Skip to main content

Westward Expansion Microforms

History of the West; Private Library of Michael Harrison. Library Catalog and Supplement.

Fort Worth, TX: Amon Carter Museum of Western Art, 1965
46 reel(s)

FILM 4D21: 10:6 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1881.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1956 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 234; v. National Archives records group 75
962 reel(s)

This collection contains most of the correspondence received by the Office of Indian Affairs from its inception in 1824. The Bureau was organized on a system of superintendencies and agencies, with superintendents presiding over a geographical region while agents bore responsibility for particular tribes. The guide provides essential information on the Bureau, how the material in the collection is organized, and what parts of the correspondence are located in other collections.

Uncataloged guides, Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880 and Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-80, are in the Special Collections Office. These guides contain background on the collection and the Office of Indian Affairs, a tribal index to the material, a jurisdictional index to the material, and a list of contents for each reel. The guide Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880 is also reproduced at the beginning of reel one.

FILM 1:13-2:11 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Letters Sent by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1882.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 21; v. National Archives record group 75
166 reel(s)

This collection of correspondence from the commissioner of Indian affairs includes instructions to superintendents, agents and other field officials of the Bureau, reports to the secretary of war, and other communications covering all aspects of Bureau operations. Before 1869, the letters were recorded chronologically. After 1869, the letters were recorded chronologically but under broad topics (land settlement, finance, accounts, and miscellaneous). Most of the volumes are indexed by the name of the addressee of a particular letter. The guide provides essential information about the contents of the letterbooks.

An uncataloged guide, Letters Sent by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1881, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains background on the Office of Indian Affairs and this collection of outgoing correspondence, a description of related records in microfilm, and a list of contents on each reel. The guide is also reproduced at the beginning of reel one.

FILM 1:2 -3 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Report Book of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1838-1885.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 348; v. National Archives record group 75
53 reel(s)

This collection contains the correspondence from the commissioner of Indian affairs to the secretary of war and occasionally to the president. These "reports" may range from extended narratives to short letters. The guide provides essential information for deciphering the contents as well as explaining the record system of the Office of Indian Affairs. Some report books provide an index of the individuals mentioned. Also, each reel contains notes at the beginning giving information about that particular portion of the collection.

An uncataloged guide, Report Books of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1838-1885, is located in the Special Collections Office. This guide contains background on the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the report books, and also a list of contents for each reel in the collection. The guide is also reproduced at the beginning of reel one.

FILM 5:2-3 - Request access

United States. Treaties. Ratified Indian Treaties, 1722-1869.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 668; v. National Archives record group 11
16 reel(s)

Indian treaties were made by the Continental Congress, by the Congress of the Confederation, and under the authority of the Constitution adopted in 1789. The treaties were ratified by the Senate and had the same status as agreements with foreign nations. The most important purpose of the majority of the treaties was to extinguish Indian title to land. Other common subjects of treaty provisions were the ending of hostilities and the maintenance of peace, the status of tribes as dependent nations, criminal and civil matters, control of tribal affairs, and regulation of trade and rights-of-way across Indian lands. Some unratified treaties are also included.

An uncataloged guide, Ratified Indian Treaties 1722-1869, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 8:6-7 - Request access

Utah and the Mormons.

New Haven, CT: Research Publications, 1966 
53 reel(s)

Books, government documents, periodicals and newspapers chronicle the Church of Jesus Christ and Latter Day Saints' move from Illinois, Ohio, and Missouri, their settlement in Utah, their doctrine, and their experiments in communitarianism and polygamy. Among the serials reproduced are The Latter Day Saints and Millenial Star (1840-1905) and the Union Vedette (1836-1967). The works of prominent church leaders, including Joseph Smith and Parley Parker Pratt, are well represented.

Each monograph title is cataloged in MERLIN, but serial titles are not yet cataloged.

FILM BOOK 0285 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Microfilm index to Utah and the Mormons : a collection available on microfilm.