants
This site provides an alphabetical list of over 550 law firms located all across the nation that specialize in defending against medical malpractice claims. To narrow the search and see rankings for a specific region, state, or city, use the filter tools on the left side of the page.
The Medical Malpractice Trial Lawyers Association
This link provides a directory of the Top 25 medical malpractice plaintiffs' lawyers in each state. Membership is invitation-only, and is limited to lawyers who meet several stringent criteria. For more general information, visit http://www.pntla.org/about/.
Best Lawyers In America: Medical Malpractice-Plaintiffs
If you follow this link, you will find an up-to-date list of the best medical malpractice lawyers and law firms for plaintiffs. If you'd like to craft your own search, hit "Clear" on the left side.
Best Lawyers In American: Medical Malpractice-Defendants
Click here to find an up-to-date list of the best medical malpractice lawyers and law firms for defendants. If you'd like to craft your own search, hit "Clear" on the left side. If you'd like to narrow your search by location, use the tools on the left side.
STUDIES AND JOURNAL ARTICLES
An Introduction to Medical Malpractice in the United States
This source traces medical malpractice from its origins in British common law to its current iteration today. It is an excellent starting point if you are trying to understand legal issues, requirements, and damages resulting from medical malpractice claims.
Doctors, the Adversary System, and Procedural Reform in Medical Liability Litigation
This article is an excellent, comprehensive discussion of the modern state of medical malpractice litigation. The author looks at lessons from the past, empirical data on current issues, and suggests future reforms.
Medical Liability and Health Care Reform
This journal article examines the impact of the Affordable Care Act on medical malpractice liability. The discussion touches on several potential aspects of federal medical liability reform, including caps on recoverable damages.
Fight Club: Doctors vs. Lawyers - A Peace Plan Grounded in Self-Interest
Andrew Jay McClurg examines the conflict between health care professionals and lawyers when it comes to medical malpractice liability. McClurg classifies this conflict as a "scourge" upon what have historically been two of the world's most dignified professions. Specifically, he lays out several steps for reducing this tension and improving communication.
Medical Malpractice Center
The Medical Malpractice Center's website provides a vast amount of information regarding various types of medical malpractice, birth injury, and misdiagnosis. This site also provides a contact form to learn more about medical malpractice claims.
American Bar Association
The ABA provides many medical malpractice resources, including this brief article that focuses on medical malpractice (from the viewpoint of personal injury law), and links to answers to several FAQs.