Library Guides: Evidence Based Medicine: Databases for Articles

Databases for Evidence Based Medicine

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)
Includes full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Presented as both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress.
Date Coverage: Current Quarter

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=27933&p=175464
Cochrane Methodology Register
Includes all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions.
EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club
Contains the complete text of ACP Journal Club and BMJ's Evidence Based Medicine which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals.
Date Coverage: 1991-date

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=27933&p=175456
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
Contains bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE. Abilty to search by members of the Cochrane Collaborations.
Date Coverage: Current Quarter

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=27933&p=175456
MEDLINE (Ovid)
MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1966-date.
Maximum Users: 44
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Tutorial: http://www.screencast.com/users/lottes/folders/Jing/media/a7a0252d-37e8-4b6e-8d59-29f60369ada3
OTSeeker
Search for randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Studies are ranked using the same PEDro scale used in the Physiotherapy Evidence Database.
Search Guide: http://www.otseeker.com/searchhelp.aspx
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.

Disaster Research Response Resources Portal
Retrieves data and resources on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials, and other public health issues.
Evidence Alerts
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates.
Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step, from the American Journal of Nursing
Twelve award winning “how-to” articles on evidence based nursing practice, first published in the American Journal of Nursing. Authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation’s Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. CE credit is available to readers.
JAMA Guide to Statistics and Research Methods
A collection of JAMA articles explaining statistical methods used in clinical research. Plain language explanations of why a specific statistical method was selected and how it should be interepreted. Many are linked to a corresponding research article in JAMA which illustrates the method being discussed.
National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
With over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations, the database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. Published by the Cochrane Collaboration with funding from the British National Health Service. Can be searched as part of EBMR Evidence Based Medicine Reviews.
National Health Service Health Technology Assessment Database
Locate descriptions of systematic reviews, ongoing and completed trials assessing the impact of health technologies. Can be searched as part of EBMR – Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. From the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden in conjunction with the Cochrane Collaboration.
Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Information in MedlinePlus
Evidence based information on usage, indications, interactions and toxicity for over 100 herbals and supplements. From Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.
NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence)
From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects.
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney.
TRIP Database
Search evidence based medicial topics from 61 EBM sites around the world, including ACP Journal Club, POEMS, Bandolier, DARE, and others. From the Centre for Research Support in Wales. Register for a free password and choose University of Missouri – Columbia in your settings to view links and ordering options for primary research articles.