Special Collections holds modern manuscript materials in the form of books, correspondence, and personal papers. This guide focuses on the books and miscellaneous correspondence collections in the department. For manuscripts in collections of personal papers, see the list of finding aids.
Dictionnaire historique et geographique de la Suisse. N.p., n.d. 283 p.
RARE RES 914.94 D56
Homer. Selections. Compendium Homericum continens ex 27562 Iliados &c: et Odysseee versibus. Verus tantum 4074 (nec eos ubique intergros) in quibus appellativa utriusque Operis omnia, dialectj, et epitheta suis prout fierj potuit, annexa substantivis una cum versione latina Limatiore inveniuntur…. [London. 1699-1713] 3 vols. Greek and Latin manuscript. Inserted in vol. 1: a pamphlet containing a manuscript index.
RARE RES 888 H8co
Seville (Spain). Catedral. Tesoro de la Sta Iglesia Patriarchal y Metropolitana de la Ciudad de Sevilla / por Don Bernardo Luis de Castro Palacios, Maestro de Ceremonias de la dicha Santa Iglesia. [Seville?, 17??] vol. 2 (21 lines). Vol. 2 is a manuscript in cursive script on wove paper. Recounts events important of cathedral in calendar order: chronologically from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31st, but interfiling events of various years.
RARE RES DP402 .S45S4
Extrait des Registres du Parlement: du jeudi 29 décembre 1763 du matin, toutes les chambres assemblées. 376,  pp. A historical memoir of the origin, essence, and laws of Paris and the Parliament. Attributed to Monsieur Drouyn de Vandeuil, first President of the Parliament of Toulouse. Contains a history of France and register of French royalty. There is also an extract of the minutes of the French Parliament.
RARE FO KJV3747.F73 1763
Noyes James, The lucubrator; containing essays on various subjects. [1797?] 155 p., folded manuscript sheet laid in. Holograph? Each essay is dated, the first two only with the year 1794, most others with day and month. The final essay is dated August 25, 1797.
RARE PS811 .N75L8
Macedo, Jose Agostinho de. Assim o querem, assim o tenhao: Satira em o anno de 1811 … pelo Executor de alta Justica. Holograph? A poem. 19 p.
RARE RES PQ9261 .M2A8
Halford, Henry, Sir. An account of what appeared on opening the coffin of King Charles the First, in the vault of King Henry the Eighth in St. George’s Chapel at Windsor, on the first of April, MDCCXIII. London: Printed for White, Cochrane and Co., and J. Hatchard, 1813. After printed text is 22 pages of manuscript additions, copied from contemporary works. Manuscript notes on the title page read “Ex Libris Gulielmi Dewe, A.D. 1813”.
RARE DA396.A2 .H34 1813
Auchey-les-Moins. St. Silvin (Abbey). Cartulaire imprime de l’abbaye d’Auchy-les-Moins, copie en 1808 par M. L. A. Le Ver. Imprime en 1788 ou 1789. 1828? 629 p. Notes and folded map in pocket.
RARE RES 944.27 Au2
Brontë, Charlotte. The secret and Lily Hart : two tales / by Lord Charles Willsby [Charlotte Brontë]. Verdopolis [i.e. Haworth?], 1833.  p. 8 hand sewn leaves of Kraft paper 12 cm. x 11 cm. black ink wrapped in maroon morocco cover 31 cm. x 12.5 cm. magnifying glass. Manuscript signed at the end : Haworth, 1833, Charlotte Brontë. Written in an exceedingly minute hand, almost impossible to read without the aid of magnifying glass. In case: maroon morocco in brown upper case. On spine of the case: The secret. C. Brontë. On the bottom: Haworth 1833. On front cover of the manuscript big oval ink stain and 3 small ones, back cover has long 7.5 cm. ink stain and 2 small ones.
RARE RES PR4167 .S43
Shumard, Benjamin Franklin. Notes on geological survey of Missouri. 1856-1858. 3 vols.
RARE 557.78 Sh92n
Christoffel, Elwin Bruno. Infinitessimal geometrie. [between 1850 and 1900]  p. Paper; pencil (some ink) handwritten. Pages [80-96] blank. Arranged in five chapters; chapter four is in two parts; some pages are dated with month and day, not year. In German and English. May relate to the course “Infinitesimalgeometrie” Christoffel taught at the University of Strasbourg beginning in 1878. Cf. Butzer, P.L. E.B. Christoffel.
RARE QA615 .C45 1850
Lawson, John Davison. Whist bibliography. n.d. Manuscript copy.
RARE 016.795 L44
Palmer, William Kimberley. [Scrapbook] n.d. Loose-leaf notebook containing clippings, letters and miscellaneous material. It includes poems by W. K. Palmer, some of them autographed.
RARE PS3531.A4 S37
Field, Eugene. The monstrous pleasant ballad of the Taylor pup : original manuscript / by Eugene Field. 1894 May 5. 13 leaves, bound. Poem. Holograph signed. “I gave the printer’s copy to Harb Taylor,” signed E.F.–Leaf 1. Bound in dark blue morocco with gilt border and cover lettering; blue moire endpapers with external papers bordered in gilt lined morocco; last endpaper stamped “The Monastery Hill Bindery.”
RARE RES PS1667 .M66 1894
Severance, Henry O. (Henry Ormal). The public library as a factor in education (an essay). [Ann Arbor], University of Michigan, 1899. 29 p., iii leaves.
SPEC MU Z718 .S4
Académie de Toulouse cours secondaires de jeunes filles de Condom, cours préparatoire: exercises, 8 Octobre 1902-30 Juin 1903. 1903. 178 p. Compositions françaises — Orthographe — Exercices de grammaire — Anglais — Espagnol — Arithmétique.
RARE PC2111 .A258 1903
Severance, Henry O. (Henry Ormal). History of the Library of the University of Missouri. [Columbia], University of Missouri, 1911. 149 leaves. Typescript with author’s handwritten corrections; printed title page; 18 photographs, chiefly ports of librarians, tipped in; 1 of the 18 is wanting. Another typescript draft of the forward by President Jesse is laid in.
SPEC MU Z733 .M693S4 1911
Jesse, Mary Polk. The wind: a poem. The rain: a poem. 1920.  p. Pamphlet; paper; ink watercolors, hand-lettered hand-colored paper covers. A children’s book; probably a student project in the School of Education, University of Missouri-Columbia. Mary Polk Jesse was daughter of Richard Henry Jesse, president of the University of Missouri. Last four pages blank.
SPEC MU PE1119 .J47 1920
Wulfekammer, Verna M. (Verna Mary). Pottery. 300 leaves. Paper; typescript, ink handdrawn. Subject arrangement in chapters. Last leaf dated May 24, 1929. With numerous, detailed pen and ink drawings. Title handlettered within border, with title vignette.
SPEC MU TP808 .W8 1929
Williams, Tennessee. Beauty is the word. 13 leaves., illustrations. Columbia, Mo., 1930. Play submitted by Thomas Lanier Williams for the University of Missouri Dramatic Arts Club Dramatic Price Plays contest for 1930.
SPEC MU PS623 .D7 1930 no. 6
Wulfekammer, Verna M. (Verna Mary). Basketry. 160 leaves. Illustrations include detailed pen and ink drawings, one watercolor. Title within ornamental borders.
SPEC MU TT879 .B3W8 1930
Williams, Tennessee. Hot milk at three in the morning: a one act play. 8 leaves. Columbia, Mo., 1932. Play submitted by Thomas Lanier Williams for the University of Missouri Dramatic Arts Club Dramatic Price Plays contest for 1932.
SPEC MU PS623 .D7 1932 no. 13
Berry family. The Berry family history. 1936-1958. 6 vols. v. 1. Correspondence.–v.2. Information.–v.3. Book draft.–v.4. Other manuscripts.–v.5-6. Correspondence. Typescript (some carbon copies) and holograph correspondence of J. H. Berry, of L. E. Berry, and of M. R. Riley and other genealogical material used in preparation of: Hudson Berry and his descendants, by Lloyd E. Berry, and, A compilation of the Berry, Gaines, and Harrison families, by Mary R. Riley. Vol. 3 is a typescript draft of the book with 1956 copyright notice.
RARE CS71 .B526 1936
Gentry, North Todd. University building with nine names: paper. 1937. 9 leaves, 1 leaf of plates. Typescript, with photograph of painting. Building erected 1857 at 7th and Elm Streets, known successively as Primary School Building, English Building, President’s House, Normal School Building, Model School Building, English and Art Building, Medical Building (twice), and Library Building, and razed in 1903.
SPEC MU LD3475.M4 G4
Russell, Bertrand. How to Become a Philsopher. How to Become a Logician. How to Become a Mathematician. 1942. 95 leaves. Holographic manuscript of three essays published in pamphlet format as nos. 7, 8 and 9 of the “How-To Series” by E. Haldeman-Julius in 1943. Contains letter of donation from the publisher to the Missouri Academy of Sciences dated 1943. The published pamphlet is included in a pocket on the inside back cover.
RARE RES B1649.R91 H355 1942
Brabner, Joyce and Harvey Pekar. Our cancer year. 1992. 135, 132 leaves. Computer typescript. Script of comic book without illustrations, but with panels of illustrations numbered and indicated in script. Two versions of script with slight revisions. Without illustrations of Frank Stack.
COMIC RC265.6.F45 B73 1992[KBH3]
Hunt, Leigh. [Autograph letters and other Leigh Hunt material] 1 box.
The collection is organized into four series: correspondence, images of Leigh Hunt, fragments of writing, and miscellaneous documents. It includes letters written to and from Leigh Hunt, as well as letters authored by his son, Thornton Hunt. The collection also includes several letters written after Hunt's death that discuss his work. The writing fragments in the collection are largely authored by Leigh Hunt and include lists, indexes of texts, and pieces of personal writing and poetry. Additional details about the collection can be found in the catalog record.
VAULT PR4813 .A4 1823
Uncatalogued (Box 3): Miscellaneous, 20th C.:
Box 1: Letters and Printed Book Leaves