Skip to main content

Theatre Microforms

Britain’s Literary Heritage: Nineteenth Century Theatre Periodicals Parts One and Two from the British Library.

Brighton: Harvester Microform Publications, 1986
41 items

19 titles.

Each title fully cataloged in MERLIN and shelved with the microfilmed periodical collection, FILM PER. Consult MERLIN for call number for each title. A list of the titles in the collection is available in the Special Collections office or search the series title in MERLIN.

British Museum Department of Manuscripts English Stage After the Restoration: Archive of the 18th and 19th Century British Theatre Royal from the British Library, Part I.

Brighton: Harvester,
16 reel(s)

Catalogue of Additional Manuscripts 1854-1887 contains Additional Mss. 23156-23167, 25915, 29631-29643, 29709-29711, 29945-29958, 31972-31977, 33488. 61997. Each play is individually cataloged but the records do not appear in MERLIN with a description of the contents.

FILM BOOK 0216 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

British Museum. Dept. of Manuscripts. Catalogue of additions to the manuscripts in the British Museum

Four Centuries of Spanish Drama.

FOUR CENTURIES OF SPANISH DRAMA.

8000 plays.

Each play is cataloged.

MICF 862

Guides:

Thompson, Lawrence Sidney, 1916- A bibliography of Spanish plays on microcards, by Lawrence S. Thompson.

Mira de Amescua, Antonio. Plays

53 reel(s)

81 titles.

Consult MERLIN for holdings. See also: Spanish Drama of the Golden Age and Four Centuries of Spanish Drama.

FILM 4D21: 24:1 – 24:3 - Request access

Molina, Tirso de. Various Plays

7 reel(s)

100 titles.

Consult MERLIN for holdings. See also: Spanish Drama of the Golden Age.

FILM MISC - Request access

Playbills: North American Non-Profit Repertory Theatres, 1958-1975.

Plays Printed After 1640.

Stratford-on-Avon: Shakespeare Institute, 
9 reel(s)

Plays are listed by author and title in the card catalog. Partial contents are listed in contents note on main entry catalog card for the collection.

FILM 4D21:14:5 - Request access

Plays Printed Before 1640.

1 reel(s)

Contains six plays: “The Tragedy of the Duchess of Malfy” by John Webster; London: Nicholas Okes for John Waterson; 1623. “Devil’s Law Case” by John Webster; London: A.M. for John Grismand; 1623. “Women Beware Women, A Tragedy” by Thomas Middleton; London: [n.p.]; 1657. “The Changeling” by Thomas Midleton [sic] and William Rowley; London: [n.p.]; 1653. “The Late Lancashire Witches” by Thomas Heywood and Richard Broome; London: Thomas Harper for Benjamin Fisher; 1634. “The Tragedy of Albertus Wallenstein, Late Duke of Fridland, and Generall [sic] to the Emperor Ferdinand the Second” by Henry Glapthorne; London: Thomas Paine for George Hutton; 1639. Also contains one published letter entitled “ A Letter Written by a Catholicke [sic] Gentleman, to the Lady Jane Clement, the Haulting Princess of the League” by Capitaine Viques; London: John Wolfe; 1590.

FILM MISC - Request access

Popular Stage: Drama in Nineteenth Century England. The French Pettingill Collection of Plays in the Library of the University of Kent at Canterbury Series One. Part One.

Brighton: Harvester Microform Publication, 1985 
22 reel(s)

330 plays.

A guide to the collection is on reel one. Each play is individually cataloged in MERLIN. An uncataloged guide is available in the Special Collections office.

FILM BOOK 0031 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

The Popular stage : drama in nineteenth century England : the Frank Pettingell collection of plays in the Library of the University of Kent at Canterbury : an inventory : [guide to the microfilm edition].

Prompt Books and Actor’s Copies: Theatre Museum, Victoria and Albert, London.

London: Ormonde Publishing Ltd, 1983 
102 fiche

Each title is individually cataloged in MERLIN.

MICF 1632

Guides:

Prompt books and actor’s copies [guide] : Theatre Museum, V&A, London.

Spanish Drama of the Golden Age 1500-1700.

Woodbridge, CT: Research Publications, 
86 reel(s)

3200 titles

Each title is cataloged in MERLIN.

FILM 4D21: 15:2-3 - Request access

Guides:

Regueiro, Jose M. Spanish drama of the golden age; a catalogue of the comedia collection in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries

Theatre Costume Design in the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Surrey: Emmett Microfilm Ltd, 1983 
Fashion Costume and Uniforms Series, Part 3
38 fiche

The collection is arranged by artist and then by play title. A title index is provided. Guide is available, fiche missing as of 12/2006.

MICF 2584

Guides:

Victoria and Albert Museum. Theatre costume design in the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Three Centuries of Drama

New Canaan, CT: Readex Corporation,

This set contains all available first editions and important subsequent editions of the important and minor English plays from 1500 to 1800, and American plays from the beginning of American drama to 1830. The set also includes foreign plays which were adapted into English. The English titles are grouped into Elizabethan plays, 1515-1641; Restoration plays, 1642-1700, early eighteenth century plays, 1701-1750; and late eighteenth century plays, 1751-1800. There is also a group of the Larpent Collection of Manuscripts, 1737-1800 which are located at the Henry E. Huntington Library and Museum. Finally, the American plays are dated 1714-1830.

Each play is individually catalogued. Consult MERLIN by author or title.

MICPT 822.08

Guides:

Bergquist, G. William. Three centuries of English and American plays, a checklist. England: 1500-1800, United States: 1714-1830.

Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery. Catalogue of the Larpent plays in the Huntington Library, compiled by Dougald MacMillan.

Two Centuries of Drama: American 1714-1830.

New Canaan, Ct: Readex Corporation, 1963 
327 card(s)

Each play is individually cataloged in MERLIN.

MICPT 812.08

Guides:

Bergquist, G. William. Three centuries of English and American plays, a checklist. England: 1500-1800, United States: 1714-1830.

U.S. Copyright Office. Unpublished Drama Deposits, 1900-1906.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1981 
214 reel(s)

Each play is individually cataloged in MERLIN. An uncataloged guide is available in the Special Collections office.

FILM BOOK 0059 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Library of Congress. Copyright Office. Dramatic compositions copyrighted in the United States, 1870 to 1916V

Vandamm, Florence. Vandamm Collection.

Teaneck, NJ: Somerset House, 1980 
827 fiche

26,000 photos

MICF 792.O97471

Guides:

New York theatre, 1919-1961 : [handlist of stage productions in the Vandamm Collection].

Vega, Lope de. Alejandro El Segundo.

1630 
1 reel(s)

Vega (1562-1635), a novelist, poet, and playwright, is considered to be the greatest dramatist in the Spanish language. He wrote as many as 1,500 plays, at least 350 of which survive today. A contemporary of Shakespeare, he rivals the Bard in variety of characters, tone, and subject matter. This work is a comedy written in Vega’s own hand, and the original is located in Parma, Italy, in the Biblioteca Palatina.

FILM MISC - Request access

Vega, Lope de. Plays

130 titles

Consult MERLIN for holdings.

FILM MISC - Request access