Library Guides: School Law Guide: Other Relevant Sources

Discussion of Other Resources

After exhausting the free legal resources available online, it may be helpful to look at this list of in-print free legal resources before going into secondary sources that cost money. The list of resources on this page can be found at most law libraries. Most major cities have a public legal library, where it is free to obtain a library card and free to check out a variety of resources. Most of the materials listed to the right can be found in the University of Missouri School of Law Library. Further, most books provide a more narrow and detailed subscription of an area within education law versus some of the free online resources. It is also helpful to know about these books because you can suggest some of them to your client. There are numerous legal guides out there for teachers on the various laws that impact them. Those books are written for non-attorneys. Knowing about these resources and being able to suggest them to your client can help both of you prevent legal headaches down the road.

All call numbers listed on the right refer to the University of Missouri School of Law Library call number system.

List of Other Resources

Practical Education Law for the Twenty-First Century by Victoria J. Dodd
ISBN: 9781594608582
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
One volume treatise that covers real-life issues that education lawyers face. There are ten chapters, with each chapter discussing a common legal issue in the education law field. Book has legal citations to give attorneys a direction for their legal research.
Education Law by Ralph M. Gerstein; Lois Gerstein
Call Number: KF4119.G47 2007
ISBN: 9781930056497
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Provides general information on the liabilities and rights of students, teachers, parents, and school districts. This guide was created to help develop standards to protect school districts and enale them to enforce their legal rights.
Encyclopedia of Education Law by Charles J. Russo (Editor)
Call Number: KF4117.E53 2008
ISBN: 9781412940795
Publication Date: 2008-06-27
This book provides a good amount of general educational legal issues as well as case law information. Useful for all perspectives in the education law field. Looks at key legal documents such as the U.S. Constitution and landmark federal statutes.
Education Law Stories by Michael A. Olivas; Ronna Greff Schneider
Call Number: KF4119.E48 2007
ISBN: 9781599410326
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Focuses on landmark cases in the education law field, and tells the stories behind them, including how the litigation was shaped by lawyers, judges, and society.
Special Education Law by Peter S. Latham; Patricia H. Latham; Myrna R. Mandlawitz
Call Number: KF4209.3 L38 2008
ISBN: 9780205479757
Publication Date: 2007-07-23
Provides useful information on IDEA and other federal laws. Written so most people in the education system can understand. Gives general background on Constitutional law that is relevant to the education system of the United States. Information on IDEA includes general background, duty to evaluate, IEP placement, least restrictive environment, and other topics.
School Law and the Public Schools by Nathan L. Essex
Call Number: KF4119.E84 2008
ISBN: 9780137072750
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
Practical and easy guide to legal issues facing the public school system today.
School Law by David Schimmel; Louis Fischer; Leslie R. Stellman
Call Number: KF4118.8.E3 2008
ISBN: 9780205484058
Publication Date: 2007-06-08
Provides legal information for issues that teachers face on a daily basis, such as liability for student injuries, due process, search and seizure, harassment, child abuse, discipline, and academic related topics.
Law of Schools, Students and Teachers in a Nutshell by Kern Alexander; M. David Alexander
Call Number: KF4119.85.A42 2009
ISBN: 9780314195395
Publication Date: 2009-04-20
Covers student rights and responsibilities relating to search and seizure, drugs, testing, grades, attendance, speech, expression, discipline, and other areas. Also covers constititional issues that impact teachers, teacher tenure, and employment matters impacting the relationship between teachers and school districts.
The Yearbook of Education Law 1999 by Charles J. Russo (Editor)
ISBN: 9781565340992
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
Includes judicial decisions and commentary on cases affecting educational policy and school management. Chapter topics include employees, bargaining, pupils, individuals with disabilities, torts, sports, higher education, education related, and federal and state legislation. While I have included the 1999 version for cost reasons, an edition of this book comes out yearly.