Country Information: Haiti: Home

Government Documents Home

Federal Government Databases

Primary Sources

Guides by Level of Government

• International
• US Federal
• Missouri
• Boone County & Columbia
• Other States

Topic Guides

• Census
• Declassified Documents
• Foreign Relations
• More Topic Guides

For Selective FDLs

• Dominican Republic and Haiti: Country Studies
  Library of Congress, 2001
• Background Notes: Haiti, March 1998
  U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Inter-American Affairs
• Country Health Statistical Reports: Haiti, reports 2002-2009
  U.S. Agency for International Development, 2009
• What is in Haiti's future?
  U.S. Institute of Peace, 2011
• Latin America, Haiti: Selected Statistical Data by Sex
  U.S. Agency for International Development, 1981
• Drug Activity in Haiti
  U.S. General Accounting Office, Office of Special Investigations, 1994
• The Population with Haitian Ancestry in the United States: 2009 (ACSBR/09-18)
  U.S. Bureau of the Census, 2010
• Education in the Republic of Haiti by George A. Dale
  U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare; Office of Education, 1959

• The Statesman's Yearbook: The Politics, Cultures, and Economies of the World
  A five-page overview of Key Historical Events, Social Statistics, Current Administration, Communications, Religion, Culture, and more. Latest edition available in MU Ellis Reference.
• Human Rights Watch World Report
  This series is published to defend the rights of people worldwide. The book contains 4-5 pages on the violation of human rights in Haiti and the events leading to the current problematic situations. Latest edition available in MU Ellis Reference.
• Europa World Yearbook, Volume 2
  Provides Introductory Survey of Location, Climate, Language, Religion, Flag, Capital, Contemporary Political History, and Economy. Also includes Statistical Survey of Transport, Industry, Education, Communication, and more. Latest edition available in MU Ellis Ready Reference.
• The Book of Rule: How the World is Governed
  Colorful one-page description of Haitian history and how the government functions under the category of democracy. 2004 edition available.
• The Dictionary of Contemporary Politics of Central America and the Caribbean
  This publication contains an entry with a brief description of the political system and organizations in Haiti. 1991 edition available.
• Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures, Volume 2
  The entry about Haiti briefly details its history and culture, with a separate entry describing the Haitian Creole language. 2000 edition available.
• Encyclopedia of the World's Nations, Volume 2
  Entry covers 29 subjects about Haiti including Geographical Features, Languages, Foreign Policy, Culture, Status of Women, and more. 2002 edition available.
• WorldMark Yearbook 2000, Volume 1
  Includes an Introductory Survey of the Country, 1999 Key Events Timeline, Analysis of 1999 Events, and a Directory of Government Officials and Political Organizations.
• Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, Volume 3
  An in-depth overview of Haiti's development as an independent democratic nation and cultural hub of the Caribbean. 1996 edition available.
• Political Handbook of the World
  Detailed description of Haiti's government and politics, focusing on political parties and legislative structure. Begins in 1975. Latest edition available in MU Ellis Ready Reference.
• Reader's Digest Guide to Places of the World
  This publication shows Haiti at a glance and specifically details the impact of voodoo and dictatorial presidency in earlier years. 1987 edition available.

• Haiti's Economic Challenge
  U.S. Institute of Peace, 2006
• Foreign Labor Trends: Haiti
  U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of International Labor Affairs, 1987-1999
• Haiti Economic and Infrastructure Reconstruction Act
  U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on International Relations, 2005
• Rebuilding Haiti in the Martelly Era
  U.S. Senate, Committee on Foreign Relations, 2011
• Rebuilding Haiti's Competitiveness and Private Sector
  U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Financial Services, 2010
• Haiti Debt Relief
  U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Financial Services, 2010
• Haitian Women: The Centerposts of Reconstructing Haiti
  U.S. Institute of Peace, 2012
• Assessing Progress in Haiti Act of 2014
  U.S. Government Printing Office, Public Law

• Haiti: A Republic of NGO's?
  U.S. Institute of Peace, 2010
• Haiti Strategy: Control, Legitimacy, Sovereignty, Rule of Law, Handoffs, and Exit
  Strategic Studies Institute, U.S. Army War College, 1994
• Guide to Law and Legal Literature of Cuba, the Dominican Republic, and Haiti
  Library of Congress, 1944
• Haiti: Prospects for Free and Fair Elections
  U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on International Relations, 2000
• Administration Actions and Political Murders in Haiti: Part I
  U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on International Relations, June 1996
• Administration Actions and Political Murders in Haiti: Part II
  U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on International Relations, September 1996
• Whither Haiti? A Look at the Prospects for Political Stability, Democratization, and Socioeconomic Development
  Strategic Studies Institute, U.S. Army War College, 1996
• Haitian Elections: Setting the Foundation for Democracy
  U.S. Senate, Committee on Foreign Relations, 2006
• Crime, Politics, and Violence in Post-Earthquake Haiti
  U.S. Institute of Peace, 2010
• Providing Justice in Haiti
  U.S. Institute of Peace, 2012
• Update of Events in Haiti (Operation "Uphold Democracy")
  U.S. Government Printing Office, Communication from President Bill Clinton, 1995
• Expressing Sense of the House in Support of Democracy in Haiti
  U.S. Congressional Record, 1991
• Haitian Refugee Protection Act of 1992
  U.S. Congressional Record

• Haiti Reforestation Act of 2011
  U.S. Senate, Report from Committee on Foreign Relations
• Agricultural Progress in Haiti
  Food Supply Division, Institute of Inter-American Affairs, 1949

• Haiti, Costs of U.S. Programs and Activities Since the 1991 Military Coup: Fact Sheet
  U.S. General Accounting Office, National Security and International Affairs Division, 1993
• Judicial Assistance: Agreement between the U.S.A. and Haiti
  U.S. Department of State, 1986
• U.S. Assistance to Haiti: February 1986
  U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Public Affairs
• Export Caribbean: A Guide to Doing Business in the Caribbean
  U.S. Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration, 1995
• The Disregard of the Constitution in the Invasion of Haiti
  U.S. Congressional Record, 1994
• United States Policy toward Haiti
  U.S. Congressional Record, 1994
• Limited Authorization for the United States-Led Force in Haiti
  U.S. Congressional Record, 1994

• Human Rights in Haiti
  U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Foreign Affairs, 1985
• Haiti: Is U.S. AID effective?
  U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Foreign Affairs, 2013
• Haiti Reconstruction: USAID Infrastructure Projects Have Mixed Results and Face Sustainability Challenges
  U.S. Government Accountability Office, 2013
• The Challenge of Keeping Haitians Safe
  U.S. Institute of Peace, 2011
• Crowdsourcing Crisis Information in Disaster-Affected Haiti
  U.S. Institute of Peace, 2010
• Haiti: Confronting the Gangs of Port-au-Prince
  U.S. Institute of Peace, 2008

One of three memorial sites for the victims of the 2010 earthquake. Over 100,000 people are buried at each site.

A Haitian Tap-Tap, or taxi, named for the noise the horn makes to get through traffic.

Aerial view of the mountainous Haitian coastline.

A uniquely Haitian dish: Creole Chicken, Fried Plantains, Rice & Beans, and Picklese (Pikliz).

Photos Courtesy of Amanda Krewson (May 2016)

Image leads to Interactive Map from Library of Congress.

Image leads to Interactive Google Map.

Reference service is available
Mon - Fri 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Government Documents Department
106B Ellis Library (1st Floor East)
University of Missouri

Marie Concannon (573) 882-0748
concannonm@missouri.edu

Sandy Schiefer (573) 884-8123
schiefers@missouri.edu