Skip to main content

Westward Expansion Microforms

Hoyt, Dolly E. Memoirs of Dolly E. Hoyt, a Member of the Union Missionary Family: Who Died on the Arkansas River, While Ascending the Same, on Her Passage to the Osage Nation, the Place of Her Destination, Aged 23.

Danbury, CT: Southwestern Microfilm, Inc., 1828 
1 reel(s)

This memoir contains Dolly Hoyt’s letters, diary, and pieces on particular subjects as well as an extract from a reverend’s letter giving an account of her sickness and death, and her father’s letter requesting her writings. She was a school teacher who joined the Cherokee Mission to alleviate “the miserable conditions of the American natives.” Miss Hoyt joined in 1820 under the direction of the United Foreign Missionary Society of New York. She died July 20, 1820, while ascending the Arkansas River. Her writings cover Dec. 31, 1714 to July 1, 1820.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Kaskaskia Manuscripts, 1714-1816: A Calendar of Civil Documents in Colonial Illinois

Chester, IL: Randolph County Archives, 1981 
14 reel(s)

This collection provides a richly detailed picture of the economic, social, and political life in eighteenth-century Illinois. The first people of European origin to settle in the mid-Mississippi Valley were the French. These Illinois villagers were the first explorers, the first traders with the Indian tribes of the Plains, the first miners, and the first farmers of the area. The early records of these French pioneers, over 6,000 documents dating from 1714 to 1816, constitute the Kaskaskia manuscript collection. Included are notarial transactions such as marriage contracts, wills, inventories, deeds, depositions, partnerships, labor contracts, and leases. For the most part, these documentary materials are in French. The calendar of the manuscripts offers an English summary of the contents and other essential information, including all personal names.

The first reel contains English summaries for the years 1708-1749, the second reel contains those for 1750-1816. The third reel contains an index to personal, geographical, and tribal names. Remaining reels are manuscript reels in order by date.

FILM 23:4 - Request access

McCoy, Isaac. Annual Register of Indian Affairs within the Indian (or Western) Territory.

Shawanoe Mission: J. Meeker printer, 1835 
1 reel(s)

Isaac McCoy was a skillful surveyor, providing precise locations of Indian agencies, settlements, mission stations, and forts. He published his first register of Indian affairs in January of 1835 to raise public awareness and support of Indian missions.

Four volumes on one reel [no.1 (1835) – no.4 (1838)].
FILM NOT IN MERLIN
Also available in paper copy, E98.M6 M36 1998.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

McCoy, Isaac. Remarks on the Practicability of Indian Reform, Embracing Their Colonization.

Boston: Lincoln and Edwards, 1827 
1 reel(s)

This work contains chapters on the first meetings between the American Indians and Europeans, the character of the Indians, reforming the Indians through colonization, where to establish an Indian colony, how to remove the Indians to it, the regulations of the colony, and more.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

McKinstry, George. Thrilling and Tragic Journal Written by George Mckinstry, Jr., While on a Journey Overland to California in 1846-47.

West Hoboken, NJ: Albert A Bieber, 1847 
1 reel(s)

A group of settlers left Missouri in May, 1846, for California, but lost their way in the snowy mountains in October of that year before finding a small log cabin at Trucky’s Lake, CA. This broadside gives nearly a day-by-day account of the four month journey by a small band of settlers that continued from Trucky’s Lake and ended with a rescue by Lieut. Woodworth, and brought to Capt. Sutter's Fort in Sacramento, California.

Title continues: “Including an account of the death of many of the party, the last three who died, being beaten by the survivors. Journal from October 31st 1846 to March 1st, 1847.” Originally printed in St. Louis Reveille and The Dollar Newspaper 1847. 1st Separate Edition.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

Morgan, Gertrude. Gertrude Morgan, or, Life and Adventures Among the Indians of the Far West.

Philadelphia: Barclay & Co., 1866
1 reel(s)

This book details the events of Mrs. Morgan’s 11 years with American Indians who captured her in 1855 on her way to California. Contains illustrations.

FILM MISC - Request access

Ogden, Peter Skene. Traits of American Indian Life and Character, by a Fur Trader.

London: Smith, Elder & Co., 1853
1 reel(s)

The author was a chief factor of the Hudson's Bay Company in British Columbia and Washington State from 1835 to 1854. Ogden had frequent observations and interactions with the Indians of the western part of North America beyond the Rocky Mountains. The chapters in this book include: “Experience of the Indian Character;” “The Burial of the Living and the Dead;” “The Bloody Tragedy;” “The Burning of the Dead;” and “The Death of Our Favorite Donkey.” Social life and customs are covered.

FILM MISC - Request access

Plains and Rockies

Louisville, Ky: Lost Cause Press, 1957 
3200 fiche

This collection includes over 400 books, magazines articles, federal documents, some compilations, and newspaper items of personal experiences written between 1800 and 1865. The geographical scope includes the region lying between the Missouri River and the Sierra Nevadas from Mexico to the Arctic (excluding Texas and Louisiana). Subjects covered include the fur trade, Lewis and Clark, Mormon migrations, the Oregon trail, Indians, and railroad construction. Each title in the collection is separately cataloged and classified.

Each title catalogued separately.

MICF

Guides:

Wagner, Henry Raup, 1862-1957. The Plains & the Rockies : a critical bibliography of exploration, adventure, and travel in the American West, 1800-1865

The Wagner and Campbell guide is arranged chronologically with an index.

Thompson, Lawrence Sidney, 1916- The new Sabin : books described by Joseph Sabin and his successors, now described again on the basis of examination of originals, and fully indexed by title, subject, joint authors, and institutions and agencies

The guide is arranged alphabetically by author.

Read, James Alexander, & Donald F. Read. Journey to the Gold Diggins, by Jeremiah Saddlebags.

Cincinnati: U.P. James, 1849 
1 reel(s)

This book of pictorial humor is about Jeremiah Saddlebags, a fictitious prospector, and his quest for gold in California.

FILM MISC - Request access

Schaeffer, Luther Melanchthon. Sketches of Travels in South America, Mexico and California.

New York: James Egbert, 1860 
1 reel(s)

Schaeffer was a miner who kept a record of his three-year journey to and from California by way of South America and Mexico. He sailed from New York in March 1849 on the ship Flavius and stopped in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and Valparaiso, Chile, before reaching San Francisco in September. He worked a number of mines around middle and northern California and sailed for the tropics several more times before arriving back in New York in June of 1852.

FILM MISC - Request access

Snelling, William Joseph. Tales of Travels West of the Mississippi

Boston: Gray and Bowen, 1830 
1 reel(s)

Snelling (1804-1848) was an explorer, trapper, and trader in what is now Minnesota. He returned to his hometown of Boston when he was 24 and compiled what he saw in his western travels into several books. He later became a newspaper journalist, poet, and essayist. He wrote this juvenile work of 41 chapters covering the places he went, the people he met, and the things that happened to them. Its subjects include Lewis and Clark, many Native American tribes (Dahcotahs, Kickapoos, Shoshonees, Chopunnish, Sokulks, Echeloots, Pishquitpaws, Chilluckittequaws, Shilloots, Wahkiacums, Ootlashoots, Missouri, Willetpos, and many more), animals encountered, Major Stephen H. Long’s travels up the Missouri River, John R. Jewitt’s background and travels, etc.

Author listed as Solomon Bell, which is a pen name for Snelling. Subtitle: “Lewis and Clark’s Travels; Long’s Expedition; Jewitt’s Narrative.” Map at the beginning and many engravings throughout.

FILM MISC - Request access

Stevens, Isaac Ingalls. Speech of Hon. Isaac I. Stevens, Delegate from Washington Territory, on the Washing and Oregon War Claims.

Washington: Lemuel Towers, 1858
1 reel(s)

Stevens (1818-1862) was a major with the Corps of Engineers and lead the exploration and survey of the railroad route from St. Paul, MN, to Puget Sound in what is now Washington State. He resigned his commission to become the first governor of the Territory of Washington in 1853. He was killed serving the Union during the Civil War. This speech was delivered in the House of Representatives of the United States, May 31, 1858. It deals with the wars with the Pacific Coast Indians.

FILM MISC - Request access