Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special Education Law by
Publication Date: 2013-04-17
Special Education Law, Fifth Edition provides a comprehensive, and student-friendly overview of the major federal laws--and judicial interpretations of those laws--that apply to the education of children with special needs. Laura Rothstein and Scott F. Johnson thoroughly present the most up-to-date information on special education statutes, regulations, and judicial interpretations, including substantial changes in the interpretation of the legistlation. The text helps students understand what the law requires so that they can develop policies and make decisions that comply with these laws.
School Law and the Public Schools by
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
School Law and the Public Schools is a practical, easy to read, comprehensive guide to the legal issues facing public schools in the U.S. today. An essential reference for all teachers, educational leaders, and policymakers at all levels, the book is organized and written in a style that is accessible to all, even those with little or no knowledge of the legal issues in education.
Practical Education Law for the Twenty-First Century by
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
This one-volume treatise summarizes and explains a myriad of legal trends and principles in the rich and varied field of American education law. The second edition of Practical Education Law for the Twenty-First Century is divided into ten chapters, each dealing with a substantive area in education law. Topics covered include school finances, school search and crime issues, residency and fee issues, basic labor law, alternative education and vouchers, injuries to students, athletics, and the overall organization and regulation of public education. Within each chapter are a number of concise sections that address specific legal concerns. Citations are nationwide in scope and include references to updated federal and state case law, federal statutory law, and state statutory law. Practical law tips appear throughout the volume.
This highly readable text is extremely accessible to nonlegal audiences, as well as useful to the legally trained reader and to the law student.
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The over-representation of minority students in special education continues to be a persistent and challenging issue in education. This is a complicated issue because it is often difficult to determine if a student is struggling in school because of a disability or, as some suggest, other factors such as poverty, limited English proficiency, or factors within the school environment, such as a lack of high quality instruction or cultural bias. To illustrate, a 6th grade Hispanic girl who is not proficient in English may be diagnosed as having a learning disability because she is not reading at grade level. Similarly, an African American boy who may be acting out in school because of problems at home may be diagnosed as having an emotional disability. The consequences of over-representation have serious implications for students who may be inappropriately identified as having a disability because these students are placed in an educational track that is different than their peers which may negatively impact their academic and career outcomes. This book examines the dis-proportionality issues and early intervention services of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act.
Wrightslaw; Special Education Law, 2nd Ed by
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Current Awareness and Research Tools
Understood is a website designed for parents of children with disabilities, and the website provides great background into special education statutes and procedures to file a complaint. Their website states, "Parents want the best for their children. We do, too. For the first time ever, 15 nonprofit organizations have joined forces to support parents of the one in five children with learning and attention issues throughout their journey." This is one of the most user-friendly sites I have found. The organizational structure allows easy navigation by topic. The information provided is clear and concise so nearly anyone could read and understand it. They summarize complex statutes and regulations and make them accessible for parents, lawyers, and educators. This is the first place I would consult as it will help you develop a strong foundation on the most important issues in special education.
This blog is written and compiled by Pete and Pam Wright. They are recognized experts in Special Education Law. "For a year and a half, Pete and Pam Wright were Adjunct Professors of Law at the William and Mary School of Law where they taught a course about special education law and advocacy and assisted in creating the Law School's Special Education Law Clinic. They are co-founders and faculty at the William and Mary Law School Institute of Special Education Advocacy (ISEA)."
This is an excellent resource to find and review court cases that would be helpful in a brief. The site organizes cases by court hierarchy and provides a sentence to provide the holding. Professors Wright and Wright also make notes of which cases are important than others. I would regularly use this site and is it up to date and tracks important litigation as it progresses.
The blog is accessible and easy to navigate so people without legal backgrounds could understand what each case decided. There is also a navigation bar on the left that lists topics essential to special education like harassment, due process, mediation, damages, and eligibility for services.
Education Law Prof Blog
This blog is compilation of posting from education law professors recognized as experts in the field. They provide valuable insight into ongoing litigation, legislative reform efforts, and proposed regulatory changes.
The blog is written for individuals with a legal background and provides great analysis of current legal developments as they are ongoing. The blog is regularly updated and maintains recency. It has a great search function to identify relevant posts. I would regularly consult this blog, and I highly recommend this site after you have developed a general foundation of special education law.
Resources Available Through Legal Databases
The best legal database for education research is LexisNexis. It is the only database I found that has an education practice area section. It is divided into cases, statutes and legislation, administrative regulations, forms, and much more. It also provides access to Education Law by James Rapp (see below). If you are a practicing attorney specializing in education law this is the best database. I would regularly consult this source and subscribe to it.
Education Law by James A. Rapp (Lexis)
This book is available on the Lexis Database. Specifically Chapter 10 addresses educational laws and procedures for students with disabilities.
Education law by Charles J. Russo and Ralph D. Mawdsley (Lexis)
This books is available on the Lexis Database. Specifically, Chapter 5 addresses educational laws and procedures for students with disabilities.
West's Federal Administrative Practice (Westlaw)
This is a Federal Administrative Practice Guide last updated in June 2017. Chapter 50(H) specifically addresses special education.
Organizations and Associations