Skip to main content

World War II Microforms

Administrative Histories of World War II Civilian Agencies of the Federal Government

New Haven, Conn.: Research Publications, 1976
56 reel(s)

These histories detail the United States' first comprehensive mobilization for war. Civilian agencies during World War II managed war production, price stabilization, transportation and shipping, manpower, federal housing, rationing, and the allocation of raw materials. Agencies were developed to regulate alien property, war assets, censorship, civilian defense, scientific research, and public health. The 423 histories were produced by the Second World War History Program of the Bureau of the Budget, which by March 1942 had evolved into the Committee on Records of War Administration. Histories are arranged by agency in alphabetical order.

FILM BOOK 0289 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Administrative histories of World War II civilian agencies of the Federal Government ; Administrative histories of U.S. civilian agencies, Korean War : a guide to the microfilm collections.

‘Administrative Histories of World War II Civilian Agencies of the Federal Government provides access by agency, author, title of report, and subject, with a full bibliographic citation for each report.

Allied Commission for Austria. Minutes of Meetings of the Allied Council (Alco/M)

Washington, D.C.: Research and Microfilm Publications,
8 reel(s)

The meetings of the four Commanders in Chief of the Allied Forces in Austria from 1945 to 1956 are chronicled in this collection. The Soviet Union, the United States, the United Kingdom, and France were represented at the meetings. These meetings initially were concerned with food supplies in the city of Vienna, the establishment of the Allied Commission, and the extension of the jurisdiction of the provisional government to all of Austria. The Commanders in Chief confronted problems created by activities of the Socialist Party, the People's Party, and the Communist Party, as well as the unification of the monetary system, the compilation of lists of Nazis, the evaluation of available resources, the reconstruction of transportation systems, the promotion of industry, and the safety of the frontiers.

FILM 10:10 - Request access

Guides:

‘Index to the Microfilmed Minutes of the Allied Commission for Austria, September 1945 – July 1955.

The guide provides subject access.

Allied Commission for Austria. Minutes of Meetings of the Executive Committee.

Washington, D.C.: Research and Microfilm Publications,
15 reel(s)

This collection chronicles the meetings from 1945 to 1955 of the deputies to the Commanders-in-Chief of the Forces of Occupation in Austria. The Soviet Union, the United States, the United Kingdom, and France were represented at the meetings. The minutes discuss administrative and economic problems in Austria, such as food rationing, political activities of democratic parties, freedom of the press, trade unions, transportation, confiscation of Nazi property, and the encouragement of light industry. Other items discussed are the regulation of Austrian aviation, plans for food production and supplies, communications, denazification, fuel supplies, electrical power, price, wage, and production controls, and the extradition of war criminals.

FILM 10:10-11 - Request access

Guides:

‘Index to the Microfilmed Minutes of the Allied Commission for Austria, September 1945 – July 1955.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records. Japan, Part 3, 1930-1941.

Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
80 reel(s)

This collection contains dispatches, letters, telegrams, and reports generated by United States diplomatic posts in Japan and on file in the United States Embassy in Tokyo. The material is arranged by year and then under the following subject headings: congresses and conferences, commercial relations, relations of state, protection of interests, and internal affairs of state. Specific topics include: agriculture and animal husbandry, financial conditions, foreign relations with Australia, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Mexico, the Philippines, the United States, and the Soviet Union, the Kellogg Pact, the Four Power Pact, Manchuko, the League of Nations, military and naval affairs, railways, trade relations, and the Washington Naval conference. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.

FILM BOOK 0069 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 3, 1930-1941 [guide] PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C63 1984.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Germany, Internal Affairs, 1930-1941.

Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1984
59 reel(s)

The confidential files in this Department of State decimal file on Germany (National Archive record group 59) include reports on the domestic political situation in Germany, military and naval affairs, the police organization, the functioning of the juridical system, the economy, social matters (such as sports, customs, manners, and dress), finance, the communications system, the press, communist activities, government organization and personnel. Most of the information comes from American diplomatic representatives in Germany. With the outbreak of the Second World War the reports deal increasingly with the development of military situations in continental Europe and with naval warfare.

FILM BOOK 0015 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. State Department Central files : Germany internal affairs, 1930-1941 PDF

The documents are arranged chronologically. The guide provides a reel index and a subject index. Also available under call number Z2240 .C6 1984.

Declassified Documents Reference System, 1976-86.

Arlington, Virginia: Carrollton Press, 1975 
6000 items

This collection contains declassified documents of the United States government from files of the Central Intelligence Agency, the National Security Council, miscellaneous boards, and other agencies. Some documents are from departmental archives and presidential libraries. The documents vary in length from a telegram to an extensive report on the Joint Chiefs of Staff in World War II. The documents tend to emphasize history and political science although there are some economic and scientific studies. It is important to note that documents which have been declassified following expiration of the thirty year rule and given wide dissemination are not included in this collection.

Located in Government Documents (first floor)

Guides:

The Declassified documents catalog.

Documents are indexed by country, by event, and by broad subject terms. Originally a quarterly index through 1985, it is now issued bimonthly.

Eichmann, Adolf 1906-1962. Adolf Eichmann: Papers Relating to Adolf Eichmann Compiled by the Weiner [I.E. Wiener] Library, London, 1961.

London: Micro Methods, 1961 
1 reel(s)

Papers spanning the period from 1934 to 1960 relate to Adolf Eichmann's role as a member of the Gestapo. Wartime papers discuss the evacuation of Jews and Poles from the eastern territories and France, Belgium, and Holland, the deportations to Auschwitz, and attempts to prevent the emigration of Jews to Palestine. Postwar documents reveal Eichmann's role in the extermination of the Jews at Auschwitz and other concentration camps, and the use of forced labor. Arranged chronologically, most of the documents are in German, with a few of the later reports in English. The index provides short English summaries.

An index at the beginning of the reel indicates the contents of each document.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Germany. Auswartiges Amt. Records of the German Foreign Office Received by the Department of State [Whaddon Hall, Eng.].

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service,
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 120; v. National Archives record group 242.
35 reel(s)

The German Documents Project at the National Archives selected and filmed seized German records that illustrated German foreign policy, while the records were temporarily housed at Whaddon Hall in England. These assorted files of the German Foreign Ministry (or Office) from 1855 to 1945 discuss military affairs, foreign relations, and events leading up to World War II. The principal documents were later translated and printed in a series titled Documents on German Foreign Policy, 1918-1945 (353.8 S1.82). While the documents on the microfilm are arranged by subject according to the original classification of the German Foreign Ministry, the principal documents in the printed series are arranged chronologically.

35 selected microfilm reels. Reel 1A reproduces various indexing documents for sections of the collection. Also, CD1261.A65 Kent, George O. (ed.). A Catalog of Files and Microfilm of the German Foreign Ministry Archives 1920-1945 provides subject access to the entire collection of 5,055 reels, but does not provide a listing of contents of individual reels. Ellis Library's holdings currently are reels no. 1A, 1012, 1567-1574, 3154, 3429-3446, 3534-3537, 4177, and 4340-4341.

FILM 8:13-14 - Request access

Germany. Heer. Records of German Army Areas (Wehrkreise).

Washington, D.C: American Historical Association,
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 79; v. National Archives record group 242
8 reel(s)

The records cover Wehrkreis VII, Munchen, to which Swabia, Upper Bavaria, and Lower Bavaria belonged, from 1909 to the early 1940s. Papers, circulars, orders, reports, and correspondence give instructions on such areas as personnel policy and the defense of army installations. Corps, divisional, and regimental orders relate to the infiltration of Austria, Czechoslovakia, and the Tyrol and provide relevant maps, war diaries, and statistics. Reel 53 contains newspaper clippings related to the charge of perjury brought against Oberleutnant Braun by Hauptmann A. D. Rohm. Reels 81 and 82 deal with such subjects as the air raids in Hamburg, the surrender of troops, and the effects of World War II on housing. The records are part of the National Archives' collection of seized World War II enemy records.

8 selected microfilm reels (no. 9, 33, 48, 49, 52, 53, 81, 82).
Vol. 34 of the guide provides notes on the contents of each reel in this collection.

FILM 8:11-12 - Request access

Guides:

Guides to German records microfilmed at Alexandria, Va.

The guide provides a detailed list of contents for each reel.

Germany. Reichsfuhrer SS und Chef der Deutschen Polizei. Records of the Reich Leader of the SS and Chief of the German Police.

Washington, D.C.: American Historical Association., 158
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 175; v. National Archives record group 242.
105 reel(s)

This collection reproduces the files of the RF-SS/Personlicher Stab, the RF-SS/Feldkommandostelle, and various other police and security agencies under the command of the Reich leader of the SS. Documents cover political plans and policies, diplomacy, military affairs, armament, manpower, ideology, genocide, and astrology, all matters of concern to Heinrich Himmler. The range of subjects reflect the variety of his activities. Specific subjects include anti-semitism, the use of prisoners for slave labor, German intelligence work, Nazi movements in other countries, and concentration camps. The records are part of National Archives' collection of seized World War II enemy records.

105 selected microfilm reels.

FILM 9:3-5 - Request access

Guides:

Guides to German records microfilmed at Alexandria, Va.

The guide provides a detailed list of contents for each reel.

International Military Tribunal for the Far East. Record of Proceedings [And] Judgment.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1964 
38 reel(s)

On January 19, 1946, General Douglas MacArthur issued a charter for a tribunal to try major war criminals in the Far East. The trial began in Tokyo on May 3, 1946, and ended with a verdict from November 4 through November 12, 1948. The twenty-eight defendants were charged collectively as leaders or accomplices in the Japanese war of aggression and as conspirators with Germany and Italy for world domination. Charges against specific persons included the murder of disarmed soldiers and civilians at Nanking, Canton, and other locations, the murder of Russian and Mongolian troops in the Khalkin-Gol river area, and the violation of principles governing the treatment of prisoners of war. Such deliberations required an extensive presentation of the events, discussions, and decisions made by leaders in Japan from 1928 to 1945. The judgment states that two documents presented were of major importance in the rendering of the verdict: the diary from 1930 to 1945 of Kido, a confidential advisor to the Emperor, and the Saionji-Harada memoirs. Of the twenty-five defendants sentenced, seven received the death penalty, sixteen received life imprisonment, and two received lesser punishment.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 10:4-5 - Request access

Guides:

Dull, Paul S. The Tokyo trials : a functional index to the Proceedings of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East

The guide provides a comprehensive index to subjects and defendants.

Japan. Gaimusho. IMT Series: International Military Tribunal.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951 
3 reel(s)

The IMT series is a selection of titles from the complete file of documentary evidence at the International Prosecution Section, General Headquarters, Supreme Commander of the Allied Powers (General D. McArthur). The selection was made with the object of showing both the internal and external conditions and personalities that brought Japan into her disastrous war for the control of Asia. Holdings at Ellis include the Prince Konoye memoirs, the corporation law of the Central China Development Company, regulations of the South Seas Development Company, circumstances surrounding the Tripartite Alliance, principal reasons for the commencement of hostilities against the United States and Great Britain, a directive from the Vice-Minister of War, Kimura Hyotaro, concerning the disposal of enemy property in China, circumstances surrounding the establishment of the Wang Ching-Wei government, and Privy Council Proceedings dealing with the Manchurian incident and Bulgarian participation in the Tripartite Alliance. Most of the documents are accompanied by an English translation.

Selected microfilm reels (no. 6, 15, and 27).
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 10:10 - Request access

Guides:

Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951

The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.

Nationalist Socialist German Labor Party. Records of the Nationalist Socialist German Labor Party.

Washington, D.C.: American Historical Association. Committee for the Study of War Documents,
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 81; v. National Archives record group 242.
70 reel(s)

These declassified seized German records were deposited at the Military Records Branch of the United States General Services Administration. They cover records of the National Socialist German Labor Party, its affiliated organizations, and territorial divisions. They include records on resettlement kept by the Deutsches Ausland-Institut in Stuttgart and agencies under Himmler, records of the Reichsstudentenfuhrung, and the National Sozialistischer Studenten Bund. This is a valuable aid for study of the German administrative and political history of the 1930s: the mechanisms of political control on the local level, the social background of local political leaders, and the development of National Socialist ideology. It offers an insight into university life after 1933 and the changes in the intellectual, political, and social views of students over a prolonged period of time. The collection also covers activities such as political indoctrination, propaganda operations, Jewish persecution, and foreign labor recruitment.

The guide indicates the contents of each roll. We have reels 1-4, 23, 25-27, 29-31, 35-37, 50-51, 53-54, 57, 63, 66-67, 75, 91-92, 96-97, 99-102, 113-115, 197-199, 201-204, 206, 223-228, 230-231, 233-235, 239, 241, 244, 247-257, 259-260, 262.
THE MERLIN RECORD IS INCORRECT.

FILM 8:12-13 - Request access

Guides:

Guides to German records microfilmed at Alexandria, Va.

The guide provides a detailed list of contents for each reel.

Political Reorientation of Japan, September 1945 to September 1948: Report of Government Sections, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1983 
2 reel(s)

The Political Reorientation of Japan contains a series of reports by various authors on the first three years of the allied occupation, with an introduction by General Douglas MacArthur and foreword by Brigadier General Courtney Whitney. The twelve sections cover such subjects as the constitution, the national Diet, popular elections, and political parties and education. There is an index of names and subjects at the end of the reel.

FILM BOOK 0209 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

United States. Joint Chiefs of Staff. Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part I, 1942-1945: The Soviet Union.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981 
2 reel(s)

The Joint Chiefs of Staff (JCS) is the principal group of military advisers to the president of the United States. This is a collection of papers from the JCS focusing on the Soviet Union from the period 1942-1945. The collection also includes records of the combined United States-British Combined Chiefs of Staff (CCS). The material contains operational reports, intelligence estimates, policy studies of the Soviet Union, and a number of illustrative maps. The records focus on World War II, but also include estimates of Soviet post-war capabilities and intentions. Examples of subjects covered are Lend Lease, Russian combat estimate (1942), disclosure of technical information to the Soviet Union (1943), collaboration with the Soviet Union (1943), convoys to Northern Russia (1943), Anglo-American-Soviet cooperation (1944), and the Red Army offensive action to facilitate the invasion of Normandy in 1944 (Operation Overlord).

FILM BOOK 0012 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff : Part 1: 1942-1945, the Soviet Union

‘Kesaris, Paul (ed.). Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part I, 1942-1945: the Soviet Union. The guide provides a brief description of the contents of each reel. It also provides a detailed subject index.