Skip to main content

Westward Expansion Microforms

Indian Territory. General Council. Journal of the Annual Session of the General Council of the Indian Territory Composed of Delegates Duly Elected from the Indian Tribes Legally Resident therin Assembled in Council at Okmulgee, Indian Territory, 1873-1875

Dallas: Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., 
1 reel(s)

Note: This reel of the 4th, 5th, and 6th sessions contains a list of delegates from the 4th session from 1873, the journal of the 6th session, adjourned Sept. 1875, and the Constitution of the Indian Territory, 1875.

FILM MISC - Request access

McGlashan, Charles Fayette. History of the Donner Party, a Tragedy of the Sierra.

Truckee, CA: Crowley and McGlashan, 1879 
1 reel(s)

Considered one of the most important sources on the Donner Party tragedy, this book contains a bibliography, maps, photographs, notes, and an extensive foreword by George H. and Bliss McGlashan Hinkle.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

Palmer, William Jackson. Report of Surveys Across the Continent, in 1867-68.

Philadelphia: W.B. Selheimer, Printer, 1869

General Palmer was a veteran of the Civil War and builder of the Denver & Rio Grande railroad. This work covers the route of the 35th Parallel on which the Union Pacific Railway or Kansas Pacific Railroad traveled from St. Louis to San Francisco. It compares the route of the 32nd Parallel to the 35th Parallel and contains extracts from geological and nature surveys, distances, elevations, and distributions of military troops and Indian tribes along both routes. There are many detailed railroad route maps at the end.

Title continues “On the Thirty-fifth and Thirty-second Parallels, for a Route Extending the Kansas Pacific Railway to the Pacific Ocean at San Francisco and San Diego.” Report made to the Union Pacific railroad company, Eastern division.

FILM MISC - Request access

Plunkett, Horace Horace Curzon), Sir, 1854-1932. American Letters of Sir Horace Plunkett, 1883-1932.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

Sir Horace Plunkett was a rancher in Wyoming during the 1880s prior to devoting himself to agricultural cooperatives. In the pursuit of this interest, first in Ireland and later in Great Britain and the United States, Plunkett formed intimate friendships with such prominent Americans as Colonel House, Theodore Roosevelt, Gifford Pinchot, and Charles McCarthy. The letters discuss the affairs of the Powder River Cattle Company and the Western Live-Stock and Land Company, agricultural reform, conservation, rural affairs, British and Irish politics, American attitudes during World War I, and Plunkett’s work with the Reciprocal News Service in London that aimed to influence American opinion during the war.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Guides:

The American Letters of Sir Horace Plunkett, 1883-1932 PDF

Plunkett, Horace Horace Curzon), Sir, 1854-1932. Diaries of Sir Horace Plunkett, 1881-1932.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963
British records relating to America in microfilm
8 reel(s)

Sir Horace Plunkett ranched in Wyoming in the 1880s before devoting his life to the cause of agricultural cooperatives. In pursuing this cause, Plunkett forged intimate friendships with such prominent Americans as Colonel House, Theodore Roosevelt, Gifford Pinchot, and Charles McCarthy. The diaries describe his ranching ventures from 1881 to 1888, the beginnings of his cooperative work in Ireland, Irish politics, his work with the Department of Agriculture and Instruction in Dublin, as well as his impressions of Roosevelt and the Country Life Commission. Later volumes cover his work for an Irish settlement, his return to England, and the subsequent formation of the Plunkett Foundation.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Guides:

The Diaries of Sir Horace Plunket, 1881-1932 PDF

Ross, James, and George Gary. From Wisconsin to California, and Return.

Madison, WI: Atwood and Rublee, 1869 
1 reel(s)

These two accounts of the Wisconsin Excursion Party trip to the Pacific from Chicago to California and back by railroad were written in a series of letters. Ross was the secretary of the excursion party, and Gary wrote for the Oshkosh Journal and the Oshkosh Northwestern. Each work discusses details of the locations visited on the trip. Gary’s account follows Ross’.

Note: As reported for the Wisconsin State Journal.

Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX

FILM MISC - Request access

Ross, William P. Indian Territory: Remarks in Opposition to the Bill to Organize the Territory of Oklahoma Before the Committee on Territories of the House of Representatives, Monday February 9, 1874.

Washington, DC: Gibson Brothers, 1874 
1 reel(s)

Ross (1820-1891) was the principal chief of the Cherokee Nation. This speech was given to remind the committee of previous agreements giving or selling land to the Indians in the Oklahoma territories. The federal government was about to renege on those agreements and open parts of the territories to white ranchers and settlers.

Microfilmed by Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., Dallas, TX

FILM MISC - Request access

Seymour, Silas. Incidents of a Trip Through the Great Platte Valley, to the Rocky Mountains and Laramie Plains, in the Fall of 1866.

New York: D. Van Nostrand, 1867 
1 reel(s)

Seymour (1817-1890), consulting engineer for the railroad, took this professional trip September through November of 1866 with Hon. Jesse L. Williams, government director, and Gen. G.M. Dodge, chief engineer for the Union Pacific Railroad. This work contains diary-style entries, letters, speeches, etc. It culminates with the celebration of the completion of the railroad to the 100th meridian of longitude.

Title continues “with a synoptical [sic] statement of the various Pacific railroads, and an account of the great Union Pacific railroad excursion to the one hundredth [sic] meridian of longitude.”

FILM MISC - Request access