Skip to main content

National Archives Microforms

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Germany, Internal Affairs, 1930-1941.

Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1984
59 reel(s)

The confidential files in this Department of State decimal file on Germany (National Archive record group 59) include reports on the domestic political situation in Germany, military and naval affairs, the police organization, the functioning of the juridical system, the economy, social matters (such as sports, customs, manners, and dress), finance, the communications system, the press, communist activities, government organization and personnel. Most of the information comes from American diplomatic representatives in Germany. With the outbreak of the Second World War the reports deal increasingly with the development of military situations in continental Europe and with naval warfare.

FILM BOOK 0015 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. State Department Central files : Germany internal affairs, 1930-1941 PDF

The documents are arranged chronologically. The guide provides a reel index and a subject index. Also available under call number Z2240 .C6 1984.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Indochina: Internal Affairs, 1945-1949.

Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1985
10 reel(s)

The material in this collection is arranged topically. The first seven reels are devoted to political affairs. The remaining information is arranged under such headings as public order, military and naval affairs, social and economic matters, industrial matters, communication and transportation, navigation, public press, and the sciences. Topics include agriculture, aviation, China, education, race problems, entertainment, and labor unions. The documents are from National Archives record group 59, records of the Department of State decimal files.

FILM BOOK 0039 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. State Department central files, Indochina internal affairs, 1945-1949 PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS550 .C6 1985.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Indochina Internal Affairs, 1950-1954.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
44 reel(s)

The majority of documents in this Department of State decimal file relates to internal political and national defense affairs in Indochina, Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. Other records are concerned with economic, industrial, and social affairs including agriculture, manufacturing, public order and safety, communication, and transportation. Specific topics documented are the Economic Cooperation Administration Program in Indochina, Communism in Indochina, the Mutual Security Program in Laos, Indochina, and Cambodia, the growing of rice and alkaloidal plants, and the mining of atomic minerals. The documents in this collection are from National Archives record group 59.

FILM BOOK 0118 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Indochina, internal affairs 1950-1954

The guide provides a reel table of contents and a subject index.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: The Soviet Union Foreign Affairs, 1945-1949.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
10 reel(s)

The Soviet Union's policies toward Eastern Bloc and Central European countries after World War II are emphasized on reels 1, 2, and 3. Stalin planned to concentrate on establishing his power apparatus in Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, the Balkans, and Italy. These reports in the form of notes, letters, memos, and formal papers were sent from United States embassy officials to the secretary of state. Concerns were expressed over Soviet oppression. Reels 3 through 6 review Soviet bilateral relations with various nations. Treaties with these countries were primarily concerned with trade and navigation. Translations of these treaties are included. Reels 7 through 10 recount the relations between the United States and the Soviet Union from 1945 to 1949. There were at least forty-five meetings in regard to a treaty between the United States and the Soviet Union to consider "friendship, commerce, and navigation." These files were taken from National Archives record group 59 and are part of the Department of State decimal file and are part of the Department of State's decimal file.

FILM BOOK 0072 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A guide to Confidential U.S. State Department central files : the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949 and foreign affairs, 1945-1949

The guide provides a reel and a subject index.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: The Soviet Union Internal Affairs, 1945-1949.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
39 reel(s)

This comprehensive collection mirrors specific episodes which occurred within the Soviet Union during the period of 1945 to 1949. Special reports from United States embassy officials sent to the secretary of state include descriptions of Russian political figures, military leaders, social events, economic conditions, and agricultural matters. Documents may be memorandums, air grams, translations of foreign newspapers and journal articles, transcripts of meetings, research reports, and speeches. Reviews of current books on life in Russia are provided to give the president a better idea of "soviet psychology". Clips from Russian news articles include one directed at youth in the Soviet Union on what it means to be a communist. The Soviet press as an instrument of agitation spreads anti-American propaganda in the form of anecdotes and cartoons using the president of the United States as the subject. The documents in this collection are from National Archives record group 59 and are part of the Department of State's decimal file.

FILM BOOK 0071 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A guide to Confidential U.S. State Department central files : the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949 and foreign affairs, 1945-1949

The guide provides a reel and a subject index.