Skip to main content

National Archives Microforms

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records. Japan, Part 1, 1914-1918.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
11 reel(s)

Dispatches, letters, telegrams, and reports originating in the various United States diplomatic posts in Japan are included in this collection. The documents are arranged first by year, then chronologically under subject headings for that year. The subjects include commercial relations, relations of state, and internal affairs of state. Specific topics covered include: trade policies between Japan and other countries, German interests in China, neutral rights, financial conditions in Japan, agriculture, industry and transportation development in Japan, Japanese seizure of German possessions, and Japanese relations with China and Russia. These records are part of the National Archives record groups 59 and 84. Related National Archives collections available are Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan, 1910-29 (M 422), Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Japan, 1910-1929 (M 423) and Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Japan and Other States, 1910-29 (M 424).

FILM BOOK 0067 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 1, 1914-1918 [guide] PDF

The guide contains a table of contents and a list of documents filmed. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C6 1983.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Japan Part 2, 1919-1929.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
50 reel(s)

The material in this collection is arranged by year and subject. Subject headings include relations of state, internal affairs, congresses and conferences, and commercial relations. Specific topics include agriculture and animal husbandry, Kellogg-Briand Peace proposal, relations with China, economic and financial conditions, relations with Canada, France, Germany, and the Soviet Union, and railroad development in Manchuria. The documents originated in the various diplomatic posts in Japan. These records are part of National Archives record groups 59 and 84. Related National Archives collections available are Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan, 1910-29 (M 422), Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Japan, 1910-29 (M 423) and Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Japan and Other States, 1910-29 (M 424).

FILM BOOK 0068 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 2, 1919-1929 [guide] PDF

This guide contains a table of contents, a reel index and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C62 1983.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records. Japan, Part 3, 1930-1941.

Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
80 reel(s)

This collection contains dispatches, letters, telegrams, and reports generated by United States diplomatic posts in Japan and on file in the United States Embassy in Tokyo. The material is arranged by year and then under the following subject headings: congresses and conferences, commercial relations, relations of state, protection of interests, and internal affairs of state. Specific topics include: agriculture and animal husbandry, financial conditions, foreign relations with Australia, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Mexico, the Philippines, the United States, and the Soviet Union, the Kellogg Pact, the Four Power Pact, Manchuko, the League of Nations, military and naval affairs, railways, trade relations, and the Washington Naval conference. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.

FILM BOOK 0069 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 3, 1930-1941 [guide] PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C63 1984.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Middle East, Aden, 1925-1941.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1984
9 reel(s)

Documents from the United States diplomatic post at Aden are arranged first by year and then under the following subject headings: commerce and commercial relations, relations of state, and internal affairs of state. Reel 7 contains confidential files for 1925 through 1935. Specific topics include: Abyssinia (Ethiopia), agriculture, the Anglo-Italian accord, financial conditions, Italy, the League of Nations, military and naval affairs, petroleum, political affairs, transportation, and communication. The records are taken from National Archives record group 84.

FILM BOOK 0077 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Aden [guide] PDF

This guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.A2 C6 1984.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Beirut. 1925-1941.

Frederick, M.D: University Publications of America, 1984
21 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers from American diplomats stationed in Beirut between 1925 and 1941. The papers concern the political, military, social, and economic development of French Syria. The documents provide information on the evolution of United States policy in the region. The collection contains a wide range of material such as reports of political and military affairs, studies and statistics of socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with government officials, legal documents, communications sent and received by United States diplomatic personnel, translations from the local media, translations of high-level government documents, and transcripts of political meetings. Subjects documented include Lebanese independence, British-Vichy French hostilities in 1941, and the refueling and provisioning of merchant ships. The records are taken from National Archives record group 84.

FILM BOOK 0075 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Beirut [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.L4 C6 1984.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Lebanon. 1942-1944.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1984
7 reel(s)

The materials in this collection are from the Records of the Department of State Diplomatic Post Files: Consulate General (1942-1944) and Legation (1944), Beirut, Lebanon. The materials are from Federal Record Group #84.

Special Collections also has the Diplomatic Post Records for Beirut, 1925-1941.

FILM BOOK 0075 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Lebanon [guide]PDF

The records are in chronological order. The guide contains a list of the records in the order they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.L4 C6 1984 2.

Abstract taken from the guide.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Iran. Part 1, 1925-1941.

Washington D.C. Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
39 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers from American diplomats stationed in Iran between 1925 and 1941. The papers concern the political, military, social and economic development of Iran and its relationship with other countries. The documents provide information on the evolution of United States policy in the area. The collection contains a wide range of material such as reports of political and military affairs, studies and statistics on socio-economic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with government officials, legal documents, communications sent and received by United States diplomatic personnel, translations from the local media, translations of high level government documents, and transcripts of political meetings. Among the events documented are the founding of the Pahlevi Dynasty, assumption of the role of hereditary Shah in 1925 by Reza Khan, Reza Shah Pahlevi’s cancellation of treaties with Britain and other powers, uprisings by Kurds, Bolshevik agitation, the Anglo-Persian oil company, industry, education, the occupation of Iran by British and Soviet forces in August, 1941, and the transfer of power to the Shah’s son, Muhammed Reza Shah Pahlevi, in September 1941. The records are taken from National Archives record group 84.

The library also has Part 2 of this collection, which covers the years 1942-1944.

FILM BOOK 0073 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Iran [guide] PDF

The records are in chronological order. The guide contains a list of the records in the order they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.I55 C6 1984 1.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Iran, Part II.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
15 reel(s)

Part II covers the years 1942-1944; for complete abstract see record for Part I.

FILM BOOK 0073 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Iran [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.I55 C6 1984 2.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Iraq. Part 1, 1925-1941.

Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
24 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers from American diplomats stationed in Iraq between 1925 and 1941. The papers concern the political, military, social, and economic development of Iran and its relationship with other countries. The documents provide information on the evolution of United States policy in the area. The collection contains a wide range of material such as reports of political and military affairs, studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with government officials, legal documents, communications sent and received by United States diplomatic personnel, translations from the local media, translations of high-level government documents, and transcripts of political meetings. Subjects documented include United States embassy and legation administration, Anglo-Iraq relations, and Bolshevist activities.

The library also has Part II of this collection, which covers the years 1942-1944.

FILM BOOK 0074 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Iraq [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.I57 C6 1984 1.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Iraq, Part II.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
9 reel(s)

Part II covers the years 1942-1944; for complete abstract see record for Part I.

FILM BOOK 0074 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Iraq [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.I57 C6 1984 2.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Middle East, Jerusalem, Part 1, 1925-1941.

Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
12 reel(s)

Papers from American diplomats stationed in Jerusalem between 1925 and 1941 are filmed in this collection. The papers concern the political, military, social, and economic development of Palestine under the British Mandate. They cover the period when many of the political, religious, and military conflicts relating to modern Israel were emerging. The documents also provide information on the evolution of United States policy in the region. The collection contains a wide range of material such as reports of political and military affairs, studies and statistics of socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with government officials, legal documents, communications sent and received by United States diplomatic personnel, translations from the local media, translations of high-level government documents, and transcripts of political meetings. Subjects documented include immigration, the Mandate treaty, the problem of holy places, and racial disturbances. The records are taken from National Archives record group 84.

FILM BOOK 0076 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Middle East, Jerusalem [guide] PDF

The guide contains a list of the records in the order that they appear on the microfilm and a subject index. The records are in chronological order. Also available under call number E183.8.I7 C6 1984.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Russia and the Soviet Union. Part 1, Russia from Czar to Commissars, 1914-1918.

Frederick, MD.: University Publications of America, 1982
10 reel(s)

This collection contains American diplomatic reports from Russia. The reports deal with numerous subjects: the political and economic consequences of World War I, the military situation, the collapse of the Czarist regime and the establishment of the Provisional Government in the February Revolution, conflict between the Provisional Government and General Kornilov, the Russo-Japanese Entente, the Bolshevik coup d’etat in the October Revolution, activities of the Polish Provisional Government, the political situation in Romania, the Causasus, Estonia, Latvia, and the Ukraine, the question of recognition of the Soviet government by the Allies, the first meeting of the Soviet Congress, Soviet foreign policy, Trotsky, the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk, the arrival of Allied forces into Russia and the Russian response to them, the YMCA and the Red Cross relief activities, and the beginnings of the Soviet Political Police (the Cheka). The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.

FILM BOOK 0028 pt 1 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : [guides] PDF

The guide provides a reel index. Also available under call number E183.8.R9 C58 1982.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Russia and the Soviet Union. Part 2: The Soviet Union, 1919-1933.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983 
75 reel(s)

The documents in this collection come from the American Legation in Riga, Latvia. The reports of the legation are based largely on the Soviet press and Soviet official publications. They cover almost every aspect of life in the Soviet Union. Among the subjects covered are the formation of the Communist International, anti-bolshevik organizations during the Civil War, the functioning of the Soviet government, the Kronstadt uprising, the introduction of the New Economic Policy, the internal struggle in the Communist Party, Soviet-German relations, the anti-church campaign, collectivization, the Five Year plan, foreign workers in the Soviet Union, and the organization of the economy. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.

FILM BOOK 0028 pt 2 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : [guides]

The guide provides a reel index.

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Russia And The Soviet Union. Part 3: The Soviet Union, 1934-1941.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
60 reel(s)

Documents from the American Embassy in Moscow from 1934 until 1941 are filmed in this collection. Apart from the reports and recommendations sent by the Embassy to the State Department, the material includes the dispatches from American diplomatic posts in other countries concerning Soviet affairs. The reports cover all aspects of Soviet life and Soviet politics. In the area of foreign policy, there is a considerable amount of material on Soviet diplomatic activity before the outbreak of the Second World War, the German-Soviet Non-Aggression Pact of 1939, the Soviet attack on Finland, and the Anglo-Soviet Alliance after the German attack on the Soviet Union. The reports on the interval situation in the Soviet Union focus on the mass political trials of 1937 and 1938, the 1937-38 purges in the Red Army, economic performance, discontent among the peasantry, and conditions after the German attack in 1941. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.

FILM BOOK 0028 pt 3 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : [guides]

The guide provides a reel index.