NIH Public Access Policy

All citations that will be used in NIH grant applications, progress reports, or proposals need to be listed in eRA Commons via My Bibliography (within My NCBI).

My Bibliography Tool Replaces eRA Commons for Management of Publications [NOT-OD-10-103]

Report your papers via the RPPR. The RPPR draws from every paper in the PI's My Bibliography collection, and any paper linked to the award in the Other Citations collection.

What you need to do:

• Get a My NCBI account
• Connect your My Bibliography to your eRA Commons
• Add all the publications that fall under the NIH Public Access Policy to your My Bibliography

My Bibliography FAQs

As a PI, you may delegate someone else to maintain your My Bibliography.

Delegations created in My NCBI do not have the capabilities of a PI Delegate in eRA Commons. My NCBI delegates can propose grant-paper associations in My NCBI; however, if you want your delegate to have access to reject/confirm grant-paper associations in your Commons Personal Profile, you will have to perform a separate delegation in eRA Commons. If you are a PI, follow these steps to delegate Commons PI authority to another user.

Create a delegate in My Bibliography:

• Click ‘Sign In’ in the top right corner of the NCBI homepage: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
• Click the ‘My Saved Data’ link in the left navigation menu
• Click the ‘Manage’ link
• On the resulting screen, click on the link under “Sharing”
• On the resulting screen, click the ‘Add a Delegate’ link to enter your delegate’s e-mail address
• Upon completing the delegation, your delegate will receive an e-mail notification of permission to view and manage your bibliography. Delegates who do not have a My NCBI account will be invited to register

Presentation by Cynthia Haydon, SOM Grant Writer