Prices and Wages by Decade: 1960-1969

Links to government documents and primary sources listing retail prices for products and services, as well as wages for common occupations.

Wages in the United States, 1960-1969

Jump down to WAGES...

by RACE and SEX
by STATE
by OCCUPATION
in FOREIGN COUNTRIES

Jump down to PRICES for ...

FOOD
HOUSING and UTILITIES
TRANSPORTATION
MORE PRICES IN THE U.S.
COST OF LIVING
PRICES IN FOREIGN COUNTRIES

WAGES -- GENERAL SOURCES (all occupations and worker types)

Average annual wages and salaries across all industries - 1960-1974
Source: Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1976 edition.
Minimum wage (federal), 1938-2021
Source: US Dept of Labor. Get downloadable data from FRED.
Minimum wage set by states, 1968-current
Source: U.S. Department of Labor.
Median annual earnings for full time workers, 1969
Shows nationwide figures averaged across all occupations, broken out by sex.
Employment, hours and earnings by state and local areas
Mostly covers jobs in manufacturing, industry and production.
Annual earnings in private employment, 1965-1967
Does not include agricultural jobs.
Compensation packages, late 1960s
Compensation includes not only the salary or wage, but also health insurance, paid vacation, overtime pay and other benefits. Source: U.S. BLS publication.
Consumer Income Reports, 1944-2018
Find income from all sources (not just wages) in Census Bureau's Current Population Reports P-60 series, "Consumer Income." Click 'more...' below for reports containing 1960s income data.
more...less...
- Income of Families and Persons:
  - 1960
  - 1961
  - 1962
  - 1963
  - 1964
  - 1965
  - 1966
  - 1967: Families, Persons, Supplementary Report
  - 1968
  - 1969
- Income and Educational Attainment of Men:
  - 1956 to 1966
  - 1956 to 1968
- Household Income and Social and Economic Characteristics:
- Reports on poverty, 1960s
  - The Extent of Poverty in the United States 1959 to 1966
  - Characteristics of Families and Persons Living in Metropolitan Poverty Areas: 1967
  - Socioeconomic Trends in Poverty Areas: 1960 to 1968
  - Poverty in the United States: 1959 to 1968
  - 24 Million Americans—Poverty in the United States:1969
- Additional titles
  - Low-Income Families and Unrelated Individuals in the United States: 1963
  - Income of the Elderly in 1963
  - Income in 1964 of Families and Unrelated Individuals by Metropolitan-Nonmetropolitan Residence
  - Household Income in 1967 by Selected Characteristics of the Head
  - Year-Round Workers With Low Earnings in 1966
  - Income Growth Rates in 1939 to 1968 for Persons by Occupation and Industry Groups
  - Occupation and Earnings of Family Heads in 1969, 1965, 1959
- Advance and preliminary data reports
  - Average Income of Families Up Slightly in 1960
  - Average Family Income Increases in 1961
  - Average Family Income Up 4 Percent in 1962
  - Income of Families and Persons at Record High in 1963
  - Average Family Income Up 5 Percent in 1964
  - Median Family Income Up About 5 Percent in 1965
  - Median Income of Persons Up in 1965
  - Average Family Income Up 7 Percent in 1966
  - Family Income Advances, Poverty Reduced in 1967
  - Average Family Income Up 8 Percent in 1968
  - Poverty Continues to Decline in 1969
  - Average Family Income Up 9 Percent in 1969

Earnings by race and sex, 1960-1969

EARNINGS by RACE, 1960s

Wage and salary income by race, 1939-1960
Compares wages and salary income for white and non-white races, with breakouts by sex. Provides data for the years 1939, 1947 and 1957-1960. Source: U.S. Dept of Labor report.
Median Income by race, 1947-1962
Shows the family income for white and nonwhite throughout the United States. Source: Statistical Abstract of the United States (1964), table 460
Wage earnings for farm and non-farm work, by race in 1964
Table shows wage earnings by the day and year for white and non-white workers, and male and female workers. Source: Negroes in the United States, their economic and social situation, a U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics publication.

EARNINGS by SEX, 1960s

Median earnings by sex, 1955-1975
Source: Table 37 in U.S. Working Women: a Databook, U.S. Dept of Labor.
Earnings by sex, 1951-1991
Compare women's and men's median earnings over thirty years in one simple table. Year-round, full time workers only. Note: "current dollars" are unadjusted figures. "Real dollars" are computed figures showing adjustment for inflation.
Part-time jobs for women, 1963
This article details 12 part-time positions common for women in the early 1960's and the earnings they offer. Source: The Kiplinger Magazine's Changing Times, September 1963

1962 Handbook on women workers
The chapter "Women's income and earnings" (p.65-102) contains 1960-1961 wage data for female workers in select occupations:
- Office worker salaries and telephone worker earnings
- Manufacturing earnings
- Service earnings, including power laundries and hotels
- Registered nurse salaries, practical nurse and hospital aide earnings, and other hospital professionals salaries
- School teacher salaries
- Social welfare worker salaries
- Federal employee salaries
1965 Handbook on women workers
The chapter "Women's income and earnings" (p.123-170) contains wages data for female workers in 1963-1965:
- Income of women in 1964 (p.124-139), including by work experience, race, age, occupation, and education
- Nonprofessional earnings (p.139-150), including office, manufacturing, service, and nonprofessional hospital workers
- Professional salaries (p.151-162), including school teachers, technical workers, nurses, professional hospital workers, and scientists
- Federal employee salaries (p.162-163)
- College graduate salaries (p.163-170)
1969 Handbook on women workers
The chapter "Women's income and earnings" (p.127-176) is filled with wage data for female workers in 1966-1969:
- Income of women in 1966 (p.128-146)
- Nonprofessional earnings (p.146-158), including office, manufacturing, service, and hospital workers
- Professional salaries (p.158-171), including school teachers, technical workers, nurses, hospital professionals, and scientists
- Federal employee salaries (p.171-173)
- College graduate salaries (p.173-176)

EARNINGS by BOTH RACE AND SEX, 1960s

Wages and salaries by race and sex - 1960
This table of mean incomes by race and gender is from an article on inequality in wages and salaries for 1960-1980. This source also shows overall mean incomes by census region and industry sector. Source: U.S. Monthly Labor Review, April 1989.
Black female median earnings by occupation in 1969
Covers the experienced civilian Black female labor force who had earnings in 1969, broken out by year of school completed, age and occupation. Source: 1970 Census.
more...less...
Direct links to Black female earnings data by occupation:
Black male median earnings by occupation in 1969
Covers the experienced civilian Black male labor force who had earnings in 1969, broken out by year of school completed, age and occupation. Source: 1970 Census.
more...less...
White female median earnings by occupation in 1969
Covers the experienced civilian white female labor force who had earnings in 1969, broken out by year of school completed, age and occupation. Source: 1970 Census.
more...less...
White male median earnings by occupation in 1969
Covers the experienced civilian white male labor force who had earnings in 1969, broken out by year of school completed, age and occupation. Source: 1970 Census.
more...less...
Direct links to white male earnings data by occupation:
Hispanic female median earnings by occupation in 1969
Covers the experienced civilian Hispanic ("Spanish origin") female labor force who had earnings in 1969, broken out by year of school completed, age and occupation. Source: 1970 Census.
more...less...
Direct links to Hispanic female earnings data by occupation:
Hispanic male median earnings by occupation in 1969
Covers the experienced civilian Hispanic ("Spanish origin") male labor force who had earnings in 1969, broken out by year of school completed, age and occupation. Source: 1970 Census.
more...less...
Income by race and sex, 1956-1966
Shows the yearly median income by sex for white and non-white full-time workers. Source: 1969 Handbook on women workers, p. 137.
Family earnings by race, 1959-1970
Shows the mean earnings of husbands and wives of different races. Source: Current population report P-23 no. 39, table 5.

Wages by state, 1960-1969

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Occupational Wage Surveys show wages and salaries for hundreds of occupations, such as bookkeeper, accounting clerk, file clerk, keypunch operator, office boy or girl, secretary, stenographer, switchboard operator, receptionist, typist, draftsman, nurse, carpenter, engineer, fireman, machinist, electrician, millwright, painter, pipe fitter, plumber, elevator operator, guard, janitor, laborer, truck driver, watchman, and more. Click on a state tab above to see cities and metro areas in the series.

Birmingham, Alabama, Metropolitan Area
- March 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-37)
- April 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-53)
- April 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-59)
- April 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-56)
- April 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-63)
- April 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-60)
- April 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-56)
- April 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-63)
- April 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-59)
- April 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-65)

Phoenix, Arizona, Metropolitan Area
- April 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-42)
- March 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-55)
- March 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-54)
- March 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-57)
- March 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-54)
- March 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-56)
- March 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-62)
- March 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-59)
- March 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-55)
- March 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-60)

Little Rock-North Little Rock, Arkansas, Metropolitan Area
- August 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-6)
- August 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-1)
- August 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-7)
- August 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-3)
- August 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-7)
- August 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-6)
- August 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-1)
- July 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-2)
- July 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-11)
- July 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-2)
Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas, Metropolitan Area
- January 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-42)
- January 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-40)
- January 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-32)
- November 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-30)
- November 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-31)

Denver, Colorado, Metropolitan Area
- December 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-27)
- December 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-33)
- December 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-32)
- December 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-34)
- December 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-32)
- December 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-33)
- December 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-32)
- December 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-38)
- December 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-39)
- December 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-41)
County Salaries in Colorado, 1960
- Colorado state government publication shows salaries for county officials, commissioners, county clerks, treasurers, assessors, sheriffs, county judges, and superintendents of schools.

New Haven, Connecticut, Metropolitan Area
- February 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-41)
- February 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-46)
- January 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-34)
- January 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-37)
- January 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-37)
- January 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-34)
- January 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-37)
- January 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-41)
- January 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-34)
- January 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-38)
Waterbury, Connecticut, Metropolitan Area
- March 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-36)
- March 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-56)
- March 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-48)
- March 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-49)
- March 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-48)
- March 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-49)
- March 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-52)
- March 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-54)
- April 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-53)
- March 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-50)

Washington, D.C.-Maryland-Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- November 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-22)
- October 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-12)
- October 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-16)
- October 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-17)
- October 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-14)
- October 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-14)
- October 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-15)
- September 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-11)
- September 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-22)
- September 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-19)

Wilmington, Delaware-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- September 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-12)
- August 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-9)

Jacksonville, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- December 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-30)
- November 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-21)
- January 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-39)
- January 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-32)
- January 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-38)
- January 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-41)
- January 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-39)
- January 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-33)
- January 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-37)
- December 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-35)
Miami, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- December 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-33)
- December 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-31)
- December 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-33)
- December 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-29)
- December 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-29)
- December 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-30)
- December 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-31)
- December 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-28)
- December 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-29)
- November 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-32)
Tampa-St. Petersburg, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- September 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-9)
- August 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-8)
- August 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-10)
- August 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-7)

Atlanta, Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- June 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-60)
- May 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-73)
- May 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-65)
- May 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-71)
- May 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-73)
- May 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-74)
- May 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-71)
- May 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-71)
- May 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-71)
- May 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-77)
Chattanooga, Tennessee-Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- September 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-14)
- September 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-4)
- September 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-8)
- September 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-5)
- September 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-10)
- September 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-7)
- September 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-8)
- August 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-7)
- September 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-14)
- September 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-9)
Savannah, Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- June 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-53)
- May 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-76)
- June 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-80)
- May 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-60)
- May 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-69)
- May 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-64)
- May 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-69)
- May 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-69)
- May 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-73)
- May 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-68)

Boise City, Idaho, Metropolitan Area
- July 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-1)
- July 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-1)
- July 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-2)
- July 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-3)
- July 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-6)
- November 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-34)
Boise, Idaho, Metropolitan Area
- June 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-61)
- May 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-62)
- May 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-77)
- May 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-74)

Kansas City, Missouri-Kansas, Metropolitan Area
- January 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-23)
- November 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-18)
- November 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-24)
- November 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-22)
- November 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-26)
- November 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-26)
- November 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-27)
- November 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-26)
- November 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-30)
- September 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-17)
- September 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-10)
Wichita, Kansas, Metropolitan Area
- September 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-9)
- September 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-7)
- October 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-11)
- September 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-6)
- September 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-11)
- October 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-11)
- October 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-11)
- December 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-31)
- December 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-41)

Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky, Metropolitan Area
- February 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-31)
- March 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-59)
- March 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-55)
- March 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-54)
- March 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-58)
- March 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-55)
Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- March 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-57)
- March 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-56)
- March 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-62)
- March 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-63)
Louisville, Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- February 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-49)
- February 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-51)
- February 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-48)
- February 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-50)
- February 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-42)
- February 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-51)
- February 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-49)
- February 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-50)
- November 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-33)
- November 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-28)

New Orleans, Louisiana, Metropolitan Area
- February 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-32)
- March 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-48)
- February 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-43)
- February 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-44)
- February 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-42)
- February 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-53)
- February 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-47)
- February 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-51)
- February 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-46)
- February 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-51)

Portland, Maine, Metropolitan Area
- November 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-19)
- November 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-26)
- November 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-24)
- November 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-22)
- November 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-21)
- November 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-23)
- November 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-17)
- November 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-16)
- November 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-20)
- November 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-26)

Baltimore, Maryland, Metropolitan Area
- December 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-34)
- November 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-28)
- November 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-23)
- November 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-24)
- November 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-27)
- November 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-29)
- November 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-30)
- October 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-18)
- September 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-8)
- August 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-11)
Washington, D.C.-Maryland-Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- November 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-22)
- October 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-12)
- October 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-16)
- October 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-17)
- October 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-14)
- October 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-14)
- October 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-15)
- September 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-11)
- September 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-22)
- September 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-19)

Detroit, Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- January 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-25)
- January 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-37)
- January 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-38)
- January 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-47)
- January 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-43)
- January 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-43)
- January 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-45)
- January 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-48)
- January 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-45)
- January 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-58)
Muskegon-Muskegon Heights, Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- May 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-55)
- May 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-69)
- May 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-68)
- May 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-69)
- May 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-71)
- May 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-68)
- May 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-72)
- May 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-72)
- May 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-60)
- May 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-80)
Toledo, Ohio-Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- February 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-49)
- February 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-50)
- February 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-43)
- February 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-57)

Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota, Metropolitan Area
- January 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-21)
- January 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-39)
- January 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-36)
- January 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-38)
- January 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-39)
- January 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-39)
- January 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-38)
- January 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-42)
- January 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-47)
- January 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-47)

Jackson, Mississippi, Metropolitan Area
- February 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-26)
- February 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-42)
- February 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-44)
- February 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-43)
- February 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-41)
- February 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-44)
- February 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-44)
- February 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-43)
- February 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-49)
- February 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-45)

Kansas City, Missouri-Kansas, Metropolitan Area
- January 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-23)
- November 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-18)
- November 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-24)
- November 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-22)
- November 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-26)
- November 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-26)
- November 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-27)
- November 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-26)
- November 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-30)
- September 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-17)
- September 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-10)
St. Louis, Missouri-Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- October 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-10)
- October 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-18)
- October 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-17)
- October 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-21)
- October 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-22)
- October 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-22)
- October 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-27)
- January 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-39)
- March 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-64)

Omaha, Nebraska-Iowa, Metropolitan Area
- October 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-13)
- October 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-14)
- October 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-12)
- October 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-14)
- October 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-17)
- October 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-13)
- October 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-18)
- October 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-21)
- October 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-26)
- September 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-12)

Lawrence-Haverhill, Massachusetts-New Hampshire, Metropolitan Area
- June 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-57)
- June 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-79)
- June 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-76)
- June 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-77)
- June 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-76)
- June 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-75)
- June 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-80)
- June 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-77)
- June 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-74)
- June 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-79)
Manchester, New Hampshire, Metropolitan Area
- August 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-1)
- August 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-3)
- August 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-2)
- August 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-1)
- August 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-4)
- August 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-2)
- August 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-4)
- July 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-1)
- July 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-4)
- July 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-3)

Albuquerque, New Mexico, Metropolitan Area
- May 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-54)
- May 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-61)
- May 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-67)
- April 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-63)
- April 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-61)
- April 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-62)
- April 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-64)
- April 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-60)
- April 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-58)
- April 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-67)

Wages and hours in law offices and real estate offices, New York state
- October 1960

Charlotte, North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- April 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-39)
- April 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-58)
- April 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-60)
- April 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-58)
- April 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-55)
- April 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-61)
- April 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-67)
- April 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-64)
- April 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-57)
- March 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-61)
Raleigh, North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- September 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-5)
- September 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-10)
- September 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-1)
- September 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-7)
- September 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-6)
- September 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-10)
- September 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-7)
- August 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-6)
- August 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-13)
- August 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-6)

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Metropolitan Area
- August 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-3)
- August 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-5)
- August 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-6)
- August 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-2)
- August 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-5)
- August 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-5)
- August 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-6)
- July 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-4)
- July 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-9)
- July 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-17)

Portland, Oregon, Metropolitan Area
- May 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-79)
Portland, Oregon-Washington, Metropolitan Area
- May 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-49)
- May 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-72)
- May 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-72)
- May 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-73)
- May 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-67)
- May 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-70)
- May 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-73)
- May 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-80)
- May 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-76)

Providence, Rhode Island-Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
- March 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-34)
Providence-Pawtucket, Rhode Island-Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
- May 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-70)
- May 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-66)
- May 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-70)
- May 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-65)
- May 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-67)
Providence-Pawtucket-Warwick, Rhode Island-Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
- May 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-65)
- May 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-70)
- May 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-61)
- May 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-74)

Greenville, South Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- May 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-46)
- April 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-63)
- May 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-70)
- May 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-68)
- May 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-68)
- May 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-69)
- May 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-74)
- May 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-66)
- May 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-66)
- May 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-70)

Sioux Falls, South Dakota, Metropolitan Area
- February 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-29)
- November 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-17)
- November 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-15)
- October 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-13)
- October 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-20)
- October 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-15)
- October 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-17)
- October 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-12)
- October 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-17)
- October 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-23)
- September 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-14)

Chattanooga, Tennessee-Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- September 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-14)
- September 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-4)
- September 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-8)
- September 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-5)
- September 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-10)
- September 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-7)
- September 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-8)
- August 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-7)
- September 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-14)
- September 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-9)
Memphis, Tennessee, Metropolitan Area
- January 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-19)
- January 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-35)
- January 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-40)
- January 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-36)
- January 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-35)
- January 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-40)
Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas, Metropolitan Area
- January 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-42)
- January 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-40)
- January 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-32)
- November 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-30)
- November 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-31)

Salt Lake City, Utah, Metropolitan Area
- December 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-32)
- December 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-32)
- December 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-25)
- December 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-28)
- December 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-33)
- December 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-32)
- December 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-33)
- December 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-35)
- December 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-36)
- November 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-30)

Burlington, Vermont, Metropolitan Area
- March 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-57)
- March 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-50)
- March 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-50)
- March 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-47)
- March 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-51)
- March 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-54)
- March 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-52)
- March 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-48)
- March 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-54)

Norfolk-Portsmouth and Newport News-Hampton, Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- June 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-75)
- June 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-75)
- June 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-77)
- June 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-77)
- June 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-77)
- June 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-82)
- June 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-85)
Norfolk-Portsmouth-Newport News, Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- June 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-82)
Richmond, Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- February 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-24)
- December 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-26)
- November 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-22)
- November 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-19)
- November 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-23)
- November 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-19)
- November 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-28)
- November 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-23)
- November 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-27)
- March 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-69)
Washington, D.C.-Maryland-Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- November 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-22)
- October 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-12)
- October 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-16)
- October 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-17)
- October 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-14)
- October 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-14)
- October 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-15)
- September 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-11)
- September 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-22)
- September 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-19)

Portland, Oregon-Washington, Metropolitan Area
- May 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-49)
- May 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-72)
- May 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-72)
- May 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-73)
- May 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-67)
- May 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-70)
- May 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-73)
- May 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-80)
- May 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-76)
Seattle, Washington, Metropolitan Area
- August 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-7)
- August 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-6)
- August 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-4)
- September 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-10)
- September 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-9)
Seattle-Everett, Washington, Metropolitan Area
- October 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-9)
- October 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-22)
- November 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-29)
- November 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-43)
Spokane, Washington, Metropolitan Area
- May 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-77)
- May 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-73)
- May 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-66)
- May 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-78)
- June 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-79)
- June 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-75)
- June 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-80)
- June 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-79)
- June 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-81)

Charleston, West Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- April 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-48)
- April 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-60)
- April 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-61)
- April 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-61)
- April 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-57)
- April 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-65)
- April 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-70)
- April 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-61)
- April 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-63)
- April 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-71)

Green Bay, Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- August 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-2)
- August 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-2)
- August 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-3)
- August 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-4)
- August 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-3)
- August 1965 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-4)
- August 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-5)
- July 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-5)
- July 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-7)
- July 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1660-8)
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- April 1960 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1265-43)
- April 1961 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1285-64)
- April 1962 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1303-57)
- April 1963 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1345-59)
- April 1964 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1385-56)
- April 1965 Occupational Wage Survey (Bulletin 1430-58)
- April 1966 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1465-61)
- April 1967 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1530-76)
- April 1968 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1575-67)
- April 1969 Area Wage Survey (Bulletin 1625-66)

Wages in over 80 metro areas

Wages and related benefits by city, 1954-1967
Shows wages for office and plant operations across all industries but broken out by cities. Includes all the typical jobs that appear across industries: secretaries, clerks, janitors, watchmen, etc.

Wages outside metro areas

Employee earnings in selected nonmetro counties, 1962
Covers selected counties in GA, NC, AL, FL, TX, SC, NC, WV, KY, MS, TN, MD, AR, VA, MI, KS, MO, IN, WI, OH, IL, MN.
Employee earnings in selected nonmetro counties, 1965
Covers selected counties in GA, NC, AL, FL, SC, NC, KY, MS, TN, MD, AR, VA, MI, KS, MO, IN, WI, OH, IL, MN.

Wages in southern metro areas

Employee earnings in selected southern metro areas, 1961-1962
Covers Asheville and Durham NC, Huntsville and Tuscaloosa AL, Amarillo and Wichita Falls TX, Lake Charles and Monroe LA, Lexington KY.
Employee earnings in selected southern metro areas, 1965
Covers Asheville and Durham NC, Tuscaloosa AL, Amarillo and Wichita Falls TX, Lake Charles and Monroe LA, Lexington KY.

Wages by occupation, 1960-1969 - A to Z

Accounting job salaries in federal government
- 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 49)
Air traffic controller salary
- 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 55)
Artists
- 1961 (Changing Times, August 1961)
Airline wages
- This article shows the wages of pilots, stewardesses, and mechanics for American airline companies in 1966. Source: Kipling Magazine's Changing Times.
Attorney salaries in federal government
- 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 51)
Auto dealer repair shop industry wages
Wages for mechanics, car painters, body repairmen, auto parts and service salesmen, etc.
- August-October 1964 (BLS Bulletin 1452)
- August 1969 (BLS Bulletin 1689)
Automotive dealer and gasoline service station wages
- 1961-1966

Banking job wages
Wages for bank tellers, bookkeepers, typists, file clerks, secretaries, etc. with breakouts for men and women.
- November-December 1964 (BLS Bulletin 1466)
- November 1969 (BLS Bulletin 1703)
Bar and restaurant job wages and earnings
Earnings data for bartenders, waiters and waitresses, dishwashers and here, along with additional wage information for employees who did not receive tips.
- October 1966 and April 1967 (BLS Bulletin 1588)
Barber's earnings - Los Angeles
The average barber gave 86 haircuts a week. See earnings data in the Aug 1966 Monthly labor review, p. 900.
Building trades
- 1960 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, May 1961)

Cigarette Manufacturing
- 1960 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Nov 1960)
Clothing stores (apparel and accessories) employee earnings
- 1961-1966
Communications industry wages
Experienced telephone operators averaged
$2.27 an hour in 1966.
Wages and earnings for switchboard operators, telephone linemen, telephone repairmen, Western Union employees, bicycle messengers, and clerical staff of all kinds in the telephone and telegraph industries.
- 1961 (Bulletin 1343)
- 1963 (Bulletin 1426)
- 1964 (Bulletin 1467)
- 1965 (Bulletin 1521)
- 1966 (Bulletin 1582)
- 1967 (Bulletin 1615)
- 1968 (Bulletin 1662)
- 1969 (Bulletin 1696)
Computer programming jobs in federal government
- 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 47)
Congressional salaries
Historical chart shows salaries of members of the U.S. Congress, along with dates of enactment.
- 1789-present
Construction and building union wages
Union wages for asbestos workers, bricklayers, carpenters, millwrights, electricians (inside wiremen), elevator constructors, engineers, operators of cranes, derricks, tractors, rollers, piledrivers and other machinery, mosaic workers, painters, paperhangers, plasterers, plumbers, roofers, sheet-metal workers, stone masons, tile layers, etc. in a few dozen major cities for the years below. For further discussion on earnings for construction worker jobs, we also recommend the BLS publication Compensation in the Construction Industry (1970). This book too provides lists of wages.
- 1959-1960 (52 cities)
- 1960-1961 (52 cities)
- 1961-1962 (53 cities)
- 1962-1963 (61 cities)
- 1963-1964 (68 cities)
- 1964-1965 (68 cities)
- 1966-1967 (68 cities)
- 1967-1968 (68 cities)
- 1968-1969 (68 cities)
Contract cleaning services job wages
Tells the pay for window washers, floor waxers, exterminators, and employees who cleaned buildings, both at night and during the day. Wage figures are broken out for men and women.
- Summer 1965 (Bulletin 1507)
- July 1968 (Bulletin 1644)

Dentists' income
- 1960-1969 (Source, pp. 56-68.)
- 1961 (Changing Times, April 1961)
Department stores - employee earnings
- 1961-1966. This source also gives wage data for workers in dime stores.

Electric and gas utilities job wages
- October-November 1967 (Bulletin 1614)
Engineers
- 1961 salaries by type of engineering, federal employees only (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 47 and 49)
- 1963 salaries by grade of engineer. Source: National survey of professional, administrative, technical and clerical pay.
- 1964 median salaries by type of engineering and years of experience. Source: Engineering Employment Practices Newsletter.
- 1965 salaries by grade of engineer. See definitions of grades here. (Source)
- 1965-66 starting salaries by type of engineer. Source: Job Market for Engineers, Scientists and Technicians (1968)
Engineering technicians
- 1964 median salaries for instrument technicians, electronic technicians, computer technicians and more. Source: Engineering Employment Practices Newsletter.

Teachers
Average annual salaries of instructional staff in elementary and secondary schools. Source: Statistics of State school systems.
- 1960-1966
Educational institutions - wages for non-teaching jobs
Wages for school bus drivers, school cafeteria workers, office clerical staff, maintenance workers, custodians, etc. Provides data by type of school, from elementary school through college, both public and private.
- October 1968 and March 1969 (Bulletin 1671)
College and university position salaries, both academic and supportive
- 1959-1960. Covers the salaries paid to teachers, professors and administrators in degree-granting institutions and junior colleges. The library has additional data from 1957-1964 in print format (not yet scanned.) Contact us for a lookup.
- 1961-1962
  - Brief table lists average salaries by position (professor, associate professor, assistant professor, instructor, college president, dean, etc. Source: 1963 Digest of Educational Statistics.
  - Detailed tables list salaries for faculty and administrators by position (college president, registrar, manager of residence halls, director of food services, library director, etc.) Breakouts by type of college and U.S. region. Source: Higher Education Salaries, 1961-1962.
- 1962-1963. Higher Education Salaries, 1962-1963.
- 1964-1965. Annual salaries of full-time faculty members by academic rank and by public or private institution

Farm labor wages
- The USDA publication Farm Labor has been in publication for nearly 90 years and lists wages in each issue.
- Farm wage rates by geographical division, 1960-1969
  Shows figures with and without board. Source: USDA Agricultural Statistics. 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969
Fertilizer manufacturing wages
- 1966 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Mar 1967)
Firefighter salaries in New York state, by city
- 1969 data by city. Scroll forward in this source to see all listed cities.
Food stores (retail) employee earnings
- 1961-1966 volumes show collective data for all non-supervisory employees in grocery and food stores. Does not break out by job title, but it does show range of wages by size of store, etc. Taken from the Bulletin of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Foundries (nonferrous) job wages
- June-July 1965 (Bulletin 1498)
Foundries, iron and steel job wages
- November 1967 (Bulletin 1626)
Furniture manufacturing wages
- 1968 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Feb 1970)
Furniture and household appliance retail stores - employee earnings
- 1961-1966

Government, city - Average salaries for employees in cities over 10,000 population
- The Municipal Yearbook tells average salaries broken out by size of city for occupations including mayor, city clerk, city auditor, city treasurer, engineer, administrators in public works and city streets, fire chief and police chief, personnel officers, city attorneys, health officers, parks and recreation directors, librarians, superintendent of schools and more. Here is a sample page. This source is not available online but we would be happy to look up any figures for you.
Government, federal - Agency job salaries
- 1964 (Changing Times, 1964)

Hardware stores and farm equipment retailers - employee earnings
- 1961-1966
Hotel and motel job wages
- Tells wages, hours and earnings, with breakouts by tipped and non-tipped personnel. Includes bellmen, chambermaids, waiters, waitresses, etc.
  - March-June 1960 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Dec 1960)
  - October 1966 and April 1967 (Bulletin 1587)
- Motel owner's potential income, 1961

Health care industry
- Salaries and wages for jobs in hospitals, including registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, nursing aides, dieticians, physical therapists, x-ray technicians, medical records librarians, medical social workers, and more, plus many non-medical jobs such as kitchen workers, dishwashers, maids and housekeepers, washer women and laundry personnel, etc. Mens’ and womens’ pay are listed separately, and breakouts provided for hospital employment in various U.S. cities.
  - 1963 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, May 1964)
  - July 1966 (Bulletin 1553)
  - March 1969 (Bulletin 1688)
- Medical personnel employed by federal government, salaries listed by job title
  - 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 49, continued on p. 51)
- Medical personnel - income of physicians, dentists and other health workers
  - 1939-1976. Median net income of office-based non-salaried physicians, dentists and male professional workers in health professions. Covers 1963, 1965 and 1967.
- Salaries of dental personnel in state health departments. Issued for 1962 and 1965.
- Pharmacists' earnings in 1961. Source: Health Manpower Source Book (U. S. Dept of Heatlh, Education and Welfare)
- Sanitarians' salary in 1962. Source: Health Manpower Source Book
- Medical social workers' median annual salary in 1960 for those working in hospitals, independent clinics and other health programs. See additional salary data broken out by type of program. Source: Health Manpower Source Book

International relations experts employed in federal government - Salary
- 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 57)
Insurance Sales Agent
- This article from Kipling Magazine's Changing Times details the earnings, commissions, and income of insurance sales agents in 1969.
Iron industries, basic
Wages for employees working in steel mills, foundries, etc.
- March 1962 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Mar 1963)
- September 1967 (Bulletin 1602)

Laundry worker wages
- Mid-1966 (Bulletin 1544)
- April 1967 and April 1968 (Bulletin 1645)
Leather tanning and finishing
- January 1968 (Bulletin 1618)

Machinery industries
- 1963 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Dec 1963)
Marine scientist earnings
- 1968 (The Kipling Magazine's Changing Times - April 1970)
Manufacturing
- Scroll down on this page to the box just below for manufacturing wages by industry.
Mathematician and statistician salaries in federal government
- 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 59)
Military pay charts (U.S.)
- This is not a government website but it does a good job of organizing a complex topic: 1790s-present
- Table in Kipling Magazine's Changing Times shows the monthly payment for military members by rank in 1967.
Motion picture theater employee salaries
Wages and earnings for box office cashiers, ushers, ticket takers, concession attendants, movie projectionists, janitors, both for drive-in theaters and conventional theaters. Wage data is broken out by region of the country and in metro areas.
- April 1966 (Bulletin 1542)
Motor vehicle and parts plants
- 1963 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Dec 1964)
- 1969 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Sept 1970)

Nursing home employee earnings
Shows earnings data for registered nurses, licensed practical nurses (LPNs), nurse aides, kitchen workers, cooks, maids, porters, dieticians, etc. in nursing homes.
- April 1965 (Bulletin 1492)
- October 1967 and April 1968 (Bulletin 1638)

Paint and varnish manufacturing wages
- April-May 1961 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Dec 1961)
Paper industry wages
- Pulp, Paper, and Paperboard Mills
  - January 1962 (Bulletin 1341)
Petroleum
- Refining industry wages
  - December 1965 (Bulletin 1526)
- Crude petroleum and natural gas production industry wages
  - August 1967 (Bulletin 1566)
Physicians' income
Source: Income of physicians, osteopaths and dentists from professional practice
- 1965-1969 - Median net income by type of practice, p. 22
- 1968 - Net and gross income by area of specialization, p. 29
- 1965-1969 - Osteopath income, pp. 51-55
Police and Highway Patrol - Salaries
- "...the median annual salary for a patrolman in a large city today is $5,300.... An FBI agent starts at $8,421 a year and if he serves long and well enough can reach $16,905 a year...." Source: Proceedings of the First National Conference on Crime Control (1967), p. 157.
- Detailed 1967 Survey of salaries and working conditions published by the Fraternal Order of Police shows pay and benefits for patrolmen, police chiefs, captains, lieutenants and sergeants. Broken out by cities of various sizes. Table for police departments extends from pages 63-101 in this source. Find State Police and Highway Patrol salaries on pages 102-103. This salary report was included as part of a U.S. congressional hearing.
Postal service jobs
- 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 47)
Printing trades - Union wages and hours
Covers wages for bindery workers, bookbinders, mailers, compositors, electrotypers, machinists, photoengravers, press assistants, pressmen, lithography artists, cameramen, lithography platemakers, and newspaper work (day and night).
- 1960-1961
- 1962-1963
- 1964-1965
- 1965-1966
- 1966-1967
- 1967-1968
- 1968-1969

Retail trade, employee hours and earnings
Includes breakouts for different types of retail stores (hardware stores, dime stores, grocery stores, household appliance stores, furniture stores, shoe stores, drug stores, gasoline service stations, clothing stores, car dealerships, etc.) as well as breakouts for men and women employees and for size of city.
- 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966

Sawmilling [and logging] - West coast
Shows earnings of loggers, lumber stackers, sawmill workers and other occupations within the lumber industry such as truck drivers, engineers, bulldozer operators, mechanics, repairmen for heavy equipment, etc. Gives earning by region and forest type.
- June 1964 (Bulletin 1455)
- October 1969 (Bulletin 1704)
Sawmills and planing mills job wages
- October 1965 (Bulletin 1519)
- October 1969 (Bulletin 1694)
Scientist salaries in federal government
- 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, p. 53 and p. 55)
Seafaring wage rates
Shows wages for captains, masters, mates, pilots, seamen, stewards, cooks, engineers, electricians, radio officers, pursers, boatswains, bartenders, waiters, bellboys, laundrymen, etc. for both passenger and freight ships. Source: Dept of Commerce.
- 1964, 1967, 1968
Secretary and office personnel wages in federal government
- 1961 (Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers)
- 1969 (Source: Kiplinger Magazine's Changing Times)
Social workers' median annual salaries
- 1960 data reported in the Health manpower source book, U.S, Dept of Health, Education and Welfare
Steel industry wages
- Steel, Fabricated Structural
  - October-November 1964 (Bulletin 1463)
  - October 1969 (Bulletin 1695)
- Steel industry, basic
  Wages for employees working in steel mills, foundries, etc.
  - September 1967 (Bulletin 1602)
Surveyor earnings
- According to the Department of Labor, the entry salary for surveyors in 1967 was between $530 and $600. Top surveyors for the federal government could make over $20,000 a year. Source: Kiplinger Magazine's Changing Times

Telephone company worker wages - 1969
Occupations included telephone operators, telephone installation and maintenance employees, clerical staff, etc.
- 1969 wages from a Federal Communications Commission publication
Textile dying and finishing wages
- April-May 1961 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Dec 1961)
Textile mills
- May 1963 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, June 1964)
  - Cotton
  - Synthetic
Theatrical occupations
- Pay in off-Broadway, early 1960s
  Source: "The Financial aspects...," Chapter 7 in Off-Broadway theater (1962)
Transit (local) - Union wages and hours
Wages for bus drivers, trolley, cable car "gripmen" and conductors (in San Francisco), subway and elevated train operators, platform workers, and other jobs. Specifically names bus and coach companies in various cities and tells the wages for personnel with various levels of experience.
- 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969
Truck drivers and helpers - Union wages and hours
Shows earnings for truckers and truck drivers, along with workers who did not drive but helped with loading and unloading. Breakouts for type of business served, for example, department stores, breweries, moving companies, furniture delivery, appliance delivery, etc. Includes breakouts for cities with 500,000 or more population.
- 1960-1968

Variety stores, limited price - employee earnings
- 1961-1966 It seems this source would tell wages for stores like Woolworth's or "dime stores" also known as "Five and dime" or "five and ten cent" stores. The source also gives wage data for employees in department stores.
Veterinarians' pay - 1960
- Government figures are quoted in the book Careers in Veterinary Medicine privately published in 1963; see page 16.
- Pay rates for veterinarians working in the U.S. Agricultural Research Service were listed in a 1961 career opportunities brochure.
- The starting salary for veterinarians in 1966 was around $7,700.

Zookeeper pay
Zookeepers in 1966 made between $2.40 and $3.15 an hour. For instance, a zookeeper then at the St. Louis Zoo started at $3.50 a week in the early 60's.

Hundreds of occupations - Expected earnings, 1960s
The 1969 Occupational Outlook Handbook discusses each occupation in short chapters. Many of these include a section titled 'Earnings and Working Conditions." Use the Table of Contents to find a page number, then enter it in the "Jump to" box. Shows typical earnings for what seems almost every occupation. An advantage of this source is that it often tells the difference between starting salary and earnings made by more experienced workers.
Average earnings by industry, varying dates up to 1990
The start date for wage data in each industry varies, but most date back to at least the 1960s. Lists average hourly wages and other earnings data for taxicab and bus drivers, truckers, telephone operators, employees in bakeries, gasoline service stations, shoe stores, bars and restaurants, book stores, and many more. Also includes earnings for bankers, beauticians, photographers, morticians, advertising agency employees, private detectives, auto mechanics, nurses, hospital employees, lawyers, etc. Consider using the magnifying glass (search) icon to look for a keyword in the text. Source: Employment, Hours, and Earnings, United States, 1909-90, BLS Bulletin no. 2370, vol. 2.
Federal white collar employees - Average salaries by occupation, 1961
Hundreds of occupations listed. See salaries on the odd-numbered pages between pp. 46-61. Source: Occupations of federal white collar workers, 1961. Find salary data for 1966-1969 by checking later editions of this same source.
Wage trends at selected major corporations and companies
Wage rates at selected large U.S. companies from the late 1930s-1970s. Source: Wage Chronologies series from the U.S. BLS.
more...less...
General Motors, Chrysler Corp., Lockheed Aircraft Corporation, Berkshire Hathaway, Swift, Armour, United States Steel Corporation, Carolina Coach Co., Western Greyhound Bus Lines, International Harvester Company, International Shoe Co., Bethlehem Atlantic shipyards, Sinclair Oil Companies, Pacific Coast Shipbuilding, Massachusetts Shoe Manufacturing, Ford Motor Company, International Paper Co., Aluminum Company of America, Rockwell International, Boeing, Western Union Telegraph Co. and more.
White-collar salaries, 1963
Shows the average monthly salary for white-collar jobs in 9 different professions. Source: BLS Monthly labor review, Nov 1963.
White-collar salaries, 1969
Shows the average monthly salary for white-collar jobs in 9 different professions. Source: BLS Monthly labor review, Apr 1970.

Manufacturing wages, 1960-1969

WAGES in MANUFACTURING, 1960s -- General sources

See tabs above for specific industries

Employee earnings in manufacturing industries, 1954-2007
Shows breakouts by state and major cities. Select any year from 1954-2007. Look for tables describing EARNINGS expressed in "current dollars."
Manufacturing and industry jobs - Hours and earnings
This publication "Employment, Hours, and Earnings, United States, 1909-90" shows average hourly or weekly wages in both "current" and "constant" (1982) dollars. Data is listed by industry and broken out by sex, but not by occupation. Volume I lists wages for goods-producing industries; Volume II for service industries. Link for Volume II
more...less...
Source: Employment, Hours, and Earnings, United States, 1909-90 : Bulletin of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics, No. 2370 : Volume I
Manufacturing job wages reported by the month, 1939-1968
Reports for both durable and non-durable goods. The non-durable category was dominated by the apparel manufacturing industry (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin no. 1616).

WAGES in CIGAR and CIGARETTE MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Unless noted otherwise, the following bulletins are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Cigar manufacturing job wages
Wages for cigar makers, cigar packers, etc.
- April-May 1964 (Bulletin 1436)
- March 1967 (Bulletin 1581)
Cigarette manufacturing wages
Shows wages for factory workers who produced cigarettes, as well as for truckers, machinists, electricians, carpenters, custodians, etc.
- July- August 1965 (Bulletin 1472)

WAGES in CLOTHING MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Unless noted otherwise, the following bulletins are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Clothing and footwear manufacture - Hours, wages and earnings
Employees who sewed clothing could be paid wages by the hour, and could receive additional incentive based on a piecework model. Many garment workers were unionized. The following reports tell hours, wages and earnings for employees in these industries.
- Footwear
  - April 1965 (Bulletin 1503)
  - March 1968 (Bulletin 1634)
- Hosiery
  - September-October 1964 (Bulletin 1456)
- Men’s and Boys’ Shirts (Except Work Shirts) and Nightwear
  - April-June 1964 (Bulletin 1457)
  - October 1968 (Bulletin 1659)
- Men’s and Boys’ Suits and Coats
  - April 1967 (Bulletin 1594)
- Women’s and Misses’ Coats and Suits
  - August 1965 (Bulletin 1508)
- Women’s and Misses’ Dresses
  - March 1966 (Bulletin 1538)
  - August 1968 (Bulletin 1649)
- Work Clothing (manufacture of overalls, coveralls, dungarees, work shirts and work pants)
  - May-June 1964 (Bulletin 1440)
  - February 1968 (Bulletin 1624)

WAGES in FERTILIZER MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Source: Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Fertilizer manufacturing industry wages
- March-April 1966 (Bulletin 1531)

WAGES in FOOD MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Unless noted otherwise, the following bulletins are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Food production job wages
- Candy and other confectionery products
  Wages for candymakers, machinists, hand dippers, wrapping machine operators, etc.
  - September 1965 (Bulletin 1520)
- Dairy
  Wages for milkmen, dairy workers, delivery truck drivers, etc.
  - September-October 1964 (Bulletin 1464)
- Flour and other grain mill products
  - February 1967 (Bulletin 1576)
- Meat products
  - January 1969 (Bulletin 1677)

WAGES in FURNITURE MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Unless noted otherwise, the following bulletins are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Wood household furniture factory job wages
Though carpenters are not listed as such, this document tells the rate of pay for all typical occupations in wood furniture factories, from gluers to assemblers to hand sanders.
- May-June 1965 (Bulletin 1496)
- October 1968 (Bulletin 1651)

WAGES in INDUSTRIAL CHEMICAL MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Source: Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Industrial chemicals
- November 1965 (Bulletin 1529)

WAGES in MACHINERY MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Unless noted otherwise, the following bulletins are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Machinery Manufacturing
- April-June 1965 (Bulletin 1476)
- September-November 1968 (Bulletin 1664)

WAGES in MOTOR-VEHICLE MANUFACTURING, 1960s

Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Motor Vehicles and Parts
- April 1969 (Bulletin 1679)

WAGES in PAINT and VARNISH MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Source: Industry Wage Survey from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Paints and varnish factory job wages
- November 1965 (Bulletin 1524)

WAGES in PAPER PRODUCT MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Source: Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Paper products industry wages
- Paperboard Containers and Boxes
  - November 1964 (Bulletin 1478)

WAGES in PLASTIC PRODUCT MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Unless noted otherwise, the following bulletins are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Plastic product manufacture job wages
Wages for factory workers in the plastics industry.
- June 1964 (Bulletin 1439)
- August 1969 (Bulletin 1690)

WAGES in STRUCTURAL CLAY MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Unless noted otherwise, the following bulletins are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Structural clay products industry wages
- July-August 1964 (Bulletin 1459)
- September 1969 (Bulletin 1697)

WAGES in TEXTILE MANUFACTURING, 1960s

See tabs above for additional industries

Unless noted otherwise, the following bulletins are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

Textile and fiber industry wages
- Cotton Textiles
  - September 1965 (Bulletin 1506)
- Synthetic Fibers
  - February-April 1966 (Bulletin 1540)
- Synthetic Textiles
  - September 1965 (Bulletin 1509)
- Textile Dyeing and Finishing
  - Winter 1965-66 (Bulletin 1527)
- Wool Textiles
  - November 1966 (Bulletin 1551)

Foreign wages by country, 1960-1969

Wage/hour standards in foreign countries
Narrative discusses some foreign countries' labor laws on wages, hours and related topics. Source: U.S. BLS Bulletin, No. 1610

Japan - Earnings of college-educated men, 1955-1980
This article discusses the earnings of college educated men in Japan following the lifetime employment pattern; table 2 on page 33 shows monthly real wages by industry for select years 1955-1980 (source).
Japan - Manufacturing wages and supplements, 1958 & 1964
This 4 page article breaks down wage composition in comparison to the US. Charts 1 & 2 show hourly and yearly earnings respectively for both years. Source: BLS Monthly Labor Review, May 1967

Foreign exchange rates - 1960's
Shows the value of multiple currencies in US dollars in the years of 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969. Source: Director of the US Mint

Non-wage income, 1960-1969

Social Security - Average monthly benefit, 1960-1969
See payment data for retired, survivors, disabled, etc. in 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969. Source: Social security bulletin, v. 23-32

Food prices in the United States, 1960-1969

Grocery shopping, 1965 (image source)
Retail food prices in cities - National average, 1962-1967
Simple, single-page table shows retail price in cents, with data back to 1940. See data collection methodology in the Jan 1965 MLR.
Food price averages for each year from 1890-1970
One-page table shows 80 years of average retail prices for bread, milk, eggs and other common food items. See page 193 of this source for detail on how the data was collected.
Food - Retail prices by city, 1963-1978
Detailed food prices in 20 American cities.
Food prices, 1947-1964
Retail and wholesale prices for many foods on pp. 14-45 in this source.

Average grocery prices paid in rural areas (by farm families). Source: USDA.
- 1960 -- National averages by type of food. This table has data for each year back to 1910. Source: USDA report, pp. 7-22.
- 1965 -- With state breakouts. Source: USDA report, pp. 59-71. See additional years.
- 1965-1966 -- Single-page table is very concise.
Retail food prices compared to the farmer's share, 1969
Souce: Congressional report (source).

6-packs cost an average $1.27 in 1966
Beer, wine and liquor retail prices - Urban areas, 1966
Average retail price for a 6-pack of beer, a fifth gallon of liquor, and a fifth gallon of wine. Shows prices in prices in New York City, Washington DC, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco and also the nationwide average.

Beer prices - Rural areas, by state
Prices paid by farmers for 6-packs of beer in 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969. Source: Agricultural prices annual summary, USDA Crop Reporting Board.

Housing, real estate and utility costs, 1960-1969

Median home values by state, 1940-2000
Median home values for states and for the U.S. as a whole. Source: U.S. Census of Housing, choose unadjusted figures.
Homeownership costs by metro area, 1966
Shows estimated purchase price of houses in 1961-1962, the average mortgage payment and annual property taxes.

Median gross rent by state, 1940-2000
Gross rent is defined as "the monthly amount of rent plus the estimated average monthly cost of utilities (electricity, gas, water and sewer) and fuels (oil, coal, kerosene, wood, etc.). This source shows data by state and for the U.S. as a whole. Source: U.S. Census of Housing, choose unadjusted figures.
Rents by metro area, 1966
The annual rental costs in this table include utilities: water, heat, light, cooking fuel and refrigeration.
Monthly rent - 1940, 1950, 1960
Shows percentage of households paying monthly rent in various price ranges. These are simple nationwide figures.
Monthly rent by occupation and sex - 1960
Shows median rent paid by males beginning on page 502; then median rent paid by female householders by occupation starting on page 506. Source: 1960 Census of population.

Farm real estate - Average value by state and county, 1964
Shows average value for farm land and buildings from 1850-1982. Use the following hyperlinks to see values for AL,AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY. See data considerations for explanation. Source: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture report.
Farm real estate values in Midwestern states, 1912-2019
Includes both land and buildings. Compares to national averages. Source: USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service.

Building material prices paid by farmers, 1910-1960
Details the price of various building materials on pp. 59-71. Source: USDA
Building material prices paid by farmers, 1965
Details the price of various building materials on pp. 106-119. Other years are available here. Source: USDA

Utilities - Household expenditures by metro area, 1966
Average monthly payments for electricity, gas, fuel oil, water, and sewer in 40 metro areas.
Electric bills, residential 1959-1988
Shows average electric bills for residential as well as commercial and industrial customers.
Fuel prices paid by farmers, 1910-1960
Prices of coal and wood on page 43. Source: USDA

Travel & transportation prices, 1960-1969

New car price ranges by manufacturer, 1965-1981
Shows high and low manufacturer suggested retail prices (MSRP) for new cars, both domestic and imported. Source: U.S. International Trade Commission report, pp. 64-73.
Most popular cars, with prices - 1961
Source: Popular mechanics annual auto issue, Jan 1961
- Domestic cars, pp. 169-178
- Imported cars, pp. 179-184
Price of specific cars in the 1960s
Original manufacturer suggested retail prices (MSRP) for 1960s cars and trucks are available on the J.D. Power website. Choose a manufacturer, year, and body type. Select a car then enter any zip code, then click "Get base values."
Used car suggested prices, 1967-1969
N.A.D.A. guides show average used car values by make, model and age of vehicle.
Automotive repair labor costs, 1962
Shows the median hourly charge that customers were billed for car repair at shops in Cleveland. Also shows a table giving prices for parts and labor for various makes of cars. Source: congressional hearing titled Automotive Repair Industry.
New and used cars, trucks and automotive supplies - Prices paid by farmers
- 1935-1960
  Automobiles on p. 73; tractors and trucks on pp. 104-105. Source: USDA
- 1910-1960
  New tires, batteries, spark plugs, etc. on pp. 99-102. Source: USDA
- 1965, by state
  Prices on pp. 120-126. Other years are available as well. Source: USDA

Farmers paid
31-32¢ per gallon
for gas in 1960
Image source

Price of gasoline, 1949-2011
Table shows "Nominal price" paid by the consumer at the time of the transaction. Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration.
Price of gasoline and car mechanic services in cities, 1966
Average retail price for gasoline, motor oil, tires, batteries, lubrication, motor tune-up, front end alignment, etc.
Gasoline prices paid by farmers, reported by state, 1960
Average prices paid at the filling station, by the gallon. Provides state breakouts and a nationwide average. On the following pages in this source, find prices for motor oil, diesel fuel, tires and inner tubes. This is all in Table #62, "Motor Supplies" beginning on page 108 of the source.
Gasoline, fuel and oil prices paid by farmers, 1951
Source: Congressional hearing titled Farm Cost-Price Squeeze, 1961.

Railroad passenger ticket prices, 1950s-1960s
See fare tables from a variety of railway companies scanned and available on the "Welcome to the Ticket Office" page on the StreamlinerSchedules.com website.

Airfares from New York to cities in Europe
Fares listed in book published 1961.
Air fares, 1960s
Many airlines' timetables listed passenger fares, usually after the flight schedules. Contact us if you need assistance.
Air travel - Average fare expressed in cents per mile, 1946-1966
Find historical airfare rates in Forecast of scheduled domestic air passenger traffic..., published by the Civil Aeronautics Board.

Cost to travel by ship to Europe
This tourist publication shows ticket prices. Source: Budget guide to Europe, by Howard and Adelaide Stein (1961).
- Cost to travel by ship to Europe
- Cost of tickets by the boat and steamship line

More prices in the United States, 1960-1969

PRICES for CLOTHING, 1960s

Clothing and shoe prices in major U.S. cities - 1966
Shows average retail prices for selected items including breakouts for prices in New York City, Washington DC, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco in addition to a nationwide average. Source: City worker's family budget pricing...: Autumn 1966.
- Men's clothing prices, 1966
  Average retail price of a topcoat, suit, dress slacks, dress shirt, work trousers, work shirt, street shoes, work shoes, felt hat and more.
- Women's apparel prices, 1966
  Average price for a heavyweight coat, car coat, street dress, house dress, girdle, nightgown, pajamas, nylon hose, street shoes, hat and more.
- Boy’s clothing prices, 1966
  Average price for a boy’s dungarees, sport shirt, street shoes, sneakers and more.
- Girl's apparel prices, 1966
  Average price for a dress, skirt, blouse, robe, anklets, street shoes and more.
Clothing and shoe prices paid by farmers, 1957-1966
Provides average retail prices paid by farming families for men's, women's, boy's and girl's clothing and shoes. Source: USDA.
Clothing prices paid by farmers, 1910-1960
Details the price of clothing by gender on pp. 25-38. Source: USDA
Clothing prices paid by farmers, 1965
Details the price of clothing by gender on pp. 75-90 with breakouts by state. Other years are available as well. Source: USDA

PRICES for MERCHANDISE, 1960s

City worker's family budget pricing ... 1966
Shows average retail prices for selected household items purchased in New York City, Washington DC, Dallas, Chicago and San Francisco. Source: BLS Bulletin, #1570-3.
- Electrical appliance prices - Vacuum cleaner, clothes washing machine, toaster, iron, refrigerator and gas or electric range.
- Newspaper, radio, phonograph, record album and TV
- Furniture prices
- Housewares and cleaning supplies prices - Carpet sweeper, dishes, lamps, light bulbs, laundry soap, detergent, cleaners, toilet tissue and more.
- Personal grooming products prices - Toothpaste, shampoo, soap, tissues, home hair permanent kits and more.
- Household linens, curtains, rugs etc. prices
Retail prices in New York City, May 1961
Prices are reported and methodology described on pages 8-9 of this statistical report from the United Nations (source).
Mail order catalogs for Christmas, 1960s
WishbookWeb.com is a site that displays complete, historic mail order catalogs in color and offers keyword searching in the full text. Retailers include Sears, JCPenney, and FAO Schwarz.
Common household item prices paid by farmers, 1957-1966
Tables show the average retail prices paid by farmers for household electrical items such as televisions, refrigerators, home freezers, air conditioners, washing machines and clothes dryers, toasters, irons, stoves, electric window fans and gas ranges.
Prices paid by farmers for household items, 1910-1960
Prices of appliances, furniture, and more household items on pp. 45-57. Source: USDA
Prices paid by farmers for household items, 1965
Details the prices of appliances, furniture, and more household items on pp. 91-105. Observations are divided by state and month. Other years are available here. Source: USDA

PRICES for TOBACCO PRODUCTS, 1960s

Cigarettes, cigars and pipe tobacco - Urban prices, 1966
Retail prices for cigarettes by the carton, cigars, and pipe tobacco in NYC, Chicago, Dallas, San Francisco and Washington DC. Source: U.S. BLS.
Cigarettes, etc. - Rural prices by state, 1960s
Average retail prices paid by farmers for a 20-pack of cigarettes, a carton of cigarettes or a 1-lb. package of smoking tobacco. 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969. See also prices leading up to 1960. Source: USDA.

HEALTH and MEDICINE COSTS, 1960s

Medical service costs by city, 1960
Shows the average rates for hospital rooms, doctor visits, house calls and the average costs for obstetrical cases, appendectomies, tonsillectomies and tooth fillings in twenty American cities. Source: 1962 Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Medical / health care prices - 1966
Lists average price of doctor visits, hospital stays, and dental services such as fillings, tooth extraction and teeth cleaning. Also shows cost for eye exams and eyeglasses.
Hospitalization, cost per day in 1960, 1963, 1966, and 1969
For the cost per day to stay in a hospital, see column labeled "current dollars," as that refers to the dollar cost at the time. Compares the cost of a hospital stay from 1950 to 1976. See page 31 for a chart showing how much of this cost was paid by insurance.
Prescription drugs - Retail price average, 1960-1970
Prescription prices ranged from $3 to $4 during the 1960s. Source: Medical care costs and prices: background book, p. 66.
Cost of treatment for selected medical conditions, 1964 and 1971
Table shows average cost to receive maternity care, get treated for appendicitis, breast cancer, heart attack (myocardial infarction), pneumonia, and duodenal ulcer. Also shows the average cost for a child to be treated for a forearm fracture or an ear infection (otitis media). Also shows average length of hospital stay for relevant conditions.

PRICES for SERVICES, 1960s

Price of a haircut - 1966
Average price of men’s and boy’s haircuts; price of a women’s haircut, permanent wave and for shampoo and style service. Also shows the price of an at-home hair permanent kit. Data shown for five major U.S. cities as well as a nationwide average.
Funerals - Average charges, 1960-1964
- Funeral director average service prices including use of facility and casket. source: Antitrust aspects of the funeral industry. Casket costs are also listed by state.
- Average adult funeral costs in 1960-1962 discussed in High cost of dying by Harmer (source)

COST of a COLLEGE EDUCATION, 1960s

In 1962, 21% of people aged 18-24 were enrolled in school (U.S. Census) and 8.9% of people aged 25 years or older have completed 4 years (U.S. Census, Table A-2).

Average college tuition and fees, 1961-1962
Average costs for for full-time undergraduate students in institutions of higher education, by region, and by type and control of institution (universities, liberal arts colleges, teacher colleges, theological schools, technical schools and professional schools.) Average room and board in dormitories is shown in the following page in the source.
Tuition, fees, room and board at each institution - 1962-1963
Gives rates for each and every institution of higher education in a long list. Includes junior colleges, universities, teacher colleges, theological colleges, technical colleges and professional schools. Chapter 2 covers tuition and fees and spans page 5-13 in this source. Chapter 3 covers room and board; it spans pages 14-17 in the source. Find similar data for the rest of the 1960s in other editions of this source.
Median college tuition, fees, room and board, 1963-1964
Shows data for junior colleges, universities, liberal arts colleges, teacher colleges, theological colleges, technical colleges and professional schools.
National average cost of college, 1964-1988
Shows national average college costs of tuition and fees, room and board for each academic school year. Some of this data is discussed in a congressional staff report on the rising cost of college.

TELEPHONE and POSTAGE RATES

Telephone service (residential line) - Monthly cost
Phone service averaged $5/month in 1965
Chart at bottom of page 19 shows the average monthly rates for phone service in New York City, Washington DC, Dallas, Chicago and San Francisco in addition to the nationwide average. Source: City worker's family budget pricing, procedures, specifications, and average prices, BLS Bulletin no. 1570-3.
Long distance telephone rates from Washington DC, 1969
"Station-to-station" calls cost less than "person-to-person" calls; see p. 138. Source: 1969 congressional hearing, p. 137-138.
Cost to mail a letter or postcard, 1863-present
Source: the Historian of the U.S. Postal Service.

HOTEL RATES and VACATIONS

Hotel rates - U.S. and foreign, 1962
Hotel rates are listed alphabetically by state and foreign countries in the Travelguide series.
Tourist costs in Europe, ca. 1960
Cost of hotel rooms, restaurant meals, entertainment, etc. by country.

Tractor and farm equipment prices, 1960
Prices of cultivators, planters, disk harrows, etc. and tractors including brands such as John Deere, J. I. Case, Allis Chalmers along with prices for individual model numbers are in tables on pages 147 to 149. Source: Congressional hearing.
Farm machinery prices paid by farmers, 1965
Shows prices by state for farm machinery and tools on pp. 127-132. Additional years are available. Source: USDA.

MISCELLANEOUS PRICES, 1960s

Movie admission, ticket price - 1966
Tells average price for an adult or child's ticket to see a motion picture in New York City, Washington DC, Dallas, Chicago and San Francisco, and also shows the nationwide average.
Tractor and farm equipment prices, 1960
Prices of cultivators, planters, disk harrows, etc. and tractors including brands such as John Deere, J. I. Case, Allis Chalmers along with prices for individual model numbers are in tables on pages 147 to 149. Source: Congressional hearing.
Price of gold per ounce, 1968-1998
Annual data for 1968-1998 plus narrative information on historical gold prices back to the 1700s. Tells the eras in which "a man could buy a fine suit of clothes" with one ounce of gold. Source: U.S. Geological Survey publication, Metal prices in the United States through 1998

Consumer expenditures and cost of living, 1960-1969

Standards of living for an urban family of four, 1967
Shows how much a family of four would need to spend on food, housing medical care, life insurance, personal income taxes, social security taxes and more. Detailed itemization for spending categories and cities begins on page 15.
Retired couples' budgets in urban areas, 1967
The Bureau of Labor Statistics calculated how much a retired couple would need to live in at three standards of living: low, medium and high. Budgets are broken out by how much the couple might need for food, clothes, medical care, transportation, and more. Detailed itemization for spending categories and cities begins on page 12.

Inflation and buying power, 1960s

Calculator: Present-day worth of a past amount of money
The MeasuringWorth.com website provides online calculators, guides and tutorials to help researchers understand the current-day value of historic money in the United States, Australia, Spain and the United Kingdom.
Currency converter, 1270–2017
This calculator can be used to determine the historical purchasing power of currency in the United Kingdom from 1270 to 2017. Purchasing power is represented in its equivalence in horses, wheat, the yearly wages of a skilled tradesperson, and others.
Consumer Price Index (CPI) Inflation Calculator
This calculator allows you to compare the buying power of wages earned at different points in history. For example, a dollar earned in 2016 had the same buying power as 4 cents in 1913. Conversely, a dollar earned in 1913 had the same buying power as $24.24 in the year 2016.

What is the Consumer Price Index (CPI)?

"The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of consumer goods and services" with respect to a given base year with value 100. Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics

What is inflation?

As measured with CPI, it is the percent change in the CPI between two different years, showing the "annual percentage change in the cost to the average consumer of acquiring a basket of goods and services". Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

CPI Inflation Formula: CPI_x-1-CPI_x ⁄_{CPI_x}*100

CPI & inflation rate, 1800-2021
Shows both average annual CPI and the yearly inflation rate in the US. The base year for CPI is 1967. Note that all CPI before 1913 is a rough estimate. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Consumer price index, 1960-1969
Shows the average CPI for all items and urban consumers. The base year is 1982-1984. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Inflation rate, 1960-1969
Shows the yearly inflation rate for all consumer prices in the US. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Foreign prices by country, 1960s

Retail prices and cost of living in foreign countries
1960: Brazil, Mexico.
1961: Argentina, Costa Rica, Haiti, Paraguay
1962: Brazil, Nicaragua, Peru, Venezuela.
more...less...
Shows cost of a hotel stay, housing, price of home furnishings, electricity, telephone service or call from a phone booth, food, clothing, education, hospitalization, doctor and dentist visits, theater tickets, cigarettes, haircuts, laundry service, cost to hire domestic help such as cooks and gardeners, services such as shoe repair and tailoring, school tuition, transportation costs such as gasoline, automobile tires, spark plugs, licenses and insurance, public transportation fares, postage rates and more. Prices are expressed in American dollars or native currency as reported in these U.S. Dept of Commerce, Bureau of Foreign Commerce publications. Exchange rates are included.
Retail prices in foreign cities, 1960-1961
Prices were collected and reported by the United Nations. This source also provides a list of foreign currency exchange rates.

Argentina: Buenos Aires
Chile: Santiago
Colombia: Bogota
Costa Rica: San Jose
Guatemala: Guatemala City
Mexico: Mexico City
Peru: Lima

Gasoline - International retail prices, 1960
For each country, shows retail price to the consumer expressed as U.S. cents per gallon. Includes foreign exchange rate. Source: World retail prices and taxes on gasoline, kerosine.... U.S. Bureau of Mines.
more...less...
Includes Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Ceylon, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Fiji Islands, France, French Guiana, French West Africa, French West Indies, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Korea, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Republic of South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Yugoslavia.

Retail prices and cost of living in foreign countries
1960: Netherlands, Turkey.
1961: Belgium, France, Switzerland.
1962: United Kingdom.
more...less...
This source shows costs of a hotel stay, renting, price of home furnishings, electricity, telephone service or call from a phone booth, food, clothing, education, hospitalization, doctor and dentist visits, theater tickets, cigarettes, haircuts, laundry service, cost to hire domestic help such as cooks and gardeners, services such as shoe repair and tailoring, school tuition, transportation costs such as gasoline, automobile tires, spark plugs, licenses and insurance, public transportation fares, postage rates and more. Prices are expressed in American dollars or native currency as reported in these U.S. Dept of Commerce, Bureau of Foreign Commerce publications. Exchange rates are included.
Retail prices in foreign cities, 1960-1961
Prices were collected and reported by the United Nations. This source also provides a list of foreign currency exchange rates.

Austria: Vienna
Denmark: Copenhagen
France: Paris
Italy: Rome
Netherlands: The Hague
Switzerland: Geneva

Tourism prices in Scandinavian countries, 1962
This Complete reference guide to Scandinavia was published in 1962 by Pan American Airways. Use the Table of Contents to find a chapter or page.
Hotel rooms, restaurant meals, etc. by country in Europe, ca. 1960
American tourist guidebook shows hotel rates and other typical prices for tourists.
Rail and air passenger fares in Europe, ca. 1960
Shows the price of train tickets between London, Munich, Paris, Copenhagen, Rome, Madrid and other cities. There is also a table showing airfares between many of the same cities. Source: The Budget Guide to Europe published in New Jersey in 1961.

Rhodesia and Nyasaland - Prices and cost of living, 1961
Cost of a hotel stay, housing, price of home furnishings, electricity, telephone service or call from a phone booth, food, clothing, education, hospitalization, doctor and dentist visits, theater tickets, cigarettes, haircuts, laundry service, cost to hire domestic help such as cooks and gardeners, services such as shoe repair and tailoring, school tuition, transportation costs such as gasoline, automobile tires, spark plugs, licenses and insurance, public transportation fares, postage rates and more. Prices are expressed in American dollars or native currency as reported in these U.S. Dept of Commerce, Bureau of Foreign Commerce publications. Exchange rates are included.

Prices and cost of living in foreign countries
1960: Iran, Turkey.
1961: Hong Kong, Thailand.
more...less...
Shows cost of a hotel stay, housing, price of home furnishings, electricity, telephone service or call from a phone booth, food, clothing, education, hospitalization, doctor and dentist visits, theater tickets, cigarettes, haircuts, laundry service, cost to hire domestic help such as cooks and gardeners, services such as shoe repair and tailoring, school tuition, transportation costs such as gasoline, automobile tires, spark plugs, licenses and insurance, public transportation fares, postage rates and more. Prices are expressed in American dollars or native currency as reported in these U.S. Dept of Commerce, Bureau of Foreign Commerce publications. Exchange rates are included.
Retail prices in foreign cities, 1960-1961
Prices were collected and reported by the United Nations. This source also provides a list of foreign currency exchange rates.

India: New Delhi
Iran: Teheran
Iraq: Baghdad
Lebanon: Beirut
Pakistan: Karachi
Turkey: Ankara
United Arab Republic: Cairo

Foreign exchange rates - 1960s
Shows the value of multiple currencies in US dollars in the years of 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969. Source: Director of the US Mint.

Quotable facts for the 1960-1969 decade

In the United States...

Minimum wage was $1 per hour in 1960. Source: U.S. Dept of Labor
HOUSING
- Homes had a median value of $11,900 in 1960. Source: US Census Bureau
- "New home buyers of the 1950s and 1960s predominantly were first-time buyers in their early 20s with only one income." Source: U.S. GAO report, p. 8.
TRANSPORTATION
- In 1960, 47% of car buyers made the purchase in cash. Source: Census
- 2.5% of households in 1960 had 3 or more vehicles, compared to 21.9% in 2018
- Gasoline cost an average of 31¢ per gallon in 1960. Source: U.S. EIA
Education at 4-year public colleges and universities cost an average of $929 for tuition, fees, room & board in 1963-64. Source: U.S. Dept of Education.
Milk cost an average of 52¢ per half gallon in 1960. Source: U.S. BLS
Coffee cost an average of 75¢ per pound in 1960. Source: U.S. BLS
Cigarettes cost an average 26¢ per pack (including tax) in 1960. Source: Congressional report.
Health care cost $124 per capita in the year 1960, compared to almost $10,000 per capita in 2019. Source: CDC
Hospital care cost $46.56 per capita in fiscal year 1959-60. Source: SSA

Ask a Question

Marie Concannon, Government Information Librarian
Government Documents Department, Ellis Library
University of Missouri, Columbia
Email: concannonm@missouri.edu
Phone (573) 882-0748