Skip to main content

National Archives Microforms

Harris, C. M.; Preston, Daniel, compilers and editors. Papers Relating to the U.S. Patent Office During the Superintendency of William Thornton, 1802-1828.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Administration, 1986
Federal Documentary Microfilm Editions
5 reel(s)

The first patent law in the United States was established in 1790, and the first patent office opened in 1802 under the supervision of Dr. William Thornton. The original records were destroyed by fire in 1836 and a de facto archives was recreated from public and private records to replace them. Dr. Thornton believed the patent office should serve as a repository of invention for the United States and this is reflected in this collection.

FILM BOOK 0238 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Harris, C. M. (C. Max), 1934- Papers relating to the administration of the U.S. Patent Office : during the superintendency of William Thornton, 1802-1828 : a guide to accompany Federal documentary microfilm edition no. 1

The guide gives a brief history of the patent office, an item by item list on each reel, and an index of names and subjects.

Index to the Final Rolls of Citizens and Freedman of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory Prepared by the Commission and Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes and Approved by the Secretary of the Five Civilized Tribes.

Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms International, 1979 
National Archives Microfilm Publications. Microcopy no. T529; National Archives Record Group 75
1 reel(s)

An index to the final rolls taken in 1907 of both approved and unapproved names of Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole Indians arranged by tribe and category within that tribe. The categories include Indian by marriage, by blood, and Indian minors.

FILM BOOK 0268 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Investigative Case Files of the Bureau of Investigation, 1908-1922.

Washington, D. C: National Archives, 1982 
National Archives Microform Publications. Microcopy no. M1085
3 reel(s)

The three reels that Ellis Library has of this 955 reel collection contain information on a variety of topics. Reel 319 has the investigative records relating to German aliens (Old German Files), 1915-1920. This contains letters and reports on suspected spies, and interviews with suspicious Germans. Reel 320 continues the files, and in addition contains reports on the American Protective League, the Loyal Black Knights of the Camp of Israel, and civil rights groups. Reel 482 has miscellaneous reports.

FILM BOOK 0223 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

New York (Colony). Court of Vice Admiralty. Records of the Vice Admiralty Court of the Province of New York.

Washington, D.C: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 842; v. National Archives record group 21
1 reel(s)

The minute books of the Vice Admiralty Court of the Province of New York cover the period from 1701 to 1774. The court considered cases that related to maritime law: ships and shipping, wrecks, collisions, cargo damage, prize cases, and freight contracts. The minute books, according to tradition, were placed in the files of the District Court upon its organization in 1790. There are some gaps and many imperfections in the record. Notes have been inserted at appropriate pages, explaining the condition of the books before their present arrangement.

The three volumes of minute books are arranged in chronological order.

FILM 9:6 - Request access

South Carolina (Colony). Court of Admiralty. Records of the South Carolina Court of Admiralty, 1716-32.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1959 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 309; v. National Archives record group 21
1 reel(s)

Papers of the Carolina Court of Vice Admiralty document the official proceedings of the cases brought before the court. Vice-Admiralty courts were established in the major seaports of the American colonies in the 1600s to deal with matters of maritime law. The Admiralty Courts had jurisdiction over such matters as the taking of prizes, shipwrecks, salvage, insurance, freight and passenger contracts, bottomry, charter parties, and seamen's wages, and enforced it the Acts of Trade. From 1716 to 1732, the Carolina Court of Vice Admiralty met in Charles Town (Charleston), with Nicholas Trott, Esq., as presiding judge for much of that period. At this time, North Carolina and Georgia had not been established as separate entities.

The records are arranged chronologically.

FILM 9:5 - Request access

Soviet Union Foreign Affairs 1945-1949

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985 
National Archives records group 59
10 reel(s)

These files deal with subjects of the Soviet Union such as Political Affairs, Public Order, Military Affairs, Social Matters, Public Press, General Relations, U.S.-Soviet Bilateral Relations, and more from 1945-1949.

FILM BOOK 0072 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A guide to Confidential U.S. State Department central files : the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949 and foreign affairs, 1945-1949

The guide provides a reel and a subject index.

Soviet Union Internal Affairs 1945-1949

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985 
National Archives records group 59
39 reel(s)

These files deal with subjects of the Soviet Union such as Political Affairs, Public Order, Military Affairs, Social Matters, Public Press, General Relations, U.S.-Soviet Bilateral Relations, and more from 1945-1949.

FILM BOOK 0071 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A guide to Confidential U.S. State Department central files : the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949 and foreign affairs, 1945-1949

The guide provides a reel and a subject index.